Train - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Train Reviews

Page 1 of 9
July 5, 2016
I have no idea why this movie got such low ratings. It's fantastic, pretty much a perfect horror movie. Not for the faint of heart though.
½ February 2, 2016
"Train" has some darned good gore effects, but everything else is horrid, derivative trash. What a complete waste. Boring, badly plotted, lamely acted.

Zero Stars
½ January 10, 2016
Slathers on the gore with no regard for logic or reasoning. Will satisfy your bloodlust, but if you think about it too much, it all falls apart.
½ March 27, 2015
This film was one of the few "horror movies" of today that was actually scary. It has bloody violence and a great plot: Hostel On A Motherfuckin' Train!!!
½ February 24, 2015
Worst movie of all time.
November 28, 2014
Just like Hostel but on a train... violent but not as clever. Thora kicks some serious butt tho!
June 24, 2014
"THE TRAIN OF TORTURE"

- 'Train' is a 2008 horror film written and directed by Gideon Raff (The Killing Floor, Homeland). The film was Raff's second directorial work. The film was supposed to be a remake from the 1980 film 'Terror Train' with Jamie Lee Curtis. It's story is comparable to hostel, as a group of young people who are travelling abroad (Bulgaria) are tricked and end up in pieces. I have to say there is a lot of gore and I do like the idea, but somehow it fails to please me (as a horror fan). What most annoys me is the fact that the characters make all the wrong decisions (they are really stupid). The ending was not satisfying. Starring Thora Birch (The Hole, Hocus Pocus) and Gideon Emery (Primeval, Takers).

When a group of American college athletes travelling through Bulgaria to enter competitions miss their scheduled train because they went out to party, their coach is totally pissed off. At the station they are approached by a woman who says that the train she's taking is also headed in the same direction. Coach Harris, assistant Willy (Emery) and athletes Alex (Birch), Todd, Claire and Sheldon join her in boarding the train. Little do they know that a they will be tortured by a enormous wannabe surgeon. Who will reach the end of the ride?
November 27, 2013
Focuses on being higher in gore than sense although as trashy horrors go this might please for a while.
½ May 23, 2013
This film was one of the few "horror movies" of today that was actually scary. It has bloody violence and a great plot: Hostel On A Motherfuckin' Train!!!
December 21, 2012
A great movie.
The story is simple but a good movie.
The death scene's are very good.
The best movie from Gideon Raff.
The best movie with Thora Birch.
November 24, 2012
One of the creepiest films I have ever seen. Not much in films scare me, but this did. Decent Saturday night horror movie fodder.
November 1, 2012
Originally conceived as a remake of the 1980 Jamie Lee Curtis film "Terror Train", the simply titled "Train" plays as more of a companion piece to "Hostel" than anything else. It's a depressingly gory and dull film that is short on scares but long on stupid characters and a nonsensical plot.

The viewer figures out what's going on and why long before the victims do, and that makes for a painstakingly slow-moving set-up. When it's all said and done, you're left with a lot of nagging unanswered questions. You wonder why these black market organ harvesters only pick on a handful of travelers and not everyone on the train, and why the other passengers seemed unfazed by people in bloody clothing running screaming through the aisles.

You also can't help but wonder what drew former A-lister Thora Birch to this bloody and confused mess and why we're supposed to believe that she's a college wrestler. Her co-stars are all horrible, but she seems especially morose and no doubt depressed that her once promising career has been reduced to this. She is so lethargic in this that she cannot convincingly portray fear when being chased or threatened.

The only real joy I got was watching one of the bad guys go all Rocky Balboa on her in the conclusion, repeatedly punching her in the face. "Train" doesn't try to create fear or suspense like good horror films do. It's a freak show, all about blood and guts. The special effects are at least convincing, but that's faint praise indeed when there's nothing else to redeem it.
October 6, 2012
This film is strictly for people who are fans of bloody slasher films like Hostel and Texas Chainsaw Massacre.......Thora Birch takes the lead as the film's heroine and does a decent job of it.....as far as talent goes she is probably the best actress in the film...overall is a entertaining horror film that gives you a few thrills here and there.....
½ September 4, 2012
Not bad. Kids are busy getting drunk and miss the train to 'whatever' Russia. They jump on another train and that's when the craziness begins. The train is full of killers who brutally kill pretty much everyone. It's not bad, but seams pretty cliched. Plot much like turistas.
September 2, 2012
Similar to Turistas and Midnight Meat Train but where Turistas was a thriller and MMT was a silly CGd mess, Train is a full-blown horror movie featuring some really gruesome, squeamish scenes, suspense and a satisfying climax that too many films are lacking these days.
It definitely has its share of faults too but at least it was fun.
July 16, 2012
Hostal on a train sums this up, if you like those films you may get a kick out of this i just thought it came across quite cheap. thora birch once had a promising career ahead of her,not sure what happened but she needs to stay away from trash like this
April 23, 2012
ill think twice next time i get on a train! O.o

but seriously, this movie is the first movie to get my hands hair up, omg this is the first time i grin at a scary movie.. though i love scary movies and this one was AWESOME, ill give it 5 stars for the awesome ending too!
½ April 14, 2012
All credit for some highly realistic effects in the gory opening sequence but after that it's all run of the mill torture porn that passes for horror.
April 6, 2012
I wasn't really sure wha to expect, and to be honest I was left with a bad taste in my mouth. Pretty gross, but a cheap rip off of Hostel and several other films along the same vein and nowhere NEAR as good. Some very gory deaths. And who would honestly be stupid enough to give their passports to freaks like that?
April 6, 2012
I wasn't really sure wha to expect, and to be honest I was left with a bad taste in my mouth. Pretty gross, but a cheap rip off of Hostel and several other films along the same vein and nowhere NEAR as good. Some very gory deaths. And who would honestly be stupid enough to give their passports to freaks like that?
Page 1 of 9