1917 Reviews

Page 1 of 17
January 25, 2020
1917 is tense, captivating, meticulous, horrifying and stirring.
January 24, 2020
A masterclass in suspense-building from beginning to end...
January 24, 2020
This movie deserves to be watched in a cinema hall...choreography the likes of which I haven't seen, refusing to let you even breathe...
January 24, 2020
With a far more assured touch and with unrivalled intensity, Mendes gives us a film that encapsulates the madness and futility of war from way back in the last millennium right down to this day and age.
January 24, 2020
It proves that its long takes, instead of being a way of making things more difficult or 'artistic', are a vital component for this particular story. [Full review in Spanish]
January 23, 2020
An emotional and artistic masterclass.
January 22, 2020
1917 has established itself as one of the best war films of all time. The incredible cinematography by Deakins & strong performance by George MacKay combine to create a beautiful experience.
January 22, 2020
The film is pure spectacle and nothing more. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 21, 2020
The fresh thing about this one is its set up to look like one continuous tracking shot. The whole movie, the entire movie looks like it's just one continuous shot, which is pretty damn amazing.
January 21, 2020
It does not bother anyone. Its speech is noble. And it is impeccably filmed. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 21, 2020
It acquires an even greater meaning in light of the post-credit slate that reveals that the film is based loosely on stories of the director's grandfather's time in the war. A tribute to a life is one hell of an emotional anchor.
January 21, 2020
It's a beautifully made film.
January 21, 2020
I thought it was a fantastic movie.
January 21, 2020
While narratively simple, 1917 is not devoid of heft.
January 21, 2020
A hypnotic visual event. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 21, 2020
A uniquely powerful take on the carnage of the Great War...a viscerally potent view of a conflict often relegated to the mists of history.
January 21, 2020
I was expecting an exciting and technical marvel, but it's an emotional one too. It's breathtaking, in that I didn't want to breathe.
January 19, 2020
It's an immersive, visceral and meticulously crafted film that has the emotional stakes to match.
January 19, 2020
Even if we grant it the distinction of being the first war film to play as one unbroken scene, we may also conclude that it's ultimately less than the sum of ... its part.
January 18, 2020
One of 2019's very best (second only to Marriage Story), 1917 is a war movie whose soulfulness elevates the picture into something approaching grace.
Page 1 of 17