2001: A Space Odyssey Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 24, 2021
2001: A Space Odyssey is a tricky film to write about because I see its importance in filmmaking history-It is a beautiful film and it is a big part of the cultural zeitgeist...
January 31, 2021
A phenomenal achievement and a real candidate for the greatest motion picture ever made.
August 24, 2020
Like an abstract painting, with elements of marvel as well as madness, demonstrating that filmmaking doesn't have to be dedicated to telling a linear story.
August 7, 2020
2001: A Space Odyssey remains often pleasurable, intriguing and inventive.
August 4, 2020
The movie, it seems to me, is a kind of galactic deep freeze, empty inside, both extraordinarily tedious and fancy at the same time.
July 18, 2020
2001 took film-making through the star gate, to see what was on the other side.
June 30, 2020
The faults of Space Odyssey are attributable to the fact that Kubrick is unwilling to give structure to his emotions, or to put in philosophical context ideas which have metaphysical connotations. There are three plots in Space Odyssey and they never mix.
April 10, 2020
Way ahead of it's time, Stanley Kubrick delivers one of the most influential and important films of all time. {Full review in Spanish]
March 4, 2020
Films like 2001: A Space Odyssey may come along only once in a generation, but is it too much to ask for a film with a bit of artistic flair, or at least a modicum of dignity and a respect for actual storytelling?
January 31, 2020
A triumph of surpassing technical mastery and probing thematic eloquence. It is everything we ever dreamed it could be.
July 26, 2019
Stanley Kubrick's excellent film reaches the status of a masterpiece. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 28, 2019
Stanley Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey is the picture which science-fiction enthusiasts of every age and in every corner of the world have prayed (sometimes forlornly) that the industry might one day give them.
June 11, 2019
Stanley Kubrick's whirligig vision of past and present, inner and outer space, is an overwhelming space opera of visual dance and prophetic trance.
June 9, 2019
Thekey to unlocking the humour and understanding Kubrick's intentions can be found in the director's previous film.
May 1, 2019
A film of such symbolic and visceral power as "2001" invites various interpretations, like a prism you can turn at different angles, each revealing a new facet.
January 19, 2019
Watching 2001 on the 50th anniversary of its release brings about feelings of both wonder and disappointment.
December 19, 2018
Among the most important and iconic pictures ever produced... [it] continues to amaze and inspire.
November 16, 2018
Director Stanley Kubrick's amazing marriage of music and images - seen at its absolute best in the space ballet of the capsule docking to the strains of Strauss' Blue Danube waltz - points to what we can achieve as a species when we put our minds to it.
October 10, 2018
It's a profound statement on humanity. It is one of the greatest films ever made, and it is one that should be seen in theaters to truly appreciate its greatness.
September 12, 2018
My makeup was smudged because I had tears running down my face...the beauty of the cosmos, I loved every minute of it.
Page 1 of 6