2001 Maniacs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

2001 Maniacs Reviews

Page 1 of 39
Super Reviewer
½ October 24, 2016
I'm writing this review from Samsung Galaxy S6 (the one that doesn't blow up), so if the review ends up being a little shorter than usual, then that explains it.  I don't think I'd have the patience to write my usual droning review on a device as small as my phone.  Anyway, with that said, I wouldn't go so far as to say that this was a good horror movie, at least in the conventional sense.  Particularly when you compare it to some of the really top notch indie horror movies that have come out this decade.  This movie doesn't even come close to that.  It was obvious that they weren't making a good horror movie as it relates to quality scares, acting and look.  I do feel that they made exactly the film they wanted to make.  And that was very much a silly, B-movie slasher with a really fun lead performance from Robert Englund.  I don't think that Englund gets the credit he deserves as an actor, honestly.  I'm not even saying that he's better than Lin Shaye, who plays his wife in this flick, and who I think is tremendous.  I'm just saying that for someone who has spent, pretty much, his entire career in one genre, he's a pretty damn good actor.  That he rarely ever gets to portray that isn't necessarily his fault, in part it is since he signs on to do these types of films.  The point is that this guy is awesome in this movie.  Thematically speaking, while this film is a remake of a 1964 splatter film named 2000 Maniacs, this has got a very interesting idea. You don't see many horror movies playing with the subject of north vs south, playing off of the Civil War and the confederacy. A group of northern tourists find their way to this town, straight out of the confederate states, complete with rebel flags displayed all over, as they celebrate this festival. What the tourists don't know, however, is that they are the food for this festival. Like I said, the movie plays with concepts of north vs south remnants from the civil war. Some southerners still hold a grudge to this day, despite none of them fighting in the war. Particularly nowadays, there's a certain superiority complex from some southerners. They feel as if they're better being from the south, in spite of its very horrific history. There's also an inferiority complex, since they feel people look down on them for one reason or another. This movie is obviously very tongue-in-cheek, but there's no denying that it plays into all of the redneck stereotypes we've come to know. Inbreeding, racism, animal fucking. You know all of them and the movie plays to those tropes in an entertaining fashion. Some people from the south might be upset, but it is what it is. A lot of those people like to talk about how being political correct is terrible, so they shouldn't be hypocrites. Take it for what it is, a goofy as fuck horror movie. The acting isn't great, with the exceptions of Robert and Lin Shaye, but it doesn't matter. It needed to be cheesy and that it did. The acting made me laugh more than once, so it got the job done for sure. The gore is actually pretty strong in that cheap, low-budget sort of way. It's over-the-top, so I feel that it works given what the film wanted to accomplish. The twist itself is basic horror fare. It didn't do much for me one way or the other. It would have bothered me if it meant that what I had watched didn't really mean anything, but the rednecks did kill all of the people that died. So at least it's not like they undo everything with the wave of a wand. The movie isn't perfect, but it wasn't designed to be. It was designed to be a corny little slasher that made you laugh for a while. And, in my opinion, it succeeded at that. Still won't say that this was a good horror movie, but I was entertained by it and it's the type of movie you can watch and enjoy with a group of friends.
½ October 24, 2016
Trashy gorefest that works well enough because of its tongue-in-cheek energy, something horror movies of the time had little of.
July 18, 2016
This remake has a disgusting cheap teen-movie style, almost softcore porn-like, that ruins everything, including a few good highlights.
½ April 10, 2016
This was an experience...no necessarily a good experience but an experience. Doesn't go quite far enough to be "so bad it's good" but Robert Englund is definitely the best thing about it so if your a big fan of his it's at least worth seeing. Don't know what else it would have to offer anyone else...except maybe the liberal amounts of nudity.
October 31, 2015
Interesting update on the original. Still not great.
August 19, 2015
This is a fast, stupid and enjoyable redneck gore flick. Robert Englund looks like he is having fun in this one. Far from a classic but it has a nice little twist at the end and is entertaining enough to make it worth a watch.
½ May 18, 2015
The main cast of victims are hateful and deserve what they get, but the movie has it's tongue placed firmly in cheek, and in the right frame of mind this is gory fun
Super Reviewer
April 7, 2015
2001 Maniacs is extremely grindhousey in its attempts to entertain, serving up a blood-soaked tribute to cannibalism, college and the confederacy. It's the kind of film you can never work out if you really enjoyed until one afternoon you find yourself itching to watch it again. Whilst the direction is slighty wobbly at times, the performances are really quite wet and the film is kind of exploitave and a little ignorant, it is a lot of fun and its all a matter of preference. An ideal exercise in bad taste, the death scenes are unforgettable as is the rest of the film.
March 16, 2015
Absolute rubbish. Not even funny.
Super Reviewer
½ March 11, 2015
Raw Nerve (the company behind Hostel I, II and III) brought us its only other entry way back in 2005 with Tim Sullivan's 2001 Maniacs (a more-or-less-remake of the 60's horror 2000 Maniacs). It stars Horror Royalty Robert Englund (Original Nightmare on Elm Street Franchise, Supernatural, Zombie Strippers, Behind the Mask, Hatchet, Wishmaster, Urban Legend, Eaten Alive) and (to a lesser extent( Lin Shaye (Insidious, Mega Spider, Snakes on a Plane, The Hillside Strangler, Alone in the Dark) as the veritable King and Queen of the vengeful South.

I'm more or less guaranteed to give anything with Robert Englund (above) in it a try. Most any B-Horror movie, too. So with those to boxes ticked I decided it was high time I got 'round to giving it a view. There's not a whole lot to be said about it though, in earnest. It was a perfectly adequate way to spend an hour and twenty', but I don't really think it will ever warrant a second viewing. The kills are well and truly decent (in a way that could probably have been improved with a little extra cashmonies), so they obviously don't lack imagination in its entirety.

The acting, though not atrocious, left much to be desired. Still, it was good enough to not out-and-out ruin the rest of it, which in B horror is really as much as you can need. It's not a deep area, the kind of film you'd watch while you wax philosophical with your ANU buddies, B-Horror is the kind of movie you smoke a blunt with your UC buddies to. And in that, 2001 Maniacs is worthy.

Not really in anything else though.

I took nothing away from the film. I loved no actor, no character, no crew member, no kill, no effect, nothing. The reveal would have been nice if they hadn't have already given it away on the back of the DVD cover. It scraped by with the absolute minimum amount of impression to make me watch the sequel (2001 Maniacs: Field of Screams). But that's not saying a whole lot.

52%

-Gimly
February 9, 2015
Cheap and sleazy remake, but one I have to keep watching. It has good deaths and Robert Englund steals every scene he's in!
November 8, 2014
Absolutely great and gory!
June 16, 2014
A gross out but very funny slasher where freddy kruger can have a blast
½ March 3, 2014
While I have not seen the original film this was based around, I still need to give credit where credit is due. As a young horror fan, I had to give this movie a star or two for casting Robert England as the wonderful mayor of Pleasant Valley. This film, as with anything starring Robert England, had that taste of horror with a hint of humor and promiscuous behavior that could only be associated with the comedic horror we all grew us with as children of the late 90's. I can say that what it had lost in the slightly ambiguous plot and semi-interesting characters it did make up for in keeping the audience's attention with the jokes, gore, and overall horror/comedic appeal of this south-of-the-border murder/supernatural film. It's not a complete success, mind you, it would need a bit of tweaking before it could even be called a low A-ranked horror movie but as long as the shocks and the laughs keep me rolling in my seat, I could not recommend a better movie to sit down and enjoy with a group of friends one night.
November 24, 2013
A certain kind of uncanny guilty pleasure, I guess.
November 22, 2013
Some fun Southern horror, enjoyable.
½ October 31, 2013
Decent remake of an HGL horror/comedy from the 60's
September 29, 2013
Director Tim Sullivan's Remake Of The B-Movie Classic, "Two Thousand Maniacs", Is One Of The Very Rare Remakes Which Surpasses The Original. The Plot Is basically The Same, It's Still A B-Movie Of Sorts & Features The Townsfolk Of Pleasant Valley. What Improves On The Original Is The Cast Of Unknowns, (Which Act Better Than The Cast Of The Original), Headed Up By Robert Englund & Lin Shaye (Both Appeared In A Nightmare On Elm Street), The Death Scenes & Finally The Special Effects Both Of Which Are Updated For Today's Audience.
Page 1 of 39