30,000 Leagues Under the Sea - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

30,000 Leagues Under the Sea Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 6, 2015
my vote for the worst movie ever! It is so bad its funny and its not a comedy or .....is it.
July 22, 2014
Though it suffers from The Asylum's traditional production cramps and a vapor cast, 30,000 Leagues Under the Sea's script does feature multiple strengths, making this one of the most watchable Asylum movies, up there with Bermuda Tentacles and their interpretation of War of the Worlds. P.S. Noting Captain Nemo appears in both this movie and their adaptation of The Mysterious Island, as well as this movie sharing a character with Nazis at the Center of the Earth, have Asylum successfully connected all their movies based off of his work?
½ August 27, 2012
Actually not bad. Lorenzo Lamos had the cocky Han Solo thing going and the guy that plays Nemo was over the top greatness. CGI was iffy but had a lot of underwater suspense.
½ April 9, 2012
Hoped this B-movie would be as funny as the Asylum's "Mega Shark vs Giant Octopus" or "Megapiranha." I did not laugh once. What a disappointment.
March 21, 2012
It's very slow and boring, with a lot of terrible dialog and uninteresting characters. I'm not sure why The Asylum was interesting in making this, but they didn't do a good job.
March 3, 2012
I want see this 30,000 Leagues Under the Sea (2007) monie
½ August 24, 2011
Back in the days before The Asylum could do no wrong, "30,000" plays it far too safe until the hilarious last half hour but by that point it's far beyond salvageable, despite Sean Lawlor's best efforts at being overly-hammy.
½ May 5, 2010
The title sounded like Jules Verne's novel, but the movie portrayed Captain Nemo as a villain, whose ship gets destroyed! The stupid director finally says "adapted from Jules Verne's novel" and tries to justify the damage done!

A horrible movie!
February 8, 2010
I must stop watching this shit...Asylum are responsible for this century's worst crimes against humanity - this is Exhibit A!
½ January 16, 2010
I give it half a star for trying to use the idea of mechanical squids. Everything else... EVERYTHING else, I can do without. It could probably make it as a SciFi filler movie. But there's no way to take this movie seriously.
June 18, 2009
This film is unintentionally hilarious. The sets are made from broken microwaves, junkyard car parts, and milk crates - all made to look like a state of the art submarine. The CG scenes are awful and recycled. The acting is awful and so is the dialog. It's the kind of film you would watch with a friend and laugh at. You'll be wondering how a movie like this was made, but the experience should be enjoyable if you've got a sense of humor for that. I recommend this over Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus (same people/scenes/sets).
½ June 15, 2009
Horrible acting, messy storyline, and idiotic editing. In one scene, a henchman puts down his gun, puts his hands on his head, and turns around - all before being told to do so by the hero. Whoops! Guess those shots were cut incorrectly... This film would make a great episode of Mystery Science Theater 3000.
May 8, 2009
Standard Asylum films rip off of a trendy movie. The acting was...eh. The CG was...eh. The story is about 100 years old and felt that way throughout most of the movie.
½ March 24, 2009
Asylum Films just keeps cranking these eyeburners. If it weren't for the fact that there are some laughs to be had at their expense, I wouldn't bother with them. I mean, come on. Lorenzo Lamas? 30,000 leagues (10K more than the real story)? Captain Nemo drives a super high tech sub, controls huge robot squid, and couldn't act to save his life? Editing that proves that monkeys are capable of slapping images together? The WORST closing credits scroll I have ever seen (needs to be seen to be believed - there is a good 15 second black space in between 2 parts of the scroll...no shit). Sound that varied line by line.

Please, unless you are totally tanked and have some fun friends, don't watch this alone like I did. You could mortally wound yourself with its awfulness.
½ December 9, 2008
Like watching a first draft...
October 31, 2008
Please, don't waste your time on this one. There is better acting in Porn movies. Nemo's accent is unidentifiable and irregular, imagine a Swedish pronunciation on some words, and southern US on others. The sound guy moonlights at Radio Shack, and the budget for the film was so small, they couldn't afford enough microphones to cover the actors. I find it insulting that they would take a classic by Jules Verne and mutilate it into this wretched film. By the way, I'm being kind in my review.
October 15, 2008
wah....kl Lorenzo Lamas setau g cuma 1 filmnya yg lumayan, Body Rock (1980)
½ October 3, 2008
Its appalling. I have seen better actors in...never mind. I rate this a VHS movie (watch it if you still have a video recorder)
½ September 11, 2008
this is the worst movie i've ever seen.
August 25, 2008
[color=#000000][font=Book Antiqua][size=3]This movie, based on the classic book 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne is about the insane Captain Nemo who wants his revenge on those in the world above the waves.
[/size][/font]
[font=Book Antiqua][/font]
[/color][color=#000000][font=Book Antiqua][size=3]Set in modern times, and with today's computerised movie making, coupled with a classic story-line, you'd think this would be a superb remake of the 1954 movie. It's not. The acting in this 2007 version of 30,000 Leagues Under the Sea is so wooden, and the storyline so soggy, the whole thing sank faster than the Titanic.
[/size][/font]
[font=Book Antiqua][/font]
[/color][size=3][font=Book Antiqua][color=#000000]My recommendation, avoid this terrible remake - save yourself the pain. If you want to watch a movie at least based on the original book 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea and with a good storyline, go and rent the older version made in 1954 with Kirk Douglas ? it's far superior. [/color][/font][/size]
[font=Book Antiqua][/font]
Page 1 of 2