35 Rhums (35 Shots of Rum) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

35 Rhums (35 Shots of Rum) Reviews

Page 2 of 4
December 30, 2009
Offering a poignant, subtle, realistic yet poetic portrait of a father-daughter relationship, 35 Shots of Rum is another enchanting film from Claire Denis, whose work is still little known in the U.S.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 17, 2009
Gazes wisely and humanely on our collective need to love, be loved, and ultimately let go.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
December 4, 2009
Don't miss this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 3, 2009
35 Shots of Rum is visual poetry, but poetry that examines the human condition with insight and illumination.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 18, 2009
Bittersweet.
October 29, 2009
I liked these characters, and suddenly not having them in my life anymore, simply because Denis has decided to start the closing credits, devastated me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 29, 2009
Understated, beautifully acted, and with an exacting soundtrack, 35 Shots of Rum goes down easily but packs a subtle kick.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 22, 2009
Characters tend not to say things that are explicit. We piece together bits of information from here and there, and we're left to draw some conclusions on our own.
October 8, 2009
One of the best films of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 8, 2009
Several sequences have little to no dialogue but give us a rich, ambivalent view of the characters and their feelings ... . It's a directorial risk that pays off with an indelible experience.
September 18, 2009
Claire Denis returns with a relatively simpler, more narrative-based feature, though without sacrificing any of her unique flow.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 18, 2009
Denis -- who has called the film a tribute to the great Japanese director Yasujiro Ozu -- keeps dialogue to a minimum as she delicately examines how immigration is changing the face of France.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 16, 2009
35 Shots of Rum is a quiet and lovely new film by the French director Claire Denis.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
September 16, 2009
French director Claire Denis is one of the most magical filmmakers in the world.
Full Review | Original Score: A
September 16, 2009
Perhaps as a result of channeling Ozu, Denis's incipient humanism comes through more directly than in her existentially forbidding The Intruder or even her acclaimed, baroque Herman Melville remix Beau Travail.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 16, 2009
To fall in love with it, viewers only have to be receptive to a movie that examines the ties that bind with grace, wit and depth.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 16, 2009
Precisely, rigorously, technically, 35 Shots of Rum is a masterpiece.
September 15, 2009
The most adult film of the year.
September 15, 2009
This deep devotion to physicality and wordless expression has been part of Denis' repertoire for some time but it has never been so soulful and seductive.
| Original Score: 4/5
September 13, 2009
Depicts everyday details and conveys overarching emotional upheavals with a compassion and gentleness that's quietly devastating.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 2 of 4