The 40 Year Old Virgin - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The 40 Year Old Virgin Reviews

Page 1 of 2198
November 25, 2016
Seriously funny and surprisingly touching. Who'd have thunk?
November 20, 2016
- Watched this yet again, I have seen this countless times now and laugh every time. Steve Carrell is perfect in this and the supporting cast is excellent, there's also a ton of great cameos including Kevin Hart. Very funny movie!

- I have now seen this at least 5 times...just as funny each time. An excellent comedy and Carell is perfect in it as is the supporting cast. Definitely worth seeing!
November 17, 2016
From Judd Apatow, the mastermind producer behind hit comedy 'Anchorman', 'The 40 Year-Old Virgin' is a fantastic blend of comedy, romance and somewhat realistic moments of drama. Staring Steve Carell as the mature virgin, the film doesn't just pull out over-the-top gross humour and gags like many other sex-comedies (a-hem, Inbetweeners... American Pie), it instead thrusts the audience into a world of humour that has a realistic manner to it - no different to your typical night out with the guys where the odd sex joke pops out. All-in-all I think this film is a fantastic comedy that not only showcases the acting ability of Carell and the supporting cast, but focuses on a realistic scenario and then buffs it up with a dose of humour.
½ October 31, 2016
Hilarious and touching while being an interesting look at male sexuality.
½ September 10, 2016
Steve Carrell was so spot on with this comedy that it made up for its too realistic approach of the premise. Not a completely laugh out loud movie but it holds its own in charm and simple characters. But hey, what the hell was that ending song!?
½ September 8, 2016
It is hilarious, it is somewhat relatable, but overall it is a stupendous comedy if it was not for Steve Carrell's performance.
½ September 5, 2016
very hilarious. good story too (4 viewings)
August 30, 2016
A Funny Adult Comedy
August 5, 2016
Demostrando que para hacer reír solo se necesita una divertida idea que no sale de una realidad humana.

Hace un buen uso del humor provocativo y erótico en grandes cantidades, curiosamente las escenas más graciosas (que aparte son memorables) son de su humor más reservado que demuestra que también funciona y es efectivo.

Tiene a Steve Carell como protagonista en un papel que le queda perfecto, porque se siente real por las características del actor, lo que hace fácil que conectemos con él, sin mencionar que es propiamente cómico en cada acción hilarante que hace.

Si Jim Carrey tiene "The mask", Steve Carell tiene "The 40 year old virgin"

Sobre el resto del cast no poseen ningún defecto o son opacados con el protagonista, cada uno es reconocible y al mismo tiempo carismáticos individualmente. El concepto no sólo usado como comedia, sino que lo tratan bien haciéndolo tierno y natural, que también provoca gran interés en la historia.

THE 40 YEAR OLD VIRGIN (2005) "Es, en mi opinión, una de las mejores comedias de los últimos años. Funciona enormemente, es efectiva en su propio humor en una película donde te puedes identificar y concienciar sobre esta humana realidad"
½ August 2, 2016
A hilarious comedy by director Judd Apatow. Many young stars careers began with this movie such as Jonah Hill, Kevin Hart and Seth Rogan. In Steve Carrell's first film at the star role his acting was great for the role he had to play. This is one of the funniest films I've ever scene and there are really no words I can use to show how funny it is, it's just a movie comedy lovers and movie lovers must see.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
July 29, 2016
Brilliant funny film way better than what I expected, It's a comedy that will not be everyones taste and you have to make sure your not easily offended before watching a Judd Apatow movie as he's not affriad to make his work more in your face than you want.
July 19, 2016
Judd Apatow's best movie.
July 12, 2016
This has to be one of the funniest movies Seth Rogen has been in. This could be my favorite comedy next to Pineapple Express.
½ June 25, 2016
Is Steve Carrell's first movie his best? No, it's probably Fox-catcher.
June 21, 2016
One of my all time fav's
Super Reviewer
June 21, 2016
You pretty much know what you're in for when you press play on a Judd Apatow film and this one is no exception. Lots of very funny dialogue and funny situations that Steve Carell is put in. Of course, you can't ignore the classic scene where Carell has his chest waxed (and was 100% real and filmed in 1 take). I'd have to say this one is a must see if you haven't.
½ June 20, 2016
Its a comedy classic.
½ May 28, 2016
Didn't personally like it, found it funny or interesting, it's definitely an overrated movie.
May 15, 2016
Way smarter than it maybe looks like at first, this comedy is really funny, maybe a bit too long, but still entertaining.
May 3, 2016
A great comedy with multiple LOL moments. Very quotable movie. KELLY CLARKSON 86 out of 100
Page 1 of 2198