44 Inch Chest - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

44 Inch Chest Reviews

February 26, 2010
After a while you can see why the wayward wife moved on to fresher prospects. Our man Ray is all talk, no bloody action.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 25, 2010
With violence on the menu, it's a guilty pleasure to watch these stage-trained hambones unleash a rapid-fire roundelay of righteous indignation.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 11, 2010
The frequently profane dialogue suggests David Mamet on an off-night (so does Malcolm Venville's claustrophobia-inducing direction), though the first-rate cast works hard.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 4, 2010
It's an interesting spectacle, but not enough to carry a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 4, 2010
The whole thing feels like middle-period Mamet with English accents, and not much to say.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 4, 2010
Is this a documentary about a porn professional? Or a gym rat? Neither. It's a stagy, half-entertaining, half-tedious acting competition between five excellent Englishmen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 1, 2010
I just felt like it was not going anywhere after a while and I did feel like I was trapped in a play that wasn't really working for me.
January 29, 2010
All moody buildup and no -- I mean no -- real suspense.
January 29, 2010
Think of 44 Inch Chest as a piece of chamber music and you can compensate for the thinness of its story and the lack of visual distinction.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 29, 2010
Even a great British cast and obscenity-laden gangland dialogue aren't enough to make what amounts to an extended acting exercise into much of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 29, 2010
It's sometimes difficult to discern whether the filmmakers are dissecting male bonding, ritualized aggression and sexual anxiety or celebrating it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 28, 2010
The cast to die for is almost entirely wasted in this machismo-marinated slab of Brit-crime nastiness.
Read More | Original Score: 2/6
January 27, 2010
If you value your I.Q., avoid a horror called 44 Inch Chest like V.D.
January 25, 2010
A very strange, often terrible affair that is nevertheless mesmerizing, in a limited way.
January 25, 2010
The effect is to clobber you with lines that were already clobbersome and needed no extra emphasis. It starts to feel less like a thriller than an actors' workshop.
January 21, 2010
There's a difference between exposing misogyny and crassly exploiting it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 15, 2010
Aiming for black comedy and a redemptive satire on self-deluding male machismo, ham fisted debut director Malcolm Venville instead gives his cast enough rope to hang themselves rather than the characters they play.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 14, 2010
Malcolm Venville, in an assured directorial debut, builds suspense with steady effectiveness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 14, 2010
[An] often sharp, nasty exposť of masculinity.
October 21, 2009
Could easily elicit accusations of misogyny -- especially given its percussive, unrelenting but eminently realistic use of the C-word -- but it's actually, at its best, an acute, unblinking portrait of misogyny in practice, not a misogynistic text itself.