49 Up - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

49 Up Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 14, 2012
This seventh installment is utterly fascinating, drawing heavily on footage from the previous movies to follow each child on the journey into middle age.
August 28, 2009
Essential viewing
April 24, 2009
There should not be an adult in the western world who isn't at least tacitly familiar with Michael Apted's groundbreaking documentary series based on the idea that a person's personality is formed by the age of seven.
Full Review | Original Score: A
September 29, 2007
Time-lapse cinematography taken at seven year intervals.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 1, 2007
Even those wondering about the gaps and "missing pieces" or what will happen in the future will not be disappointed by this remarkable work.
November 11, 2006
The wonder of 49 Up is its unfolding, within a little more than two hours, of so many specific lives...
November 3, 2006
Michael Apted's Up series remains one of the great imaginative leaps in film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 2, 2006
I can think of no single movie, fictional or factual, that more strongly awakens our common humanity or that establishes such a marvelous, tight bond with its characters.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
October 28, 2006
If there's a more remarkable series of documentary films, or even as remarkable a premise for one, I don't expect to see it in my lifetime.
October 28, 2006
Doesn't tell us about these people's lives so much as it splashes a cold hourglass of water in the face, reminding us that time can slowly turn us into someone unrecognizable, especially to ourselves.
October 26, 2006
The segments are so cleverly arranged -- [director Michael Apted] includes past pictorial references for each of the people we revisit -- that now there is something almost mystical involved.
October 26, 2006
Apted continues his seminal docu series with another riveting chapter. The film no longer belongs to him: Feeling their privacy has been invaded, the subjcets talk back, trying to shape their own narrative and even withhold vital information from him.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 22, 2006
A reality show that transcends that now-hackneyed phrase to become an utterly unique work of 'popular history'--and of art.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 16, 2006
As a viewer, I feel privileged to be able to peer into their private lives perchance to learn something useful about my private life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 13, 2006
But a funny thing happened on the way to the class-warfare lecture: Most of the subjects got on with living their lives, ignoring their class distinctions in the process.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 13, 2006
I'll wait breathlessly for 56 Up, and hope this brave group will speak to the camera again; giving us the gift of a share in their lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 13, 2006
Now, they are middle-aged, and (unfair to spoil small surprises here) embedded in life with some learned wisdom.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 13, 2006
Surprisingly, the discussions of normal, average-life events are pretty fascinating and relatable. The films continue to be part of a moving sociological portrait of England and everyday life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 12, 2006
The monumental 7 Up series continues with a lesser but worthwhile chapter, 49 Up.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 12, 2006
As always, [Apted] intercuts footage from the previous age levels and provides enough history to make each chapter a fascinating sociological examination in itself.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 4