49 Up - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

49 Up Reviews

Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
August 14, 2012
This seventh installment is utterly fascinating, drawing heavily on footage from the previous movies to follow each child on the journey into middle age.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
November 3, 2006
Michael Apted's Up series remains one of the great imaginative leaps in film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
November 2, 2006
I can think of no single movie, fictional or factual, that more strongly awakens our common humanity or that establishes such a marvelous, tight bond with its characters.
| Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
October 26, 2006
The segments are so cleverly arranged -- [director Michael Apted] includes past pictorial references for each of the people we revisit -- that now there is something almost mystical involved.
Top Critic
Sean P. Means
Film.com
October 13, 2006
But a funny thing happened on the way to the class-warfare lecture: Most of the subjects got on with living their lives, ignoring their class distinctions in the process.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
October 13, 2006
I'll wait breathlessly for 56 Up, and hope this brave group will speak to the camera again; giving us the gift of a share in their lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
October 12, 2006
There are some clear themes to these zig-zagging life journeys, but they tend to be truisms (marriage is hard work but worth it) rather than chest-clutching surprises.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
David Edelstein
New York Magazine/Vulture
October 9, 2006
On the cusp of their half-century mark, Apted's British subjects have accommodated themselves to what they were, what they are, and what they will be.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
October 9, 2006
Whether we actually 'know' these individuals or not is beside the point; we feel we do, and this enriches the experience of watching the most ambitious documentary project ever committed to celluloid.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
October 6, 2006
The latest riveting, heartbreaking chapter to one of the supreme creations of documentary filmmaking, the 7 Up series.
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
October 6, 2006
Taken as a whole, these films constitute one of the greatest uses of cinema a documentary filmmaker has ever devised. Like the other films in the series, 49 Up is alternately touching and mundane.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
October 6, 2006
Dropping by on the same people every seven years like an old friend -- or an unwelcome relative -- Apted has constructed a peerless, suspenseful work that develops character to a depth that would make Tolstoy jealous.
| Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
October 6, 2006
When I saw 42 Up in 1999, I thought the series had run its natural course and that it was time to leave the "kids" alone. I was wrong. They have just entered a new and exciting phase of lives that are very much works in progress.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
October 6, 2006
I won't bother you with all the particulars because that would steal the film's thunder. Know, though, that Apted includes enough footage from previous films to remind us of details we may have forgotten.
| Original Score: B
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
October 6, 2006
49 Up marks the latest chapter in one of the most ambitious documentary projects in movie history. Make that the history of any medium, for how often do we get to witness a time-lapse study of human life?
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Noel Murray
AV Club
October 6, 2006
If the purpose of the Up series has been to show how class determines destiny in the UK, then what we've actually learned is that everyone there gets a fair shot to make it to the middle.
| Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Marta Barber
Miami Herald
October 5, 2006
This long documentary is captivating. Not because you're peeking at lives of real people, but because it captures the way time heals all wounds and how people find a way out of deep holes if they are determined to do so.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Carina Chocano
Los Angeles Times
October 5, 2006
More than a deeply satisfying movie; it's a reminder of the wonder contained in ordinary lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
October 5, 2006
A deeply moving meditation on the natural evolution of existence.
Top Critic
Steve Murray
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
October 5, 2006
The films have taken on an autumnal shade as we revisit people who seem quietly aware that the years behind them are more than those ahead.
| Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
Newsday
October 5, 2006
To the extent that it opens a window into the puzzling business of growing older and affirms - with touching reflectiveness and exuberant humor -- the suspicion that we are all in the same boat, 49 Up is priceless.
| Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
October 5, 2006
What 49 Up shows is how the past is forever changing in its significance, its context. The more you watch, the more you are committing yourself to watching 56 Up and beyond.
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
October 5, 2006
The passage of time has rarely been more forcefully conveyed in a movie, as we see clips of the interviewees not only from today but also at seven-year intervals from the past.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Bruce Newman
San Jose Mercury News
October 5, 2006
In the same way that none of us ever do turn out as expected, neither do they. And that's more or less the point of continuing the series, even as they drone on about their disappointing marriages and dashed dreams, just like the rest of us.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
October 5, 2006
There's something immensely satisfying about watching the playing out of ordinary lives we've become attached to over time.
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
October 4, 2006
The latest chapter in Michael Apted's documentary series shows that at 49, lives reveal more about marriage and the life cycle than about class.
| Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
October 4, 2006
There's a Jesuit saying that goes something like ''Give me the child until he is 7 and I will give you the man.'' 49 Up says, here is the man -- and behold, he is a grandfather, too.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
October 4, 2006
Michael Apted's 49 Up continues and possibly concludes the most remarkable chronicle of a slice of humanity in the history of cinema.
Top Critic
Michael Atkinson
Village Voice
October 3, 2006
For under-30 viewers who still think they're immortal, the latest installment could very well be the grimmest and most haunting of horror films.
Top Critic
Eddie Cockrell
Variety
June 20, 2006
49 Up follows diverse Brits first selected at age 7 as they now approach a surprisingly becalmed middle age.