500 Days of Summer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

500 Days of Summer Reviews

February 10, 2014
An unpredictable, immensely satisfying experience, much like love itself.
February 10, 2014
Forcedly cute, clumsily mechanical, overdetermined, and undernourished, this ostensibly soulful romance is a plastic void.
May 6, 2011
It's very smooth and well done; Marc Webb clearly has a solid visual eye and natural sense of pacing.
Full Review | Original Score: A
September 4, 2009
If it just misses being this generation's 'Annie Hall', it's still deliciously refreshing, sweet and fizzy. A sherbet dip of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 30, 2009
This is a romantic comedy that makes the concept of romantic comedies appealing again -- that reminds you how resonant and transporting they can be when they're done right.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 29, 2009
It isn't Hugh and Andie or Meg and whomever, but (500) Days offers hope that Hollywood can pass that romance baton to somebody other than the crude crew of the Kappa Alpha Apatow frat house.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 24, 2009
The film's postmodern path takes us through touching, tender, hilarious territory before winding up at the most beguiling part of any love story. The beginning.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 24, 2009
This is movie magic most unexpected.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 24, 2009
[A] visually witty, flawlessly played romantic comedy.
July 24, 2009
This movie has flighty warmth. It makes delirious use of one of Hall & Oates' boppiest tunes. It has a bluebird of happiness, for crying out loud.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
July 24, 2009
Captures with such immediacy the elation and anxiety of new love, the tingle and the terror, the profound sense that you have never been more alive and the occasional wish that you could die on the spot.
July 23, 2009
Falling in love or falling out? This film offers a helpful tonic for either condition.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 23, 2009
The swooningly romantic comedy (500) Days of Summer is a movie that will be discovered, embraced and shared with friends like a favorite record album.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 17, 2009
What saves 500 Days from terminal shallowness are Gordon-Levitt and Deschanel, who are not the usual picture-perfect androids peopling these young-love idylls.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 17, 2009
(500) Days of Summer is something seldom seen: an original romantic comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 17, 2009
A romantic comedy that feels like real life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 17, 2009
It's the oldest bittersweet story in the book, of course, but music-video director Marc Webb approaches his feature debut with great confidence, flair and a minimum of schmaltz.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 17, 2009
I guess maybe I'm not Tom but Summer. I like your looks, and heaven knows I appreciate the energy you put into wooing me, but I don't want us to be a couple.
July 17, 2009
The film gets by on a few funny lines...some playful split-screen imagery from first-time feature film director Marc Webb...and the real star of the picture, second-billed: Zooey Deschanel.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 17, 2009
The movie suffers at times from a surfeit of adorableness in its two leads, as well as clumsy voiceover narration and a general sense that the subsidiary characters have about as much edge as plush toys.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 17, 2009
Everything that's wrong, on the surface, with (500) Days of Summer pales in light of everything that's going on beneath its surface.
July 17, 2009
An irresistible feel-good movie about love gone bad. And that really isn't bad at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 17, 2009
This sweetly engaging trifle goes down as easy as cold lemonade on a hot afternoon.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
July 17, 2009
Much like Annie Hall did for a previous generation, (500) Days of Summer may be the movie that best captures a contemporary romantic sensibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 17, 2009
It's a tale you've heard a million times before. But it's told in such a relatable, inventive way in 500 Days of Summer, it almost feels like the first time.
July 17, 2009
Finally, a romance that understands we mark our lives by our scrapes with love, and our defeats, rather than simply white-wedding-cake success.
July 17, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 4/5ao
July 16, 2009
For all its ambitiousness, (500) Days of Summer feels synthetic and derivative, a movie that's popping with perceptions while searching for a style.
July 16, 2009
This is a film that so respects love -- if it exists -- that it won't settle for imitations.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 16, 2009
A fresh July breeze among recent (and mostly stale) romantic-comedy offerings.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 16, 2009
If only some sharp-eyed script editor had run 500 Days through the de-sappifying machine, it could have been the first great romantic comedy of 2009.
July 16, 2009
The ending is tidy and way too cute, but (500) Days is otherwise a different kind of love story: an honest one that takes a piece out of you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 16, 2009
Even if (500) Days of Summer isn't truly great, it is great fun, from its fresh view of Los Angeles to its use of music to its charming leads.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 16, 2009
The movie charmed me enough to send me out smiling, and I can see younger filmgoers taking it very much to heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 16, 2009
It goes down smoothly, thanks in large part to Joseph Gordon-Levitt's grounded lead performance and Marc Webb's slick direction, but it seems like every other scene coughs up a dispiriting cliché.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 16, 2009
The writing is often clever and the overall production playful and intelligent.
July 16, 2009
Boy gets girl and boy loses girl in convoluted, sometimes cloying but ultimately winning fashion in 500 Days of Summer.
July 16, 2009
In romance, we believe what we want to believe. That's the reason 500 Days of Summer is so appealing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 15, 2009
[Director] Webb treats his characters and his audience with respect. The result is something worth savoring regardless of the season in which it is seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 15, 2009
It's a Gen-Y Annie Hall made by a new-style Wes Anderson who uses his cleverness for humanity instead of postmodern superiority.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 15, 2009
Scratch any cynic and you'll find a romantic; scratch this movie's surface and you'll discover a typically tepid ode to pitter-pattering hearts dressed up in thrift-store chic and faux-edginess.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 15, 2009
What is unexpected is the sincerity beneath the modest conceit that, yup, love hurts.
July 15, 2009
Thanks to two wonderful, offbeat performances by Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel, this movie has charm to spare. It looks you right in the eye and tells the truth.
July 13, 2009
There's no real drama when the inner life of the female lead is so shrouded, even if that's the point.
July 13, 2009
Conventional? Not at all.
July 13, 2009
I can't speak highly enough about this really inventive romantic comedy.
March 26, 2009
An engagingly breezy tale about a guy with a broken heart and the girl who broke it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4