51 Birch Street - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

51 Birch Street Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 18, 2008
If it is the objective of a work of art to hold up a mirror to our own lives, then 51 Birch Street, in all its makeshift craftsmanship, is a great work of art.
February 29, 2008
A portrait of a marriage, Capturing the Friedmans-style.
November 8, 2007
a documentary for every Baby Boomer, and every Boomer parent, to ponder
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2007
Leads us through a nice range of emotions and invites us to contemplate our own parents' lives
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 17, 2007
There is nothing more mysterious than the secrets of the people around us, and from the unraveling of this mystery Doug forms a beautiful portrait of an unfulfilled woman.
June 21, 2007
Reflecting upon the complications of post-war marriage in the pre-divorce age, Block's film does presenting an interesting and intensely intimate tale about his own parents.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 10, 2007
Unfolds like an epistolary psychological mystery. Little about or in this movie is as simple as it seems.
April 8, 2007
Doug Block delves effectively into family mysteries without offending or showing disrespect to any of the parties involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 11, 2007
In families, especially, perceptions are relative . . . reminds us that the seemingly mundane, right at our dinner tables, can offer its own special, bittersweet poetry.
February 3, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/6
January 12, 2007
It gradually turns into a vivid demonstration that truth can be stronger than fiction, and that compromise is necessary in any lasting relationship.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 11, 2007
51 Birch Street, like the best of the recent wave of personal documentaries, is both a compelling story and an eye-opening bit of social history.
Full Review | Original Score: A
December 30, 2006
The overall effect makes one ponder how much we really know about our parents, as well as how much we really want to know.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 15, 2006
Just as Doug starts looking at his own marriage through new eyes after reading about his parents', so will most viewers. "51 Birch Street" could be any address in America.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 24, 2006
The film grows in power as it goes, finding ever more universal levels of feeling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 13, 2006
Through haunting home movies, Mina's diaries and interviews with Mike, a raw, riveting portrait emerges of what a child sees in his parents' relationship and what lies beneath.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 7, 2006
We'd all be better off if we could find our grace without a camera's obstruction, but ironically, Block's film provides a useful direction to see our way.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 4, 2006
Since the trend of documentary films as a vehicle for the camera operator's family therapy seems firmly established, we can only hope it produces more stories of this caliber.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 3, 2006
A resounding success because it touches on things every child has wondered about on the road to adulthood.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 2, 2006
It's a fine film, and it's practically guaranteed to make you think about your own relationships.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 2