54 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

54 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 8, 2005
... a wasted opportunity
January 1, 2000
The trite story is a letdown because it traverses a predictable arc.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 14, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
March 14, 2012
...comes off like a high-budget cautionary tale, concerned that if it shows anything attractive about Studio 54, some young and innocent viewer might be corrupted...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
July 23, 2007
Let me pause for a minute to think of a more boring subject for a movie ... Sorry. I give up.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 14, 2003
I was hoping to be able to recommend 54 from a camp point of view, possibly the next Showgirls. But it's not. The fact is it's so uninvolving, it's not even interesting enough to be bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 1, 2000
Extremely watery and soap opera-ish...
| Original Score: 2.5/5
August 16, 2002
A sanitized Boogie Nights.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
It's all strobe lights and glitz, no substance. It's sort of like the musical era it covers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
I don't get that lifestyle, but I was hoping that 54 would show me why so many people find that appealing. It was not to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
January 1, 2000
"54" starts out as an exploration of a culture based on the cultivation of surfaces, and winds up all surface itself.
January 1, 2000
Little more than stock characters acting out a generic drama of sin and redemption against a lascivious backdrop that is far more interesting than the story it serves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
A la mayoría de los personajes les falta un desarrollo más inteligente y apegado a la realidad
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 16, 2004
54 is mediocre on almost all counts: acting (with a couple of exceptions), writing, direction and cinematography are uniformly bland, inoffensive and completely unmemorable.
Read More | Original Score: 53/100
April 9, 2005
A mish-mash of bad writing, poor acting (except Myers), amateur directing and mediocre production credits.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
January 1, 2000
You see garbage bags filled with cash, a lot of avid cocaine snorting and fleeting glimpses of Warhol and Truman Capote, but it all feels ho-hum.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 1, 2000
Except for Myers, and for many he will make the movie worth watching. He's absolutely shagadelic and completely unexpected. This should have been his movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
Silly and clumsily made.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 1, 2004
One can only hope "54" will hammer the final nail in disco's coffin. It's music that I don't want stayin' alive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 29, 2004
The 1970s were great times, but most viewers could hardly come to that conclusion based on this film.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/10
Page 1 of 4