56 Up - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

56 Up Reviews

Page 2 of 4
February 14, 2013
We feel good, refreshed and depressed in watching these people get older, also embarrassed in moments and cautioned about the passage of time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 14, 2013
A completely unique and remarkable documentary project.
February 14, 2013
Apted skillfully weaves old footage with the new, and we become poignantly aware of another factor shaping their lives (and our own): biology, as the we watch the once-cute kids grow gray and heavy.
February 9, 2013
Perhaps the boldest and probably longest running sociological experiment on film.
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 7, 2013
I think the best thing about this movie (and the entire series) is that it forces the viewer to think about their own lives. It's kind of an awakening experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 7, 2013
Apted, himself now in his early 70s, says he hopes to continue the series further. Long may it live.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
February 7, 2013
Watching "56 Up" gives you the wonderful feeling of seeing a sociological experiment blossom into something novelistically rich and humane.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 7, 2013
Time has been neither kind nor cruel to the 13 men and women profiled in "56 UP." It has just been time, which is what this groundbreaking series is about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 7, 2013
Once again, Apted assembles a captivating documentary that's profoundly educational, essential viewing to aid the understanding of the human experience.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
February 7, 2013
"56 Up" is well worth seeing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 5, 2013
56 Up is still moving and philosophic, though not as exciting as earlier episodes, which had more drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 1, 2013
The running time is over two hours, but the lives here are richly revealed and vastly rewarding.
January 31, 2013
We are all older now, and this series proves it in a most deeply moving way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 28, 2013
Inevitably, one looks in the mirror afterward and thinks, What have I lost? What have I gained? And at what cost?
January 25, 2013
Apted possesses the unsettling ability to shape perceptions of their lives and personalities from inside an editing suite, a fact that the members of his flock begin to recognize at varying points throughout their adult years.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 24, 2013
...can be seen and appreciated by both those who have followed series and those to whom it is all new.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 24, 2013
It's like the startling time lapse photography of "Chasing Ice" had been applied to the human race.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 24, 2013
See you again in 7 years, friends.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 24, 2013
In the eighth installment of Michael Apted's epochal documentary series, his aging participants (one of cinema's greatest assemblage of living characters) provide not just a telescope into the past but also a kind of primer for how to live.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
January 17, 2013
To see "56 Up" is to be reunited with an old friend.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 2 of 4