5 Children and It - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

5 Children and It Reviews

Page 1 of 14
January 3, 2015
Amazing movie that gets me in tears all the time :)
½ December 10, 2014
This could have been so much better. Wasn't much adventure, more silly antics. For a film made in 2004 it looked really dated and a lot older.
August 1, 2014
Fantastic family viewing!! Very narnia like.. But funny in places and really easy to watch.. Kids will love this!!
April 12, 2014
wow ummm just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch......its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie......i think that kenneth branagh, eddie izzard, freddie highmore, tara fitzgerald, zoe wanamaker (from the brilliant tv series my family), play good roles/parts thorughout this movie......i think that the director of this drama/kids/family/sci-fi/fantasy movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.......i think that Alexander Pownall as Horace was great throughout this movie........its got a good soundtrack throughout this movie.......i think that eddie izzard was fantastic throughout this movie as It-Psammead (voice), i think that eddie izzard was probably the best thing about this movie........i think that this is such a really sad movie 2 watch........its got good special effects throughout this movie.......i think that this is such a really powerful drama movie 2 watch i think that this is such a really sad movie 2 watch.......i think that Kenneth Branagh as Uncle Albert was great throughout this movie.......i think that this is such a really sad movie 2 watch but its such an enjoyable movie 2 watch.......i think that this is got a sad ending for this movie but its such a really nice ending.......YOU HAVE GOT TO WATCH THE END OF THE CREDITS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE AS SOMETHING HAPPENS AT THE END OF THE CREDITS THORUGHOUT THIS MOVIE.......i think that this is such an enjoyable kids/family movie 2 watch its got a good cast throughout this movie......i think that John Sessions as
Peasemarsh was good throughout this movie.......i think that eddie izzard was superb throughout this movie i think that this is an enjoyable family movie 2 watch it is such a really funny movie 2 watch its such an enjoyable movie 2 watch with a good cast throughout this movie........
July 26, 2013
Good but not as good as the series.
½ July 8, 2013
More like a knock-off of Narnia, this movie is good in it's own way.
½ April 28, 2013
Watchable but not that good!
March 22, 2013
liked it better when it was chronicles of narnia.
January 19, 2013
Charming, sweet family film based on the E. Nesbit classic, one of her Five Children trilogy. Wish they'd make the other two.
½ November 13, 2012
Very enjoyable kids film that's truly fun for the whole family.
½ November 9, 2012
I thought this movie was better than what I expected but I do not want it on DVD, it was a good movie and Kenneth Branagh, Eddie , Zoe Wanamaker and Freddie Highmore played good parts
September 28, 2012
Pretty good film. I just love British accent so much, want to have it too. But about the film, it was quite interesting, reminded me my childhood, I loved and still love fantasy, and wishes...
May 20, 2012
I want this movie to be better than it is by having likeable characters or something.
April 5, 2012
Pretty messy and engaging to watch and not half as interesting as the low budget TV versions. Disneyfying the look and story of the Psammead destroys much of the dynamic and nuance of Nesbit's books. Izzard's strange voice work does a lot to give the digital character character but the limitations of the cgi make things even flatter.
March 31, 2012
that sounds like really weird but why not
January 5, 2012
It's a welcome entry in the Henson lineup; the company has always had a knack for inventive family fare that refuses to talk down to the younger members of the audience. Based on E. Nesbit's novel, it's slightly more self-aware than the early-'90s BBC series, which adapted the story of a group of wartime children who discover a mischievous, ancient sand fairy with Blyton-esque English eccentricity. Here, the sand fairy - Psammead - is rendered in CG and voiced by Eddie Izzard, who initially proves a strange fit.
He free-associates in his usual stand-up style and references modern-day objects, which sits awkwardly with the knickerbockered children. But once you adjust to the surreal combination, it evolves into a comfortably amusing yarn. Its eccentric charms and light humor will most certainly win over anyone looking for a brisk family adventure. Yes indeed. A refreshing family film and once you're on the wavelength, Izzard is a treat.

VERDICT: "In The Zone" - [Mixed Reaction] These kinds of movies are usually movies that had some good things, but some bad things kept it from being amazing. This rating says buy an ex-rental or a cheap price of the DVD to own. If you consider cinema, ask for people's opinion on the film. (Films that are rated 2.5 or 3 stars)
½ January 2, 2012
Watchable but not that good!
½ December 22, 2011
eddie izzard is brilliant
½ December 20, 2011
Another weird movie!
November 24, 2011
A fun family movie that lacks its depth and could have been a masterpiece. Nevertheless, it was entertaining no doubt
Page 1 of 14