Generation Kill (mini-series) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Generation Kill (mini-series) Reviews

Page 1 of 12
½ April 19, 2012
Well-scripted, acted, poignant, entertaining, brutal..It really runs the gamut but is 'must-see' TV.
April 16, 2012
Miniserier p¥ Flixster.. Er fortsatt veldig usikker p¥ hva jeg f¸ler om det. Men uansett - Generation Kill er dritbra. Merker at jeg savner gjengen skikkelig. Dette er noe av det beste jeg har sett av serier i ¥r og sikkert blant det beste som har blitt vist p¥ TV i ¥r. Takk for internett. Et par av episodene er litt kjedelige hver for seg, men helheten funker.
April 12, 2012
A relatively unbiased, truthful account of the Iraq war and the soldiers who fight for it. It's neither a giant glamorization of our troops nor a condemnation typical anti-war media, but a balanced attempt at making something that holds a mirror up to reality, devoid of sensationalism and mind-pollution.
March 21, 2012
David Simon bring his expert skills from "The Wire" in this adaptation of a book covering the invasion of Iraq in 2003. Very slice of life and matter of fact in its coverage, it may leave some viewers cold or disinterested, but it was the best approach to the material.
½ April 2, 2011
Very good mini-series
April 29, 2010
Awesome series so far... This is one of the few dramas that are not completely one sided, (Over There). And its the funniest TV show i've seen in awhile
February 2, 2010
great series!!!!!!!!
September 13, 2009
I consider this to be a mini series not a movie. It is by far the greatest miniseries I have seen since "Band of Brothers" which I regard as the best miniseries ever, but this is now a close second if not an equal to that great work. This is also the only work that confronts the second Iraq War that I have seen. It is a work that shows the harsh realities and utter futilities of modern urban warfare. It also shows how the marines in Iraq had to operate and the emotional toll that the war had on the marines depicted in this series.
July 8, 2009
HBO's quality mini-series about a recon marine company during the first month of the invasion of Iraq. This modern Band Of Brothers offers no-nonsense look at the best and the worst of what happened during operation "Iraqi Freedom". You really can't expect nothing less than a five star experience from the makers of The Wire. Classic.
June 27, 2009
If this is a mini-series, which by definition is a television show that has a set number of episodes obviously fewer than what one would find in a non-mini-series television show, then why is this listed on Flixter since it is VERY obviously not a movie!??
June 27, 2009
The best mini-series since Band of Brothers
Based upon the book written by embedded Rolling Stones reporter Evan Wright, Generation Kill follows !st Recon Marines during the first wave of the USA led assault on Iraq in 2003. The 7 episode series is awesome from beginning to end. The script, direction, action, cinematography and acting are flawless. The story is enlightening, entertaining and saddening. The manor in which the actors bring the Marines of 1st recon to life is heart wrenching. A must see film.....
June 26, 2009
war is never a good thing. but watching this based on true story miniseries, portraying the real marines of the 1st Reconnaissance Battallions. I kinda understand a little bit of their situations, although hopefully I'll never be in their stinking boots and singing songs in tone-deaf voices
½ June 23, 2009
A critical inside look on the Iraq war from the US Marines side based on the novel of the same name by Evan Wright. Alexander Skarsgard gave an impressive performance as Sgt. Brad Colbert.
½ June 21, 2009
it covers all aspects of the war and it doesnt feel like a documentary or film, it puts you right amoungst the thick of it. great show
Super Reviewer
June 20, 2009
See how real a fake war is....... that was the original title.
½ June 18, 2009
It's an utterly fantastic miniseries with unflinching performances from the entire cast. The creators of "The Wire" may have even trumped that fantastic show here. Rather than get into why it's so good, I'll just say that through the eyes of marines it follows it addresses practically every aspect of Operation Iraqi Freedom. Stop reading this review and go out and rent or buy this.
June 15, 2009
While I wouldn't say its as good as band of brothers, this miniseries is really well done. It takes a few episodes to get into, and I found that the later eps were much more interesting. Definitely well worth seeing.
½ June 14, 2009
HBO never fails it seems,
June 10, 2009
from the creators of "the wire" comes this highly impressive telling of the first 40 days of the iraq war through the eyes of the u.s. first recon marines and the rolling stone writer who has been put into their convoy to give the 'truth' of the 'liberation.' excellent performances, most notably alexander skarsgard (true blood), james ransone (ken park), and lee tergesen (oz). definitely a must see miniseries
May 29, 2009
Wish there would have been more episodes!!!!!! Awsome series even though it was short!!!!
Page 1 of 12