Sleeping Beauty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sleeping Beauty Reviews

Page 1 of 41
January 13, 2017
So boring nothing really happens.
Super Reviewer
December 23, 2016
An empty and pretentious film that fails by not providing any depth into its character, thus leaving her actions and motivations as a complete mystery from beginning to end and making this a cold and detached experience even as a result of the large amount of loose shots.
½ October 28, 2016
Shouldn't have wasted an hour and half of my life watching this crap!
July 8, 2016
A strangely perverse but utterly haunting glimpse into a loveless world. Beautifully shot and brilliantly played by, notably, Emily Browning, this subtle, seductive and slow dissertation on modern day morality is as captivating as it is disconcerting. The camera, in no hurry, captures both the beauty and the beast in this Australian 'art house' academy of wonders.
May 25, 2016
"Sleeping Beauty" es una perturbadora y al mismo tiempo elegante historia cargada de erotismo, protagonizada por Emily Browning ("Sucker Punch") y dirigida por Julia Leigh ("The Hunter"). Aquí, Browning interpreta a Lucy, una joven universitaria que trabaja como mesera y como prostituta para pagar sus estudios y se ve envuelta en una casa de citas donde ella debe permanecer dormida para satisfacer las fantasías de sus clientes. Los estamentos feministas ocultos en el subtexto pueden dejarse de lado y disfrutar de una dirección de arte soberbia y de una atmósfera que poco a poco envuelve y seduce al espectador.
May 2, 2016
A slow-burning pensive exposition of the underground prostitution for rich old men that haunts and sicken its voyeurs.
April 19, 2016
This is one of those movies that's Weird with a capital W. You'd think a whole lot of Emily Browning nude wouldn't be this depressing and creepy. You'd be wrong.
March 7, 2016
I clearly have the unpopular opinion of thinking it was a decent movie. The writers torched the idea of character development completely, but I think the artful style and uncomfortable erotic moments make up for it.
½ January 28, 2016
Mmm, It's like they wanted to show girls naked but without any dialogue needed, but not XXXrated. Definitely Without any action at all !! B-O-R-I-N-G
January 15, 2016
Really haunting and soul-crushing and all together so well done, I just don't think sexual violence should ever really be so explicit. I get why it was, but can all movies just stop please. I get showing the brutality so individually that's legitimate - especially here with the self objectification and passive self destruction (it's really enough to make you want to fucking murder yourself), but with so many movies doing it now it has the opposite effect so everyone should just stop before graphic rape/degradation is the most common thing in film next to the shins playing softly in the background, it's already pretty close. You still get the points Julia, because your movie took me weeks to recover from but every film maker should take note please - this shit is dangerous.
December 7, 2015
It was different. I'd probably watch it again because I feel like I missed some stuff.
November 19, 2015
People are really hating on this movie. I really connected with Lucy. She clearly does not give a fuck about what other people consider moral standards, and she thinks she's above the pity and compassion people shower onto her.

She is constantly stoic, not because she's devastated but because how else would she be? People treat her like glass and the girl has seen and been through some shit that made my skin crawl. She's un-phased, because she doesn't give the "horror" any value. At least not until her nightmares become a reality.

Personally, I thought it was a great exploration of voyeur, perversion and cinematography. If you felt Lucy needed more depth, maybe you're just asking for too much.

She's supposed to be non-descriptive, dwindled down to nothing more than her looks. If the world treats you that way, than you're going to play the part.

In the end, she clearly bit off more than she could chew - financially, emotionally, sexually. This movie was horrifying and beautiful and creepy and sad. If you can handle slow-awkward tension and perversion, please watch. If not, definitely move along... Very beautifully shot and directed. Cheers.
½ June 18, 2015
Australian dramas mostly fall into two broad camps - great crime-dramas, eg Animal Kingdom and Snowtown, or pretentious crap, eg Jindabyne. Sleeping Beauty is one of the latter, and it takes pretentious crap to levels of pretense and craptacularity usually only the French can muster.

No real point to the movie at all. Plot's initial idea is to shock the audience, and even that feels dull and drawn out, reminding me of Eyes Wide Shut. After that it just drifts around and goes nowhere.

Performances are generally unconvincing and dull, in keeping with the plot. Emily Browning was miscast in the lead role (though every other actress out there should be thanking their lucky stars that they don't have this on their CV).

Avoid at all costs. It will save you nearly two hours of your life.
½ June 3, 2015
Julia Leigh's stylish film presents an oddly indifferent character study of a young woman passively detached from her life, bad choices and looming economical challenges. Emily Browning delivers an earnest performance, but Leigh fails to provide enough insight into this young woman's daily life to have any understanding of her motivations. By the time she willingly pursues work at an elite and perversely degrading use of her body, the film takes on the tone of sadist soft porn. As she works her way within this sinister organization she agrees to be drugged unconscious as wealthy old men do what they please with corpse like nude body. It is not clear if our main character is experiencing some sort of subconscious abuse or if she is just curious to know what goes on when she knocked out. Ultimately, the movie is far too vague to offer any level of psychological depth. This renders the result to feeling like a discarded late night cable erotica by Zalman King. As flawed at it is, Sleeping Beauty is not dull. I was pulled in, but never encaged to what was being shown but not explored.
May 7, 2015
An interesting plot, disturbing flick filmed with an artistically and elegant atmosphere.
4/5
½ March 25, 2015
Another Wtf Movie...
March 14, 2015
Interesting topic but disappointing end.
March 8, 2015
Emily Browning is a beautiful actress and I enjoyed the artistic nature of her body in this film. That was, however, the only thing really going for this movie. The plot was disturbing but not dark enough to be a true horror movie. Mostly it was just a detached, calm movie on the verge of being boring, despite the racy nature of the plot and the constant nudity.
January 31, 2015
Not predictable but also not interesting, quite plain plot
January 12, 2015
Eyes Wide Shut from the other side
Page 1 of 41