The Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Day Reviews

Page 1 of 9
June 16, 2017
Ten years after the collapse of society, five survivors (Shawn Ashmore, Ashley Bell) of the apocalypse battle raging cannibals at an isolated farmhouse.
April 21, 2017
Watchable but not a brilliant film i was let down by the ending
January 22, 2017
Okay low budget but overly self serious post apocalyptic film that is essentially a "Night of the Living Dead" style of siege film. The story has a group of survivors trapped in a house surrounded by a clan of cannibals. What drags the film down is it's pretentious self seriousness, it's lack of originality, and some major gaps in logic. The desaturated photography, surely intended to convey the starkness of an apocalyptic future, might as well have been in black and white (it may actually have been filmed in black and white with splashes of color for all I could tell). The film adaptation of "The Road" used this same approach three years earlier to a much better effect. Overall, there are worse siege films, but there are also many better one you could watch instead. If you're in the mood for scrappy low budget siege films, I'd suggest the original (but also the Tom Savini remake) of "Night of the Living Dead," "Dog Soldier" and "Assault on Precinct 13."
November 25, 2016
I liked it, acting wasn't bad, lots of killing, main character is a badass girl who doesn't say much, good and simple plot. If you like apocalyptic survival blood and killing then you will be pleased for this unknown movie that's free most places
October 19, 2016
Had A Bit Of The Riiiiiight, What Now?? Vibe.. I Guess A Post Apocalypse Is Always Going To Involve Violence, But This Is Hard To Stomach. Any Emotive Story That Is Built Upon Gets A Little Lost Because You Have To Digest All The Other Bits That Occur, Which Is Gruesome & Horrific. Definite Holds Some Major Homage To John Carpenter's 'Assault On Precinct 13' Which I Guess Some People Might Find Interesting..I Struggled To & Most People Would.
August 26, 2016
3/5. While not original by any means, and not the best written film either, The Day is still pretty entertaining with some very interesting moments and fun ending.
½ April 11, 2016
with the darker look for the film it added a bit of old school feel to it. I enjoyed the movie and found it reminisces night of the living dead in a sense. a bit more dialogue heavy in parts that'll most likely throw people off but adds more back story to a few characters. the feel throughout makes the ending satisfying with the turn out. not a bad watch.
December 25, 2015
150824: Want to see after seeing Sossamon in Sinister 2.
½ August 28, 2015
Nothing too interesting. Felt like a million other end of world flicks.
½ August 25, 2015
Gritty story of basic survival after an apocalypse.
July 21, 2015
This movie really sucked.

For starters, everything has this black & white + sepia tone thing going on. Only the sepia is really muted, so everything has this bizarre greenish look to it. Then the contrast in the movie is really bold, making dark scenes nearly impossible to tell what is going on. When you consider at least a third of the movie takes place at night in an unlit house, and it's an action movie with shaky cam and extreme closeups, it becomes an almost unwatchable movie just based on just the look.

I don't even need to get in to the Road ripoff storyline, nonsensical characters, and bizarre acting. The token black guy acts like he's still in college. He doesn't act like a man who's been starving on the road for years while fighting off cannibals. He acts like this all just happened over the weekend. Shawn Ashmore's character does something almost so irredeemably cruel that we're suddenly supposed to care when his character decides to save a girl he tortured? The dark haired girl is supposed to be evil because she doesn't trust someone who was a cannibal and she's only out to protect the ones she actually cares about?

I don't get the appeal of this movie. If you want an ugly-looking post apocalyptic movie with cannibals, why not watch The Road? If you want a gun-filled action movie where bad guys are trying to break into a building while the people inside have to put aside their differences and pull together, why not watch Assault on Precinct 13?

I wanted to like this movie. I like these kinds of movies. But this one really sucked.
July 8, 2015
The Day: A more apt title would be The Yuck, since this film is more a clinic in how to create a hybrid ripoff of other horror films, and still make it exponentially worse. Shot in monochrome, presumably to make it appear "edgy" and filled with some really bad acting, presumably to entertain us from an otherwise boring and nonsensical plot, this torture porn is just plain awful. D
½ June 21, 2015
Simple but effective. Some of the effects looked too amateurish for me to give it a better rating.
June 18, 2015
Walked into this one expecting more zombies. Cannibalism was a welcome change-up. Toss in some bloody but not too gory violence and lots of questions on who to trust and we have a winner.
½ June 7, 2015
Powerful, and dark....I love the way this was filmed in stark black and white tones and bleak landscape, also loved the subtle homage to Night of the Living Dead... put this movie on your watch lists, you won't be disappointed...
½ May 12, 2015
Decent enough mid level PA thriller
February 20, 2015
The last scene was stunning! Apocalyptic films are my favorite genre. I would have liked to know how the world was brought to its knees but that's ok - the movie was better than these reviews indicate.
January 27, 2015
I loved this movie. It's always fun to watch evil be decimated in the most bloody of ways, even if good has to take a few casualties. Too bad it was filmed to look like crap.
½ January 5, 2015
The worst movie that I have ever seen
Donīt tell the history of the apocalypse
Page 1 of 9