8 Mile - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

8 Mile Reviews

Page 2 of 11
January 29, 2009
Ends on a high note, but it doesn't negate the tedium of the number of false and mostly flat ones that precede it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 18, 2008
Eminem is quietly effective without ever displaying much emotion. It's a commendable film debut and he never falls into the vanity trap that many artists find when transferring their talents from the music stage to the screen.
November 1, 2007
At its best, 8 Mile illuminates the culture out of which rap springs, at once an art form, provocation and survival mechanism.
July 23, 2007
The film is really no more than a two-hour prelude to a climax in which our hero ... rhythmically tells people off.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 14, 2007
It is more just a pleasure to watch Eminem perform. He is fiercely talented and has a natural charisma; the camera loves him. But, like most of the story, we knew that before we saw the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 26, 2006
When the climactic rap battle takes place, it's one of the most mesmerizing scenes from all of 2002.
Top Critic
January 26, 2006
A hesitant presence whose vulnerability pulls you in, Eminem emerges as a mainstream movie star and effectively lays to rest the spooks of Slim Shady: impressionable parents will love this eminently responsible film.
December 6, 2004
The movie doesn't feel authentic and I think it's because of all the white folks involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 2
May 19, 2004
Like his wizardly lyrics, Eminem's performance and his film have unexpected depth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 10, 2004
Eminem does a credible roughed-up urban ghetto impression of James Dean
Full Review | Original Score: 71/100
January 4, 2004
Hanson's enthusiastic participation in the project is bewildering given how pedestrian the story is: poor, white kid keeps getting beaten down before a final showdown...
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2/5
December 1, 2003
The whole film . . . coasts from colourless family melodramas to wacky-kid-hijinks. . . . 8 Mile is an uninteresting shell of a movie.
November 6, 2003
Regardless of the hype, 8 Mile is a classic underdog tale with real bark.
August 30, 2003
This Eminem melts in your hand and not in your mouth.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 25, 2003
Com sua estupenda atuação neste filme, Eminem poderia facilmente buscar uma carreira no cinema.
| Original Score: 4/5
June 26, 2003
Take away the napalm spread of profanity, impromptu scenes of steamy sex and the myriad joints that get smoked, and 8 Mile is basically a Disney sports movie with rap as the athletics of choice.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
June 1, 2003
Following L.A. Confidential and Wonder Boys, this makes a remarkable hat-trick for Hanson and is a personal triumph for Eminem.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 13, 2003
8 Mile is an entertaining film that will please all.
April 24, 2003
I've been curious about "the Eminem movie" for months. And while I have gotten the chance to see 8 Mile, little of my pondering has been quenched; Eminem remains an enigma.
April 2, 2003
Better than average rags-to-riches story, but expect to get pinched for a special edition DVD later.
Full Review| Original Score: B
Page 2 of 11