8 Mile - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

8 Mile Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Tom Gliatto
People Magazine
April 7, 2014
The story of 8 Mile isn't far removed from Eminem's own self-mythologized life -- a Jerry Springer-style saga out of Detroit -- but the unslakable anger is gone.
Michael Szymanski
Zap2it.com
November 7, 2002
All this hoopla about Eminem's so great, is it any more of a stretch than Prince in "Purple Rain" or Babs in "A Star is Born" or Woody in any movie where he's having an affair with a younger woman?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
November 11, 2002
Eminem himself comes fully to life only during his raps -- which the film unwisely confines to the last 20 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
November 27, 2002
It has been over 25 years since Aretha demanded R-E-S-P-E-C-T from her man and Marvin declared 'war is not the answer.' Are we to consider our journey down the '8 Mile' road progress?
Full Review | Original Score: C
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
July 23, 2007
The film is really no more than a two-hour prelude to a climax in which our hero ... rhythmically tells people off.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brian Gibson
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)
December 1, 2003
The whole film . . . coasts from colourless family melodramas to wacky-kid-hijinks. . . . 8 Mile is an uninteresting shell of a movie.
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
November 8, 2002
Underwhelming.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Felix Gonzalez Jr.
DVD Review
April 13, 2009
... Rocky with a rap beat ....
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
I was able to guess what would happen to most of the characters most of the time and come through perfectly.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
It is more just a pleasure to watch Eminem perform. He is fiercely talented and has a natural charisma; the camera loves him. But, like most of the story, we knew that before we saw the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Staci Layne Wilson
Fantastica Daily
November 8, 2002
It's 8 Miles of bad road, I'm sorry to say, even for fans of Eminem's music -- we are left "doing time" waiting for his "wicked rhymes" till well beyond the point of patience.
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
November 7, 2002
You have to question the time and care you want to invest in a character whose goal is to excel at insults
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
November 15, 2002
It's disappointing, sort of like if Madonna had released her "Sex" book without the sex.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Jeremy Heilman
MovieMartyr.com
November 6, 2002
As the center of the movie's universe, Eminem is seriously lacking any sort of gravity that can hold the pieces together. It's no wonder, then, that 8 Mile falls apart.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
November 8, 2002
[Nothing] more than an Elvis film, except there's a lot more sex and violence than Blue Hawaii and the music video sequences feature creative profanity instead of surfboards.
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
November 11, 2002
If Eminem is a genius then Tiny Tim must be God.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Erik Childress
eFilmCritic.com
November 14, 2002
If this movie had been directed by someone other than Curtis Hanson; I'm talking some nobody shmoe or some flashy music video director, critics would have dismissed this as just another singer-turned-actor star vehicle with no more depth than a shot glass
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Eleanor Ringel Gillespie
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
November 7, 2002
As music star movie debuts go, 8 Mile is hardly A Hard Days Night, but it's not Crossroads, either.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Bill Muller
Arizona Republic
November 8, 2002
the Profane One's performance in 8 Mile is more Britney than Brando. As with Ms. Belly Button in the vapid Crossroads, Eminem plays himself, albeit a cleaned-up, deep-thinking, saintlike version.
Top Critic
Bruce Newman
San Jose Mercury News
November 8, 2002
Unfortunately, 8 Mile does waste a lot of time dawdling over just about everything else ... until it finally begins to sputter at about the 6 mile mark.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4

The Straits Times (Singapore)
March 1, 2003
Page 1 of 11