9 to 5: Days in Porn - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

9 to 5: Days in Porn Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 5, 2012
Amazing moments in this. Makes me want to see it over and over again.
July 10, 2012
x$tf, Cnt..j zany,!!,!%
March 25, 2012
this mivie looks nice
April 5, 2011
I couldn't be any happier that the director doesn't really make any judgments about pornography, but I could have been happier with the bulk of the documentary's focus.

In the beginning, I was interested by the personal dynamics of the porn stars and their significant others, surprised by how together they seemed to be. By the end, you could see the pain in the faces of one half of the couple as they publicly examine their true feelings about their significant other's life style. In the course of 90 minutes, the woman in the main couple, though involved in porn like her hubby, goes from upbeat about their lifestyle to the verge of self-destruction. Sasha Grey, clearly the retroactive star, comes off just as pretentious as she has seemed in all her subsequent interviews.

It's an interesting watch, but not particularly well constructed or incisive. I guess the inclusion of a few hardcore scenes was supposed to achieve this, but these are pornographic actors. Imagine watching a documentary where actors act scenes and you're supposed to learn something by watching them cut, stop, reposition, and repeat. Overall, this film is about as bland, which is a pretty damning critique for something about pornography.
April 3, 2011
very well executed. great documentary on the misfits that work in the porn industry of san fernando valley and around the world.
December 20, 2010
I don't envy any of these people in the slightest but I did appreciate the chance to see them as people. Flesh and blood beings with feelings, hopes, fears, etc. A lot of the situations really bummed me out, esp. the rougher scenes where it looked like Audrey was going to cry/die after the camera stopped rolling. I appreciated those with positive attitudes towards what they do (I'm a big fan of Miss Sasha Gray as a person) and even though I honestly cannot identify with actually wanting to do those things, I like that most of them managed to convince me that they genuinely enjoyed what they do or at least aren't really bothered by it.
Side note: I've always been fascinated by Belladonna. Many of her films disgust me wholeheartedly and I don't know how the hell she does it but she comes off as one of the sweetest people ever and has a child, a life. It's nice to see that.

The film is shot very well (I liked how parts of the action was purposely blocked by various people and objects in the rooms), the switches to slow motion are effective, and the soundtrack is very fitting to what's going on at that point in time.

This would turn into an essay if I actually analyzed this film from a "feminist" standpoint or more specifically, from my perspective as a woman. So I'm not going to bother. It's just a very harrowing film at times: it's depressing to watch sleazy men (some who at the same time claim to have a real affection for their girls, perhaps they genuinely do and I'm just being cynical) casting roles for films like White Trash Whore #36, it's sad to see tough times arise but the show must go on on the set of "Totally Fucked", it's difficult to watch the consensual "torture" scenes (and to hear about how some girls feel pressured into doing rougher stuff or just don't speak up to say they don't want to do it), etc.

There's an interesting yet sad part at the end where a girl explains how she books a week off with her agent every now and then and in this time she doesn't relax, catch up on television shows but goes to different cities as an escort to spend private time with her fans. Obviously the line between the two professions is incredibly fine and I guess I found many of the stories and situations to be completely heartbreaking.
None of this is news to me but it's a lot different seeing it as a compact film than reading it here or there.

Btw, the version I watched is Unrated and it's runtime is 1:55:41, so I dunno about the 1 hr 35 min up top.
December 9, 2010
Interesting to see that aide of the story
October 2, 2010
Partially Semi-Educational & Illuminating docu-drama or docu-mentry...wutever u wanna call it but it supposedly follows some of the different people in the porn or (Adult Industry) in their personal & professional lives on a day to day basis. Unfortunatly it did NOT answer some of my questions (Like what is the income & potential income.) but did shed some light on some of the performers,directors,agents & more on how they live & deal with the industries up's & downs. Don't REALLY know how Authentic it is but NOT everyone looked like they were Blingin! U get 2 see the people on & off screen & some are so different. Also a former porn star turned Dr. see who & hear her tragic story. So B4 u pass judgment maybe u wanna chk dis film out...maybe. Aloha....Ouwtzzaahhh
September 19, 2010
The porn industry has always been a very bizarre thing to me - I'm not against it, but have, for the most part found it to be quite disturbing (because it's so degrading to women). This documentary is a fascinating, bizarre, funny, depressing, and often times, downright disgusting peek into the nitty gritty lives of porn stars. And much to my surprise, I was completely endeared with the human aspect of some of these characters. Others, I felt incredibly sad for. I laughed, I cried, I dry heaved. It was definitely entertaining, and from a purely sociological standpoint, an interesting watch indeed.
½ August 31, 2010
Boring, Harsh Reality of the Adult Industry!
½ August 31, 2010
A great film to showcase the most worthless, useless, selfish, brain dead, empty, soulless, desperate, lost, insecure, bottom of the gene pool, destined to live a life of desperation and loneliness, pathetic, screaming for approval and choosing the worst possible method, sick, need to get a life, non-human, unenlightened, wounded, scarred, trying to justify their own existences, sometimes drug addicted, bunch of losers you'll ever see. That includes Sasha Gray.
She considers herself to be more mature than young pregnant sluts her own age? WOW, what an accomplishment!!
So that makes her more mature than a young women who has enough class to keep her legs closed, make WISE decisions and have some class?
I've met 10 year old girls who talk with a unbelievable heir of maturity and dignity of which Sasha Gray wouldn't even comprehend. 10 year old girls who have grown to be honorable women who contribute to the elevation of the female as an intellectual equal. A force to be reckoned with. A women a man would meet and realize that he would have to be a real man to even approach her. (Of course these low-life's will never meet a REAL man or women. You know.. birds of a feather.). As opposed to meeting her and thinking, "I'd love to &%@*! her pussy. Which is all Sasha is. Cause hey, I'm sure that when men watch her they're thinking about how liberated and mature she is. They're thinking about the artistic expression and quality of her performance. They're wondering how smart she is.
Reality check...He's thinking about how hard she makes his dick!! He's thinking about himself and how great it is that there's enough stupid women out there that think that by "acting" in porn they are being mature and somehow doing women a favor. As a man. Let me fill you in. Most men will agree with anything you say or believe if they know it means they can bang you. Women have tried for millenniums to get out from under the control of the male, but most don't realize that there's only one way. Stop letting us %#@*&( you without ever deserving you. Make a man prove his worth and wait until he demonstrates to you that he is 100% committed to you and only you because you're gold and not just tits and pussy. Then you will be liberated because you'll have a man who wouldn't dare even dream of controlling you for fear of disappointing you. A man who will treat you as his QUEEN, not his garbage to spew his junk on.
I like how the film portrays the duplicity and ignorance of these people who think they're somehow liberating women by showing them as a hole to plow. Gee, you couldn't possibly liberate women any other way than by making porn. Really. What empty headed, closed, narrow-minded, excrement.
What's really sad is that these people will probably never experience the wonder and awe of real intimacy and love.
They will only ever be "admired" for their "physical" attributes and when the industry spits them out and their physical parts are sagged and their butt-holes are dripping crap because their sphincters can't stay closed, their "fans' will dump them like the trash they are and look for the next masterbatable meat and they'll fade into the heart-wrenching abyss of obscurity where they deserve to be.
They sell their souls for a price that they can never in a million life-times ever pay back.
My heart goes out to these people, I hope that they will find a better, more honorable, respectable, fulfilling way of life. Trust me, the path they have chosen will NEVER lead them to their dreams. What a sad life they live.
There is a better path!!
½ August 31, 2010
Je veux clarifier tout d'abord que c'est un documentaire sur l'industrie de la pornographie. Le film demeure quand même très explicite. On voit beaucoup de "footage" porno. Le réalisateur de ce film n'a pas froid aux yeux et nous montre tout mais avec une certaine retenue. Le malaise et l'étonnement persiste dans ce "Shock-Documentary". On apprend en profondeur comment est un plateau de tournage d'un film du genre, comment les actrices vivent avec cet emploi et comment sont leurs relations en dehors du porno. Assez intéressant mais si par moments il y a quelques scènes inutiles et que la musique domine sur le début de l'interview. Un film qui n'est pas à mettre entre toutes les mains...
( J'ai trouvé ce film à la bibliothèque de mon cégep, je vous niaise pas...)
August 31, 2010
very good documentary
August 26, 2010
where is the point of this movie?
May 14, 2010
a really good insight into some of the most interesting aspects of the porn industry.
March 16, 2010
Good documentary. It shows the many sides of the porn industry. But I do think, they could still have gotten deeper, but that would maybe have been to disturbing. It's quite explicit so don't watch it with your grandmother:-)
½ January 7, 2010
Just when you thought there might be something you didn't know about ......
Page 1 of 2