Downsizing Reviews

Page 1 of 8
October 10, 2019
Alexander Payne may have started this project with big ambitions, but, unfortunately this film caused us to downsize our expectations.
June 20, 2019
A rare miss for Alexander Payne.
June 4, 2019
Just does not work, losing itself among political ambitions that are both painfully on the nose and woefully undercooked.
April 16, 2019
With our protagonist's motivations unclear, so too is the point of the film.
March 27, 2019
Alexander Payne's Downsizing is visually stunning, but it doesn't live up to all of its pretentious ambitions. [Full review in Spanish]
March 5, 2019
Downsizing is mostly a disappointment because it feels like a waste of a brilliant idea.
February 1, 2019
Oscillating considerably in tone and mood, Downsizing abruptly jumps from a poignant drama to a bleached pseudo-thriller, and then to a bland comedy.
January 30, 2019
Downsizing was simply just not a good movie, in my opinion. I wanted it to be good mainly because the concept seemed really original.
December 21, 2018
What a disappointment Downsizingturns out to be, a nearly complete waste of an incredibly original concept from director Alexander Payne.
November 27, 2018
Initially it has a magnetic pull, its premise familiar yet scarily out there. But then come a whole new batch of questions and answers, spinning in different directions, and the film can't maintain that initial excitement, wonder, and indeed cruelty.
November 1, 2018
Fails to capitalize on the "man shrinks" concept in any meaningful way, shape, or size.
October 31, 2018
It's a real dud and (pardon the pun) a BIG letdown of a movie.
October 11, 2018
So far so good; still synapses-igniting and discussion-worthy. Had craft been chosen over concept, Downsizing would have remained so and avoided a spectacular self-immolation.
October 10, 2018
Once it's proven the plot is going to its logically generic conclusion, I realized the fun had stopped.
October 4, 2018
This is an oddly cruel film, with a wide visual imagination frequently undercut by the narrow minded characterisations and a highly unfocused narrative that can't work out whether it's acting as political commentary, or a half baked adventure movie.
September 10, 2018
What starts out as an intriguing idea swerves into an unexpected, unwelcome and irreparably clunky territory.
August 28, 2018
All those disparate elements fail to gel.
August 27, 2018
Downsizing starts at a fantastic pace, it looks good and the concept is intriguing but ultimately it loses its way.
August 27, 2018
For a film that markets itself as a man's journey to self-discovery, the film needs a journey to find itself.
August 24, 2018
I was wooed to this film by the promise of tiny people and their miniature accessories, and I paid a price of over two hours of wasted casting potential, wasted concept potential and mostly wasted time.
Page 1 of 8