A Good Old Fashioned Orgy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Good Old Fashioned Orgy Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
September 2, 2011
The film can't escape the feeling that it's not even interested in its own premise or that its jokey, stunted characters are closer to sad than funny.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
September 2, 2011
Chlamydia, gonorrhea and Jason Sudeikis are three reasons to stay well clear of "A Good Old Fashioned Orgy," but they're not the only ones.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
September 2, 2011
Gregory and Huyck keep their frat boy (and girl) lark grounded while making sure no bit is left untouched.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Peter Sobczynski
eFilmCritic.com
September 2, 2011
So much for spending Labor Day weekend on Lake Bell. . .
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Drew McWeeny
HitFix
September 2, 2011
A title like that sets up certain expectations, and I thought the film I saw was sweeter and sadder in some ways than I expected.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
September 1, 2011
What are missing are the actual jokes, and that's because the comic potential rests in the party itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Jonathan W. Hickman
Paste Magazine
September 1, 2011
...a meandering film that fails to understand and credibly capitalize on its titillating title.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
September 1, 2011
Feels as if it had been conceived and written on the back of a cocktail napkin, then handed over to the actors in hope they could come up with some funny business. No such luck.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Marc Mohan
Salon.com
September 1, 2011
These immature, fairly pitiable protagonists go about their absurd project in all the wrong ways. But you just keep rooting for them.
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
September 1, 2011
By accident or design, the resolution here is morally ambiguous and vaguely distasteful, which may be the reason I liked it.
Top Critic
September 1, 2011
The movie keeps its balance better than its leering title might suggest.
Jon Niccum
Kansas City Star
September 1, 2011
Despite a game cast and some scattered big laughs, the comedy is often vulgar when subtlety is required and timid when it should go over-the-top.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Peter Hartlaub
San Francisco Chronicle
September 1, 2011
Movies about raising children or reconnecting with lost loves can be subtle and slow paced. But orgy movies need to go all out. There doesn't appear to be any other way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
September 1, 2011
More amusing than you might expect, but probably not by much.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kurt Loder
Reason Online
September 1, 2011
The movie wouldn't be worth much discussion if it weren't for Sudeikis-whose cheery way with a one-liner is a pleasure even in this cheesy context.
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
September 1, 2011
I scrawled the words completely unappealing people in my trusty notebook, sitting there in the dark in the early going of A Good Old Fashioned Orgy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
September 1, 2011
We may not yet have arrived at "Brave New World," but this movie about a group of 30ish friends inhibited by the threat of AIDS from sexually running wild, suggests we are lurching and bumbling in that direction.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Loren King
Boston Globe
September 1, 2011
There's a pretty decent comedy somewhere in "A Good Old Fashioned Orgy,'' if only it wasn't so attracted to everyone else in the room.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com
September 1, 2011
has no ambition but is a lot of fun because of it
| Original Score: 3/5
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
September 1, 2011
I know a few women who haven't been to a Hollywood comedy since they made Katherine Heigl sleep with Seth Rogen. "Orgy" isn't going to bring them back to theaters.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 2 of 4