A Bag of Hammers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Bag of Hammers Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 17, 2017
Filled with witty one-liners and heart felt moments between best friends, A Bag of Hammers clumsily illustrates the reality of a life of in-opportunity. The characters succeed in confusing our sympathies and creating deep rooted emotion. Must watch!
½ June 13, 2015
This was a sweet story with a quirky and fun cast.
May 26, 2015
It tries so very hard to please that it ends up tripping itself up from beginning to end.
½ May 18, 2015
Bag of Hammers had a lot of heart and was a touching tale of 2 guys taking in an orphan neighbor boy as their own. The film started out a straight comedy, with the main characters being con-men and seeing the crazy things they do to earn money. Shortly after the comedy faded away and their relationship with the a neglected boy took off. It was interesting at times, a little unrealistic at others and I was sad the laughs went away because the leads were so goofy and funny. The film tried really hard to be super emotional and it hit on some parts but failed with others. Toward the end they tried to speed up the plot and jump into the future but it lacked any depth and was a weak way to end the film. I did enjoy most of this one, but it would have been better if the comedy parts were more spread out and not just at the beginning.
February 24, 2015
A very touching film all the way to the end of the credits. Ritter and Sandvig have great chemistry. That relationship carries the film a long way.
January 29, 2015
Worst collapse of a film ever. Some funny scenes though.
March 26, 2014
Falls more into the 'dramedy' category. Not at all like the zany comedy the slogan "A Comedy About Good Times and Grand Theft" makes it appear. The main cast is incredibly charming in turn making this movie incredibly heartwarming. The story takes a very dramatic turn towards the middle of the movie - but it is an excellent story nonetheless. I found myself bawling at the very end! One of my favorite movies now!
Super Reviewer
January 26, 2014
This movie definitely has some very good intentions at the core of its narrative, but the film becomes problematic when it tries to combine indie quirk with super serious drama. It's almost jarring to see how serious the film can really get and, again, at least in this case, it doesn't really mix well with the quirky approach to its comedy. The drama doesn't really feel natural or organic. It doesn't feel like a natural progression of the story. The characters and actors are certainly likable enough that they make these jarring tonal shifts a little easier to digest, but that would easily be the film's biggest fault. With that said, I did find the story to be very sweet. Almost to a fault really. But the story of these two grifters, whose choice of "employment" has led to them refusing to grow up, being forced to mature when Kelsey comes into their lives unexpectedly. It's definitely a good enough arc for these two characters. The stuff with Kelsey, while some of it is very sweet, also feels a little manipulative. Since the movie is so short, you don't really get to see how Alan and Ben's relationship with Kelsey develops. It's like they give you just enough, but not enough to see how much of an impact these two had on this kid's life. After officially adopting Kelsey, after he spends 11 months bouncing from foster home to foster home thanks to Ben's sister, the film flashes forward several years to when Kelsey is getting ready to go off to college. Granted they do show you part of how they raised him in the post-credits sequence, but not enough to make it really emotionally satisfying. Again, it's very sweet but at the same time it's very manipulative. I almost hate to complain about this movie, because it's clear that its heart is in the very right place and it's a good movie, but I think that the film's dramatic aspects could've been handled far more maturely than they were. Still, it's a solid movie with a solid script and a great cast, so at least it's a good movie in spite of its faults.
½ July 25, 2013
good, but I've seen better movies of this kind.
½ July 4, 2013
This movie had so much potential! Great characters, room for character change and a nice blend of humor and drama. 90% of the movie was excellent. Unfortunately, once the movie hits its climatic point, it goes down hill fast. It's like the director and/or writer wanted to keep the movie under an hour and a half, and when they got to the 1 hour mark, they didn't know how to finish it in the remaining 20 minutes. Unfortunately, the ending of the movie really tanked and spoiled what was an excellent first hour of the movie. Dissapointing...
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ June 25, 2013
In "A Bag of Hammers," Ben(Jason Ritter) and Alan(Jake Sandvig, who also co-wrote with director Brian Crano) are a couple of con men who specialize in stealing cars from cemeteries. They figure that has to be better than the gig Melanie(Rebecca Hall), Alan's sister, has as a waitress in a waffle house. There is also Ben and Alan's sideline interest in real estate where they rent a house to Lynette(Carrie Preston) who can barely make ends meet or take care of her son Kelsey(Chandler Canterbury).

With a very good cast(Gabriel Macht is around here somewhere) and a refreshingly positive take on irresponsibility, "A Bag of Hammers" still cannot overcome its awkward blend of quirky and realism. First, if you are going to have quirky thieves, you need to have them steal quirky things. By comparison, no matter their modus operandi or how much they do not want to admit it to themselves, Ben and Alan are in the big leagues by stealing cars. On the other side, as the only places she apparently looks for work is from temp agencies, Lynette is badly underwritten, which cannot be improved upon no matter how much life Carrie Preston may try to futilely breathe into her. And without much in the way of a plausible story, that's pretty much it, except for one nice long shot of bad news being delivered.
June 15, 2013
A good storyline with some touching moments and a great movie for Father's Day. You may not fully believe the film and what happens, but that is what happens in movies sometimes. The characters are likeable and well-written, I would suggest this to anyone who is a fan of indie dramedies.
March 4, 2013
Accidentally came across this movie. It was really unexpected and beautiful.
March 3, 2013
It's a likeable, offbeat, funny, unexpectedly sweet film that defies certain conventions and is a bit of a pleasant surprise
February 20, 2013
LOVE! One of the best movies I've seen in a while.
½ February 1, 2013
I almost gave this movie 4-4 1/2 stars but... It seemed that the story was just their imagination... Like a dream. I felt tricked, like my emotions weren't valid because "it was all a dream". It would have been alright if they stated that at the beginning, but it was barely hinted at. Worth a watch, great performances, great story telling elements, heart warming.
Super Reviewer
½ January 30, 2013
Hitting all the appropriate marks and creating a vehicle for unknowns like Jake Sandvig and Jason Ritter, "A Bag of Hammers" may veer off into pure mimicry of Wes Anderson, but if you're going to imitate, you might as well imitate the best. There is deep emotion in this Indie that reaches the surface a hand full of times and every time it does, its like seeing a gorgeous dolphin coming up for air. Yes, Crano's debut is sometimes sloppy and sometimes predictable, but for the most part, it's completely enjoyable, helped strongly by cameos from the uber talented Amanda Seyfried and Rebecca Hall.
January 24, 2013
Very well cooked sentimental crap about unrealistic characters dealing with a sort-of realistic character and her son.
January 23, 2013
Strange that this is classified as a comedy, its really not... Some eye-rolling lines are stated early on and here and there but overall not too bad. Amanda Seyfried is literally in this for two minutes...so don't watch it for her sake!
Page 1 of 2