A Ghost Story Reviews

Page 1 of 14
August 7, 2019
It is a very interesting experimental piece, although not always convincing, but at least it is different in its intentions and fascinating in its beautiful composition. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 7, 2019
The aesthetic decision is so risky and so right at the same time that it ends up being the very core of the film. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 2, 2019
A parable for the triumph of human emotions rather than their defeat.
July 2, 2019
Lowery's film taps into basic human sentiments and also profound theories of metaphysics.
June 17, 2019
In the frequent silences and lingering shots, there's plenty of time for a viewer to reflect on Affleck's alleged sexual harassment of two women while filming I'm Still Here.
May 22, 2019
The point of this film is the isolation, the visceral mental strain of being alone and feeling alone.
May 21, 2019
The design doesn't take away from the tone of the film, though, and sometimes it walks the line of feeling a little too self-important.
April 20, 2019
Lowery introduces a narrative conceit to remove us from our traditional comprehension of time and leaves us to ponder what forces still operate in these conditions.
April 16, 2019
A film about memories, the vastness time, and our desperate need to own and to cling onto our little piece of history, David Lowery's film is one long lonely heartbreak.
March 30, 2019
Lowery's lyrical narrative will release you into the world a richer person. It's certainly the most evocative movie you'll see this year, and a strong contender for the best.
March 16, 2019
A compelling and deep story about sadness, loneliness and isolation. I felt like a train had hit me after this. [Full review in Spanish].
March 11, 2019
As a beautiful piece of art I admired it greatly and am still thinking about what it is trying to say and there's something to that.
February 28, 2019
Lowery has achieved a work with transcendent impact. Fascinating in its representation of non-linear time, focalisation of narrative and meditation on grief, A Ghost Story is sure to cast its spectral presence long after the credits roll.
February 11, 2019
Complicated ending; I liked it a lot...a bit in conflict with one specific theme of the movie, but in the right hands, its message will be very resonant.
February 5, 2019
It may be full of missteps, but David Lowery manages to pack quite a bit of substance into a style of hipster filmmaking very uninterested in catering to basic audience demands.
February 1, 2019
The film truly impressed me. Entangling, astonishing, and disorienting with its hazy, uncanny, spiritual viewpoint.
January 19, 2019
A movie designed to make you feel by a writer-director too afraid to simply let you.
December 20, 2018
A complex, dreamlike journey through the past, present and future, and one that makes you question your very existence in the enormity of the universe.
November 24, 2018
This film is trying to tell us to not become so myopic that we can't see what's going on around us. Take off the sheet and be free.
November 24, 2018
The ghostly figure in the bed sheet is the perfect metaphor for the film itself-it looks haunting and intriguing, but it's mostly empty underneath.
Page 1 of 14