A Letter to Elia - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Letter to Elia Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Super Reviewer
February 15, 2016
I think I saw this on TCM a few years back. It is also included in The Elia Kazan Collection DVD box set. Scorsese hosts this love letter to the cinematic legacy of Kazan. Elia Kazan started in theatre as an actor and developed into a Broadway director before being called to Hollywood. Scorsese talks personally about growing up and seeing Kazan's movies with characters and locations that were familiar to fellow New Yorker Scorsese. Lots of clips from the films included in the DVD collection are shared. This doc touches upon the House UnAmerican Activities Committee hearings, but is not as much about Kazan's biography as his films influence on Scorsese.
½ December 2, 2015
A very touching tribute from Marty to Elia Kazan.
April 23, 2014
wow brilliant.....amazing......i have just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch.......i think that the director of this documentary/tv movie had done a great job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.......i think that this is such a brilliant documentary movie 2 watch i think that this is such an enjoyable movie 2 watch.....i think that this is such a really well written/acted/directed movie 2 watch i think that this is such an enjoyable documentary movie 2 watch its such a brilliant movie 2 watch.....i think that this is such an enjoyable movie 2 watch.......i think that this is such a really powerful drama movie 2 watch its got a great cast thorughout this movie........i think that this is such an enjoyable documentary movie 2 watch its so really well directed movie 2 watch with a good cast throughout this movie......i think that this is such a fascinating movie 2 watch its such a brilliant documentary movie 2 watch its such an enjoyable movie 2 watch with a good cast thorughout this movie.......
½ February 23, 2014
Martin Scorsese's PBS documentary about the great American director Elia Kazan is much like it's title suggests, it is a love letter to the work of a great auteur. Scorsese's love and passion for this man's films is apparent. I've seen more in depth documentaries on auteurs and their work, but this was more a tribute than an exhaustive biography of Kazan's life and work.
March 10, 2013
Scorsese provides a mix between analysis of the films and a telling of his personal relationship to the films. Though most of the very short documentary seems like a re-telling of East of Eden, there are some heartfelt moments and interesting tidbits sprinkled throughout.
½ December 29, 2012
A brilliant, moving & personal look at the films & the film makers that inspired Martin Scorsese.
October 5, 2012
Indulgent documentary that serves to raise the profile of one Martin Scorsese's directorial influences. Good if you like seeing clips of classic films.
½ November 20, 2011
Scorsese really gets it, what it means to be a cinephile, to understand a movie for more than it's surface, take in the images and meaning and apply it to other things. His commentary here on "On the Waterfront" and "East of Eden", Kazan's best films, is both insightful and poignant.
July 25, 2011
Probably one of the best dedication documentaries I have ever seen. The way Scorsese discusses Kazan's work displays his true admiration, inspiration, and love for this great director. Scorsese isn't merely a person or director discussing the significance of the director; instead, he plays the role of someone who was truly inspired by the work. That is evident in the way Scorsese talks about not just the work, but the man. If you admire Scorsese, if you admire Kazan, this is the documentary for you. Made out of pure love and admiration from a true place.
June 12, 2011
Saw this as a part of the Sydney Film festival. This is a very candid, personal look at the influence of one of cinema's great directors on another great director. Very well told and concise. Goes into alot of Kazan's films particulary - On the waterfront, east of eden, a tree groes in brooklyn and america america. I'm a sucker for documentaries about film and particulary film directors.
June 8, 2011
A loving tribute to Kazan, and especially powerful because of Scorsese's close, personal connection to the pictures, if not the man.
March 28, 2011
Martin Scorsese to Elia Kazan: "It always had to stay between me and the movies, and the only way I can tell you how much you meant to me was by making movies" .
½ January 4, 2011
You truly feel Scorsese's passion for the man's work and admiration for the man himself.
½ December 3, 2010
More about Marty than Elia.
September 26, 2010
A great and personal film from Martin Scorsese. For those who love Elia Kazan's films, this is a real treat.
Page 1 of 1