A Little Bit Of Heaven - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Little Bit Of Heaven Reviews

Page 2 of 3
Top Critic
Randy Cordova
Arizona Republic
May 3, 2012
There is nothing the slightest bit heavenly about this project, which is wrong-headed in just about every department.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Andrew Schenker
Slant Magazine
May 3, 2012
Unsurprisingly for a film detailing terminal disease, this is a largely solemn affair, often verging on morbidity in its elongated death watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Matt Pais
RedEye
May 3, 2012
Sending Marley an escort who is a little person for comic effect represents a major foul; the guy saying people call him 'a little bit of heaven' is hitting the ball backwards out of the stadium.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Top Critic
Keith Phipps
AV Club
May 3, 2012
Bravely or stupidly, both A Little Bit Of Heaven and its heroine charge on as if the introduction of terminal cancer didn't change things that much.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
May 2, 2012
As embodied with clueless good humor by Kate Hudson, fatal sickness looks more like a lifestyle and wardrobe choice than a tragedy.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
May 1, 2012
Colon cancer isn't a great pretext for uplift or an occasion for Bucket List-style hang gliding, snappy dream-sequence banter with Whoopi Goldberg as God and a brief comic bit featuring Peter Dinklage as an escort.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Nick Pinkerton
Village Voice
May 1, 2012
A Little Bit of Heaven demands miracles of its cast to keep proceedings from becoming grindingly mawkish and does not get them...
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
May 1, 2012
What's missing is honesty. It has been supplanted by artifice.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
April 5, 2012
A romantic comedy about cancer. I've officially seen it all.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
March 3, 2012
As a cancer drama it is insultingly sickly sweet, as a comedy it's lazily written and executed, and as a romance it is void of chemistry and passion.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
February 25, 2012
Peter Dinklage is the surprise package in this mash up . . . in which his role of an escort with a reputation to deliver 'a little bit of heaven' brings a welcome lift and unexpected honesty to a film that crumbles under its own weight and aspirations
Shaun Munro
What Culture
December 31, 2011
Kate Hudson's career suicide continues with the devastatingly unfunny, tonally jarring A Little Bit of Heaven.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
September 29, 2011
romantikh kwmwdia poy mallon moiazei me makabrio asteio, kathws antimetwpizei me tropo afelh kai paidiastiko, mia astheneia poy sthn telikh den asteieyetai kai katholoy
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
James Luxford
The National (UAE)
September 1, 2011
Hudson wastes her opportunity to add more depth to her acting CV, while Bernal is not the right fit as a romantic lead.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
April 4, 2011
Shot in the style of a bland Hollywood rom-com, this film is actually a weepie drama with a bit of magical realism thrown in. It's such an odd hybrid that we're never sure whether we should laugh or cry. So we do neither.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Mark Adams
Screen International
April 4, 2011
There are certainly moments to enjoy here, and there is no denying Kate Hudson's charm and enthusiasm.
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
February 10, 2011
I had no idea colon cancer was so much fun!... It is so fantastic to be dying! Call it the Ass Cancer Life Plan. Every modern girl needs it.
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express (UK)
February 7, 2011
Manages to be both weird and boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Robbie Collin
News of the World
February 7, 2011
Rest assured I'm not going to give the game away as to whether Marley beats the disease. But given the movie's set in New Orleans - a place famous for its funerals - I wouldn't hold your breath.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Philip French
Guardian
February 7, 2011
A Little Bit of Heaven is not a film that I would ever commend to the ill, the well or to anyone in that grey area between.
Page 2 of 3