A Quiet Place - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Quiet Place Reviews

Page 1 of 15
April 6, 2018
While individual moments might be dramatically potent, the final result is narratively inchoate.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 5, 2018
Krasinski may take it all very seriously, but that doesn't make it serious. I don't think that's the movie's intended takeaway, but as I laughed my way into the aisle after it was over, it was the only one that seemed to stick.
April 26, 2018
The inanities it requires of its characters are pushing it even for a monster movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 12, 2018
A Quiet Place, John Krasinski's first horror movie, is kind of a laughable exercise.
April 4, 2018
As it stands, A Quiet Place is muted in form but also in its depth compared to progressive and subversive horror stories from various mediums.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 27, 2018
A Quiet Place may be reactionary, but it only wants to be entertainment, the same way Affleck and Gibson movies do. The goal in this one is effective horror.
April 5, 2018
"Quiet Place's" faulty logic its undoing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4.0
April 12, 2018
And for a film where sound is so important to the lives of the characters, Krasinski doesn't really pay all that much heed to the sound design of his film.
April 5, 2018
It's merely straight-up horror that drops you right into the situation... For me, that's not enough, not when the characters are as uninspiring as this lot.
April 18, 2018
Don't believe the hype. "A Quiet Place" is a plot-hole filled waste of time. Scary? Not even close. The groupthink virus continues to consume so-called critics.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
April 10, 2018
A clever monster survival film, but its bland characters didn't engage me even if well-crafted and intelligent.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 13, 2018
Yet I couldn't help thinking that if he really loved his family so much he would've pulled out.
April 9, 2018
Recent attempts at "smart horror" didn't offer up reality but they did have an internal logic for the world the films created. A Quiet Place fails this basic test.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 6, 2018
Way overrated M. Night Shyamalan-type sci-fi-horror hybrid with serious credibility issues and too many jump in your face moments.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 10, 2018
A Quiet Place is so unmoored from anything like subtext or complexity that without a keenly intelligent and efficient script, its seams start to show almost immediately.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 27, 2018
As a simple, modern horror, A Quiet Place demonstrates a deft and canny ability to turn the minutiae of everyday monotony into the stuff of nightmares.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 27, 2018
Krasinski co-writes, directs and stars in the smart, nerve-wracking gut-punch of a monster flick, A Quiet Place.
Full Review | Original Score: 4
August 27, 2018
Krasinksi proves an astutely skilled study in genre and manages to administer the difficult balance of emotional depth and high anxiety throughout the course of a simplistic metaphor on parenthood.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 25, 2018
Honestly, this is what the latest "Cloverfield" movie should've been.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 30, 2018
I think they did an awesome job creating tension with each sound, and the monster was great.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 15