A Serbian Film - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Serbian Film Reviews

Page 1 of 52
April 25, 2017
Heard of it in horror movies forums so decided to give it a try. Quite frankly, I was expecting more. The end is predictable so I wasn't surprised. Some scenes are hard to watch indeed. I guess my tolerance for rape and murder scenes has higher standards now. Not a movie for anyone under 18-20 FOR SURE!!!!
April 21, 2017
I Like The 18 Certificate From The BBFC.
½ March 24, 2017
If you ever have a chance to watch this movie, turn the other way and run as fast as you can becasue you can never unwatch this film. The cinematography is great and the lighting is just spot on. Acting is above average. The story is just twisted and sick. The form and plot really compliment the story well (Which only makes this film more disgusting). Never want to see something like this ever again.
½ March 11, 2017
a movie that had me not watch another movie for a while. so bäd, disgusting pointless filth. why!
½ February 20, 2017
Fuck this movie don't waste your time
February 17, 2017
It's a very well made movie with every element being very solid and polished. It's not a cheap shocker or a gimmick movie as some people try to insist. People try to marginalize it because the more transgressive scenes and situations involved make them have bad feelings. I feel sorry for them because they're too blinded by those few scenes which offend their delicate sensibilities to enjoy a well shot well acted story that does a great job depicting hopelessness, entrapment, and regret. It's unusual and satisfying to see such a quality production boldly reject conventional boundaries. There is not, and very well might never be, another movie anything like it. It's easily one of the best movies of the 21st century so far.
January 13, 2017
Más que por el factor conmoción, esto es basura por la inexistencia de sensibilidad artística: su aspecto general corresponde al de un catálogo de muebles, un comercial de automóviles o una sesión fotográfica familiar. 2/10
½ January 6, 2017
0/5 from me. The most vile, inhuman, sick abomination I've ever, and will ever see in my life. It makes the 2010 Spanish film Kidnapped look like Teletubbies. I usually like twisted horror/psychological thrillers of this kind, but this one went too far and made me want to do what the main character does at the end of the film.
½ November 29, 2016
A Serbian Film is truly a work of excess in every sense of the word. The violence is carried out in a very brutal, overbearing fashion reminiscent of a movie like Hostel. The sex scenes are trying very hard to be as disturbing as possible. In the way they're composed but also because in multiple scenes a minor (in one case an infant) is being raped. Let's be clear here I was not the least bit offended by this film. It is art. Pornography is art and this movie is pornography. My dislikes for this film are seemingly endless but i will try to keep it brief. The biggest failing of this movie is it's acting. It's dreadfully obnoxious and over the top. I found myself giggling at every one of these scenes that involved a murder or a rape due to the cartoon-ish way the actors carried themselves. They're performances would be more at home in The Human Centipede pt. 2 then in a movie that has the gall to show "newborn porn". And that brings me to my next point. At first I thought I was the problem and that these things should be disturbing to me even through these horribly overacted scenarios but I am most certainly not unshakable. Reading the works of Marquis De Sade truly makes me ill. That's the difference this movie carries these sadistic acts out with the thought and wit of a 15 year old who spends too much time on best gore. I don't know how to end this but I would also like to the add that I was not impressed by the storytelling in this movie nor it's grayed-to-shit look. I hate this movie but feel as if people who enjoy some of the New French Extremity movements less thought provoking films may enjoy this. Or pedophiles. But as always see for yourself.
½ October 24, 2016
An abomination to cinema
½ October 4, 2016
Lejos de caer en la típica película polémica sin sustancia, "A Serbian Film" resulta poderosa porque su cinematografía es sumamente precisa. Filme psicológicamente poderoso, que denota una importante investigación en el tema, y que utiliza recursos de la realidad para revelar el horror que se vive en el bajo mundo de internet hasta donde la cinematografía lo permite. De historia fina y fantásticamente desarrollada: no tiene cola que le pisen.
½ September 28, 2016
A literal torture porn (emphasis on porn). Artless, tasteless, gross, sexually perverse, uncomfortable, nihilistic, disturbing and just downright disgusting with absolutely no meaning whatsoever. Our main character is somewhat likable, which is just about the only positive thing I can say about this film. Pure exploitative schlock. I can see how some may find this film enjoyable, however I am not one of those people. A Serbian Film dares to push the limits of good taste so far that it tumbles off a cliff and explodes. It's the kind of film that leaves you desperately wanting to take a shower. I hated it.
½ September 5, 2016
Through the abhorrent violent and sexual content, I truly do believe that the storytellers at work are trying to say something meaningful about the industry that pornography has become. That being said, I can't, in good conscience, give this movie a higher rating than two-and-a-half stars, because of the way in which the film's shocking content borders on exploitative, rather than purposeful.
July 12, 2016
This movie is crazy, but it shows the limits to which reaches the human sexual discovery.
July 9, 2016
Una joda loca, sangre y no de manera divertida.
Una historia muy retorcida
July 6, 2016
This crosses so many lines and provokes ethics in so many ways that no supposed underlying meanings justify its depravity. Is its second half the sickest thing you'll possibly ever see on film? Yes. Is it worth your endurance? Just for the experience, if you can handle it.
½ July 4, 2016
It is a controversial movie, many to repudiate without even having looked at, the film really has desnessesarias scenes, but the way the drama is told, the soundtrack and the performance of the actor Srdjan Todorovic is good, and this critique in the movie is validates, we know all the atrocities that the Serbian people suffered with the snuff movies that were common during the handmaid civil war, and the film is a shew the way to the world, and some resources used by the director as sound mixing and defocusing the camera when Millos is doped causing the same discomfort in the viewer is sensational. Serbian Movie is not bad, its reputation is bad reputation that created by people who have never seen the movie.

It is worth watching because the film deals with issues that we always try to escape because they are the dirtiest parts of the human unconscious.
June 29, 2016
Continuing my journey to find the most outrageous and offensive films ever made i finally made it to viewing this piece of work. Although this wasnt the uncut version it still was disgusting and crazy enough to make you squirm while watching. The story centers around a aging male pornstar who is now married with a young boy. Struggling to make ends meet he is approached by a former co-star about a movie that is willing to pay him quite a bit of money. The Catch is, he doesnt know the story line of the movie he is shooting but the money is just too tempting. Soon however he finds out that the scenes he is filming involving a number of things from violence against women, children watching his sex scenes, and child birth/porn. The movie begins to crazier and crazier until its climatic conclusion. As with Salo, only watch this if you have a interest film in general and the limits to which one can direct or view.

7/10
June 28, 2016
An overlooked and far to much written of by the common viewer, a Serbian Film is an unpredictable masterpiece which is fairly misunderstood.
½ June 24, 2016
The grossest thing about this by far, is its profound mindlessness. The only success here is the literal depiction of what are, theoretically, supposed to be some of the most shocking scenes imaginable. But because the film is such a mindless one, no real connection to the characters is established and the general fakeness of all these images - is glaring. Despite the half-decent acting and effects. And as such, even the shock value is entirely lost. In short, this thing is just an utter exploitationist waste. Unlike 8MM for example, which does some very similar things - to far denser effect.
Page 1 of 52