A Serbian Film - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Serbian Film Reviews

Page 1 of 51
½ September 5, 2016
Through the abhorrent violent and sexual content, I truly do believe that the storytellers at work are trying to say something meaningful about the industry that pornography has become. That being said, I can't, in good conscience, give this movie a higher rating than two-and-a-half stars, because of the way in which the film's shocking content borders on exploitative, rather than purposeful.
July 12, 2016
This movie is crazy, but it shows the limits to which reaches the human sexual discovery.
July 9, 2016
Una joda loca, sangre y no de manera divertida.
Una historia muy retorcida
July 6, 2016
This crosses so many lines and provokes ethics in so many ways that no supposed underlying meanings justify its depravity. Is its second half the sickest thing you'll possibly ever see on film? Yes. Is it worth your endurance? Just for the experience, if you can handle it.
½ July 4, 2016
It is a controversial movie, many to repudiate without even having looked at, the film really has desnessesarias scenes, but the way the drama is told, the soundtrack and the performance of the actor Srdjan Todorovic is good, and this critique in the movie is validates, we know all the atrocities that the Serbian people suffered with the snuff movies that were common during the handmaid civil war, and the film is a shew the way to the world, and some resources used by the director as sound mixing and defocusing the camera when Millos is doped causing the same discomfort in the viewer is sensational. Serbian Movie is not bad, its reputation is bad reputation that created by people who have never seen the movie.

It is worth watching because the film deals with issues that we always try to escape because they are the dirtiest parts of the human unconscious.
June 29, 2016
Continuing my journey to find the most outrageous and offensive films ever made i finally made it to viewing this piece of work. Although this wasnt the uncut version it still was disgusting and crazy enough to make you squirm while watching. The story centers around a aging male pornstar who is now married with a young boy. Struggling to make ends meet he is approached by a former co-star about a movie that is willing to pay him quite a bit of money. The Catch is, he doesnt know the story line of the movie he is shooting but the money is just too tempting. Soon however he finds out that the scenes he is filming involving a number of things from violence against women, children watching his sex scenes, and child birth/porn. The movie begins to crazier and crazier until its climatic conclusion. As with Salo, only watch this if you have a interest film in general and the limits to which one can direct or view.

7/10
June 28, 2016
An overlooked and far to much written of by the common viewer, a Serbian Film is an unpredictable masterpiece which is fairly misunderstood.
½ June 24, 2016
The grossest thing about this by far, is its profound mindlessness. The only success here is the literal depiction of what are, theoretically, supposed to be some of the most shocking scenes imaginable. But because the film is such a mindless one, no real connection to the characters is established and the general fakeness of all these images - is glaring. Despite the half-decent acting and effects. And as such, even the shock value is entirely lost. In short, this thing is just an utter exploitationist waste. Unlike 8MM for example, which does some very similar things - to far denser effect.
June 19, 2016
On the fo realla......... it's a twisted and off the wall movie, not sure i get the full meaning of all the imagery, but the acting was appaulingly sincere and well performed.
April 24, 2016
Yes A Serbian Film is a masterpiece! although it is extremely disturbing and rather inhumane.... it's cinematography, soundtrack and cast is all on point! The subject matter is just unbelievably dark but also a bit ridiculous like it's politically taking the piss out of real life situations kind of thing. The movie keeps you hooked every second of it whether you like it or not.
April 22, 2016
Following in the footsteps of Salo + Cannibal, one may argue that narrative is lacking in this film, thus making it look like true snuff. The main cause of concern is the exploitation of children. If you've seen the uncut version you'll know what I mean. The scene with the son-rape did look very real ; I pray it was actually prosthetic ! Either way, how do you explain to a (9 year old ?) that he's acting in a kiddie-rape scene ?
April 18, 2016
Disturbing in so many levels you can't imagine. This movie crossed so many lines that I can't imagine I will ever unseen again.
½ March 17, 2016
A Serbian Film is definitely one of the most disgusting, sickest, shocking and depressing film I have ever watched. I didn't "enjoy" it a bit but I believe it will become a cult classics and will raise lots of debates about it's political and social metaphors in the future.
February 20, 2016
A very well done movie. Brilliantly acted, nicely shot..... with the most unsettling subject matter I've ever seen. This is a film that confuses the brain - it's a good movie THAT I NEVER WISH TO SEE AGAIN. I think the people who said this movie didn't bother them at, all should be evaluated by a mental health professional. I don't recommend this movie to anyone. I sought it out, and now it can never be unseen.
February 15, 2016
i'm rating this 4 stars because this film does it's job extremely well. that being said, i will never watch this movie again and i don't recommend that anyone else watch it either. The story is very sick and incredibly disturbing. i knew that going into this film and i've watched many disturbing movies before, but this one takes the cake. i don't think anything would've prepared me for that ending. my mouth literally dropped and my stomach rolled into and ontop of itself; i felt really icky after watching this film. i'm fairly certain that was the purpose of it; to show just how sick people can be when it comes to money and sex. definitely gives perspective if nothing else. but if your stomach isn't churning after this one, then i'd suggest you see a therapist.
Super Reviewer
½ February 14, 2016
It is unbelievable that Spasojevic had the guts to say that there is a political commentary in this grotesque and repellent piece of torture porn that seems to have no other purpose than to shock and be polemic, raping the viewer with a sickening amount of heinous violence.
February 3, 2016
Não assistam.... se assistirem... me digam sua opnião.
January 25, 2016
A Serbian Film focuses more on being grotesque and repulsive than it does on building story or emotional connection to characters... And it shows. On the other hand, I believe it makes a strong artistic statement as a film. This drug and sex fueled thriller takes its viewers down the rabbit hole, rough and unsettling though it may be. How far will you go?
½ January 12, 2016
Please don't watch this if you want to have any faith in humanity.
Page 1 of 51