A Very Long Engagement - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Very Long Engagement Reviews

Brian Costello
Common Sense Media
January 4, 2012
Beautiful WWI love story with gruesome battle scenes.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
December 23, 2008
A Very Long Engagement is Jeunet's most accomplished effort- if not necessarily by far, given his illustrious filmography- because it crosses the barrier between his world and invades ours.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Top Critic

Entertainment Weekly
February 27, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Douglas Pratt
Movie City News
July 20, 2006
A satisfying, novel-like film about a woman searching for her fiance at the end of World War I
Grim Ringler
JackassCritics.com
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
August 28, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jeremy C. Fox
Pajiba
July 23, 2005
As in Amélie, Jeunet moves outside the central plot to fill in details and add resonance and the sense of his world continuing beyond the edges of the frame.
Rory L. Aronsky
Film Threat
July 16, 2005
We movie buffs are being rightfully spoiled by a company that knows how valuable the stuff in our wallets really is.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Preston Jones
DVDTalk.com
July 14, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5

Reel.com
July 13, 2005
| Original Score: 3.5/4
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
July 11, 2005
I kept thinking as I was watching the movie that I should have been liking it more, given its sublime artistic virtues.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Boo Allen
Denton Record-Chronicle
July 10, 2005
Astonishing tale put together with craft and precision. The DVD offers several behind the scenes looks, including one that covers the entire filmmaking process.
Full Review
Fred Hong Joo Jung
Korea Times
July 6, 2005
A Very Long Engagement is an admirable cinematic epic by any standard...
Full Review| Original Score: B
Dennis Landmann
MovieFreak.com
July 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10

Empire Magazine
July 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Pete Roberts
DVDActive.com
July 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine
July 3, 2005
The image is gorgeous, the sound is astonishing, and the supplemental materials are solid.