About Schmidt - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

About Schmidt Reviews

Page 2 of 10
April 9, 2003
...planos fijos, tomas largas, un ritmo pausado y una sutil observación de sus personajes, sin estridencias ni grandes revelaciones.
April 5, 2003
This is Nicholson's most mature work and along with FIVE EASY PIECES and ONE FLEW OVER THE CUCKOO'S NEST, the one for which he will be best remembered.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 31, 2003
Delivers bittersweet comedy and a heartening message about the ever present possibility of finding significance in the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
March 30, 2003
Some may choose to interpret the film's end as hopeful or optimistic but I think Payne is after something darker.
March 20, 2003
'La actuación de Jack Nicholson mueve a la ternura y la compasión. Verdaderamente entrañable.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 18, 2003
Hard to say what aspect of the film I found most disturbing ... the realization that [the character] resembles my Dad ... or a hot tub scene with a naked Kathy Bates.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 5, 2003
Aceptable, pero una de esas que sin ese cast se iría sin pena ni gloria directo a verla en video...
March 4, 2003
Payne once again shows his deftness with the damning or heartbreaking details as his cast brings across a tidy masterpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 21, 2003
What "About Schmidt" gets right are the small details of a life not so much lived as existed.
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 18, 2003
I walked out of the theater not giving a darn about Schmidt...
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 13, 2003
Ultimately, it's in scenes where Schmidt's grief and emotional shock are evinced that Jack shows he's worthy of the plaudits which so freely come his way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 11, 2003
Tale of Midwestern late-life angst is a triumph for star Jack Nicholson -- but a step back for co-writer/director Alexander Payne.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 7, 2003
There's something not only funny, but ultimately satisfying about seeing Jack Nicholson in "About Schmidt" in bed with a women his age...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 4, 2003
Nicholson makes a mediocre man wondrously memorable and is proof to the story-teller's golden rule that every life hides a story (or two).
February 1, 2003
No film this year is more successful in rousing real feelings and reactions.
January 29, 2003
Warm in its loving yet unforgivingly inconsistent depiction of everyday people, relaxed in its perfect quiet pace and proud in its message. I loved this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 29, 2003
I absolutely loved this film.
Full Review
January 27, 2003
It's the power of Nicholson the actor, not Jack the movie star, that we see here, and what's perhaps most remarkable is that an extraordinary, vanity-free performance - what ultimately might be Nicholson's very best - emerges from such a thoroughly ordina
| Original Score: 3.5/4
January 26, 2003
Writer/director Alexander Payne (Election)and his co-writer Jim Taylor brilliantly employ their quirky and fearless ability to look American angst in the eye and end up laughing.
January 26, 2003
A strange and fascinating balance of compassion and satire, riotous laughter and quiet drama.
| Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 10