Across the Universe Reviews

Page 2 of 5
February 3, 2008
It's a dicey proposition to reverse-engineer a story, and Across the Universe shows the strain...[nonetheless] a very impressive music-video anthology. [DVD review included.]
January 9, 2008
While the story is not entirely coherent, the great Beatles music and numerous effective cast musical performances makes up for the film's narrative weakness.
December 6, 2007
Uma obra frustrante, mas suficientemente curiosa para merecer uma pouco efusiva recomendao.
November 7, 2007
Thoroughly entertaining and delightfully tuneful, this fun little film will have you singing to yourself for days afterwards.
November 2, 2007
It's more than a nostalgia trip. The real pleasure lies in Taymor's ability to make it all seem brand new.
October 27, 2007
Julie Taymor's adventure in Beatle-land is a huge success, ripping the songs that defined a generation and its (dashed) hopes for peace in a microcosm of a love story
October 25, 2007
This addictive and ambitious little pic will help you remember why you loved the Beatles so much in the first place.
October 24, 2007
A magical mystery tour with the power to restore one's faith in both movies and music.
October 24, 2007
The Beatles will certainly want to drive across the city to see Across the Universe.
October 23, 2007
Two thirds amazing, one third off-putting and boring psychedelia, but the amazing stuff generally wins out.
October 22, 2007
Beatles musical hits strong notes amid sex, drugs.
October 19, 2007
It's beautiful, moving, silly, strenuous, overreaching, exuberant and one of a kind.
October 17, 2007
You need to know right up front that I'm a music junkie, a person who cannot stand to go very long without hearing music I love. Although I count hundreds of musicians among my favorites, The Beatles are in my top 10.
October 17, 2007
Julie Taymor's Across the Universe is an imperfect film, but it's still five-full-stars' worth of imperfect film.
October 11, 2007
Just as often silly as it is clever.
October 10, 2007
In this amazing tribute to baby boomers and Beatles fans everywhere, Ms. Taymor has filled the screen with eye-popping music videos that actually tell a story - not stop it.
October 9, 2007
A movie made by Beatles obsessives, for Beatles obsessives . . .
October 5, 2007
Across the Universe isn't beholden to any stage incarnation. It owes its vision to the vibrant imagination of its director, who created a musical that reminds us how cultural-political events can change our tune.
October 3, 2007
[A] visionary attempt to wed a story of young love and 1960s war protest to the Lennon-McCartney catalog.
September 30, 2007
This lavish labor of love constantly walks a slender thread between masterpiece and folly, but when all is said and done, it confirms, for me, Taymor's status as a master.
Page 2 of 5