Ad Astra Reviews

Feb 23, 2022
Ad Astra is rooted in a human drama that unravels somewhere between Earth and the rings of Neptune, two stations as distant as the storys father and son.
Oct 18, 2021
Episode 49: Hustlers / Ad Astra / Two Lovers / ALTIPLANO
Sep 20, 2021
I loved that it really centered on Brad Pitt's character, and his journey... I personally think [Tommy Lee Jones] is a little bit wasted.
Sep 5, 2021
While on a quest to discover other intelligent beings in this galaxy, Ad Astra instead tells us that there are still plenty of discoveries to be made in the people around us.
Aug 13, 2021
...the build up is more effective that the take-away, which isn't quite as rich or developed as the quest...
Jul 26, 2021
It's thrilling, adventurous and beautiful to look at, while also provoking deep philosophical and emotional questions in viewers along the way.
Jun 25, 2021
Ad Astra is first-person cinema at its finest: an intimate, insular study of tortured masculinity, pulsating with an air of gentle melancholy that tugs at the heartstrings.
Jun 24, 2021
Ad Astra is visually stunning as well as emotionally devastating.
Apr 29, 2021
A sci-fi masterpiece as thought-provoking as it entertaining.
Mar 25, 2021
It's worth watching, especially if you enjoy a space film, but it just doesn't quite add up to a perfect cinematic equation.
Feb 17, 2021
Ad Astra is an extraordinary film that contains a vision for the future that's both appealing and cautionary, as well as a technical wizardry that makes our solar system feel reachable and wondrous at the same time.
Jan 31, 2021
Pitt, in a largely non-verbal performance save for copious voiceover, shows his emotions through the cracks, allowing the character to reveal himself in the contemplative but compellingly unsettling way.
Jan 29, 2021
A powerful meditation on fathers, sons, and masculinity, Ad Astra profoundly deconstructs a traditional character archetype with a deft hand.
Nov 10, 2020
Pitt's wicked combination of movie star allure and acting talent make you buy into this gripping father-son space drama, which marches to the beat of its own drum.
Oct 19, 2020
Ad Astra is more a father son story wrapped up in an existential exercise than it is any traditional sic-fi film.
Sep 23, 2020
A seamless mood piece about loneliness, colonization, and fatherhood and ranks highly among the current onslaught of space movies.
Jul 24, 2020
There may be alien life out there, but sometimes we have to appreciate the life right in front of us.
Jul 7, 2020
An introspective, philosophical, and moving film, with ideas that shook me and left me breathless. [Full review in Spanish]
Jul 1, 2020
This is a deep (though not complex) and emotional film that only achieves full force in a darkened room before a large screen.
Jun 27, 2020
While it won't be everyone's cup of tea, especially paced as it is, Ad Astra is a true work of science fiction art.
Do you think we mischaracterized a critic's review?