Adam's Apples - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Adam's Apples Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 12, 2007
The movie is all surface, loudly clamoring for attention and then losing its voice.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 2, 2007
Go-to screenwriter for the Dogma 95 collective, Danish writer-director Anders Thomas Jensen hits a decidedly sour note with Adam's Apples.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 8, 2008
A film that asks us to have a pretty high tolerance of easy stereotypes and most of its comedy comes because you're not sure what else to do but laugh. When the ironic reversal kicks in, the film turns semi-serious and gets, if anything, a little boring.
Top Critic
March 17, 2007
Adam's Apples strives for black comedy, but winds up being neither funny nor spiritually enlightening.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6
February 24, 2007
I just wasn't, it turns out, the ideal audience for man's allegorical way of dealing with the demonic weightiness of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 16, 2007
Smart-aleck comedy and spirituality aren't incompatible, but in Adam's Apples they cancel each other out.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
March 13, 2007
A noxious, flippant mix of snark and biblical allegory.
March 16, 2007
I'm sure there's a decent black comedy in the material, but Adam's Apples, by Danish director Anders Thomas Jensen, isn't it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
April 10, 2007
Its screenplay attempts to blend outrageous black humor with biblical allegory in an ultimately unsuccessful fashion.
April 12, 2007
Some will see this as a movie about how we're all God's children. I saw only the misanthropic fulminations of Jensen's runaway ego.
March 16, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 6, 2007
With the most bizarre characters we have seen in film for quite some time, this strange comedy leaves the viewer constantly off- balance.
Full Review| Original Score: 7/10
March 28, 2007
Deliciously profane, dark and somber, Denmark's Adam's Apples is fiendishly ripe for the picking.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
October 14, 2007
Horis na dokimazei Dogma-tika tis antohes soy, den einai liges oi fores poy tis apsifa paizontas me to rythmo, eno i halari ploki einai profanes oti den endiaferetai kai idiaitera na soy dosei heroylia na piasteis
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 12, 2006
Jensen doesn't pretend it's cute and/or harmless -- there's a fascinating ambiguity to the happy fantasy laid over the misery and failure.
February 5, 2008
The actors play this darkly funny material as if they are in a deadly serious Shakespearean drama, highlighting the situation's many absurdities
Full Review | Original Score: 85/100
March 15, 2007
For all its roughhouse antics, Adam's Apples is almost improbably sweet: a rude comedy that the devout and heathen alike can hold to their breasts.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 13, 2007
Jensen is an accomplished screenwriter with a knack for developing people amid comic nonsense.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 22, 2006
We have a comedy black enough to make even the most jaded viewer cringe a little.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 6, 2006
An odd, blacker-than-black comedy that's almost impossible to describe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 2