The Adjuster - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Adjuster Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 19, 2014
now this one was frustrating; i've got bits and pieces swirling around in my head but no interest to piece 'em together.
to borrow a phrase from someone, it was "weird for weird's sake".
my least fave atom egoyan.
September 8, 2013
It looks like Egoyan is not for me. I see the world he creates or rather the vision of our world he shows on the screen. I get the message about us being alienated and lonely, without any attachment or link even to each other or the reality really. It's just that I don't feel it. This vision in the way he pictures it doesn't get into me.
½ June 3, 2013
Oh my Lord! This was a mess from start to end! This is a movie with uninteresting character, absurd (in a bad way) circumstanses and a gloomy atmosphere to top it all, just to make us think that we 're watching a David Lynch film in search of something familiar and actually great. This feel like it is Egoyan's "Matador". A dark film made by a future auteur (I haven't decided if Almodovar is actually one) who is still finding his voice and fails miserably at every turn. But at least in "Matador" there was a murder mystery to keep us reeled in! In this one the characters have their obsessions but they are not explored well enough in order to give us a good picture of their perverted nature. The film wants to show a broken, strange family that basicaly commits suicide with their everyday routine. This could have been done in a short film and we could have skipped all the turds of sequences that are found in this film. Sadly this is a bad film.
Critique Threatt
Super Reviewer
August 18, 2012
Atom Egoyan is one of my fav filmmakers. He has written and directed movies about damaged, isolated characters surounded by media and technlogy and the complex nature of human sexuality. "The Adjuster" is one of those films that explores those themes. The only problem was I had an almost difficult time trying to figure out what was really going on.

Noah (Elias Koteas), the hero, is an insurance adjuster. He walks into people's lives after they have been devastated by tragedy, and tries to figure out how it can be fixed. Hera(Arsinée Khanjian) who is married to Noah works as a film censor, sitting in a darkened room looking at pornographic images while secretly recording them. Noah has a bad habit of sleeping around with his clients while Hera has a habit of videotaping porn to show to her sister since after all, they are very close.

There is also the married couple Bubba (Maury Chaykin) and Mimi (Gabrielle Rose) both enjoy rolepalying or playing house with each other in a sort of weird perverted way. There is an early scene with Chaykin disgusing himself as a homeless man on a subway train, almost passes out but helps himself to a seat. A lady in a red sits right besides him taking his hand and putting it under her crotch. Another scene where Mimi becomes a cheerleader, dances and teases in front of a football team.

At first I didn't know how these two were and what was the motive but as the film progresses it became clear. That's the Egoyan touch. When Bubba and Mimi meet Noah and Hera. They have met their ultimate fantasy and in the final scenes we see how damaged Noah and Hera become. Noah and Hera have been adusting people's lives and now they have been victims of being re adjusted from meeting Bubba and Mimi. "The Adjuster" is a strange film and a little difficult to follow but it's very well shot and nicely made and the ominous music by Mychael Danna (who has scored music for Egoyan since "Family Viewing") sounds pretty amazing. Atom Egoyan uses a bit of comedy and then gets serious by slowly peeling the layers off so that by the end, audiences should sort of have an idea to the puzzle.
May 27, 2011
Are you in or out? I'm in.. Maury Chaykin was fantastic.
May 23, 2011
recommended by littlemissbloodandguts.....
½ March 11, 2011
Even now, I'm not too sure what to make of this film.

It looks great.

The casting is perfect and it is well acted.

Elias Koteas looks great in this film.

I had no idea what was going on and only kind of do now.

Hmm... good movie, but... what else to say?
½ January 21, 2011
Another weird Egoyan Film.
January 20, 2011
The lives of some very unconventional people meet under lurid circumstances in this sulky, dark story full of atmosphere and irony.
½ November 21, 2010
A strange Canadian David Lynch-ish film from Atom Egoyan.
October 31, 2010
One of the strangest movies I have ever seen! Atom Egoyan is the David Lynch of Canada. Maury Chaykin deserved, at least, an Oscar nomination.
September 10, 2010
salam shoma khobid plz asl
July 4, 2010
Mon préféré d'Atom Egoyan, je crois que c'est un film complet et qui exploite très bien les faits et gestes de ses personnages.
January 24, 2010
These Egoyan flicks get stranger and stranger!
December 5, 2009
if u're willing to invest some time and patience into this film then u definatelly won't be disappointed. typical atom egoyan. it's complex, deals with minorities, hard to understand from early on, but eventually it really becomes something brilliant. one hell of a dysfunctional family. need some adjusting there?:) watch it again.
November 25, 2009
Another auteur-style movie that challenges standard movie conventions. It's certainly strange and slightly disturbing at times, but at the same time it's actually quite humorous. For some reason I could not keep a straight face during the scenes of the supposedly twisted films the characters kept watching. The acting was really great overall and the movie itself is a really great exploration of taboo themes.
Super Reviewer
½ November 23, 2009
Great combination of sound, plot and characters. While it seems to be meant as an unsettling film, I found it to be quite inviting. Yes it's bizarre, but it has a very realistic quality about it (even though the characters were incredibly phony) that is true to life. It's a great piece of film making and a unique style.
November 8, 2009
Atom Egoyan at his best. Very creepy and disturbing for the uncanny interest in porn, sadism or even snuff movies, that it seems to arouse (at least in me!). The slow pace adds to the creepiness. Love the way all characters connect or can be connected.
August 7, 2009
A dark, menacing film that reminded me a bit of Harold Pinter, although not nearly as dialogue-driven. Egoyan has a thing for mythological allusions that lend the film a certain mysticism and murkiness. He doesn't explain everything clearly but the powerful feeling of renewal stays with you after the credits roll. I will be revisiting this one.
Page 1 of 3