Africa United - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Africa United Reviews

Page 2 of 5
October 31, 2011
another good African movie. good family fun.
October 30, 2011
I thought this was going to be really good but it's like it was made by social workers with a cunning plan to do an AIDS awareness film disguised as a movie about football. Every five minutes they have to interrupt the story with a message about the importance of wearing condoms.
October 22, 2011
Mukavan lämminhenkinen roadtrip.
September 11, 2011
Excellent story of 3 friends from a village in Rwanda and their journey through Africa to the opening ceremony of the World Cup in 2010. Really enjoyable throughout and the child stars are absolutely brilliant, especially Eriya Ndayambaje as the orphan 'manager' of his talented footballer middle class friend. You'll be cheering for them by the end! Guaranteed.
June 19, 2011
I went to see it yesterday and it's the best children movie I've seen on africa since the lion king
½ June 18, 2011
A feel good family film, with quite a bit of charm and humour. It was fun and there was some good use of animation in parts too.
June 18, 2011
Obviously not aimed at me, but enough colour and movement to get by on charm alone.
½ June 13, 2011
A feel good family film, with quite a bit of charm and humour. It was fun and there was some good use of animation in parts too.
½ June 13, 2011
Won the preview tickets to this movie. It is a feel good movie. There's quite alot of funny scenes. The fresh castings of the kids is good. Roger Nsengiyumva loves to play soccer and is rather good. His best friend/manager Eriya Ndayambaje is really funny and good with stories, He is also good in using condom, plastic bag and strings to make a ball. He dotes on his little sister Sanyu Joanita Kintu who aspire to be a doctor. Roger is juggling the ball and caught the attention of a scout of the 2010 world cup, inviting him to play for africa united. He knew his mum will never allow him to go. Next day Roger, Eriya and his sister still go for the trip. Eriya tries to save money for the bus but ended up in Congo. They were bring to the refugee camp, where they met Yves Dusenge, a child soldier. He told the trio they will be waiting to get chosen as soldier and should follow him to escape. At night, 2 guys went in to find Yves, but the 4 took their jeep and escape. But the captors chase after them. They ran into the jungle and hike all the way. Roger saw the bag of money and now know why are they chasing them. They reach the beach and got a boat. Finally reaching the other side, Sherrie Silver who works in a resort nearby sees them. They were not welcome until Yves show the boss the money bag. They get to rest and enjoy for that short while. Everyone had afternoon nap and the boss took the bag and chase them away. At night, the gang plot their revenge, with the help of Sherrie, who was treated like a whore anyway. The 5 of them are together for the journey. The captors caught up and beat Yves. He knock the gun and kick it to Roger. He shoots and injure a captor. Sherrie took the gun and ask the captors to leave with their money. That's when they know Yves is a child soldier. They were walking and saw a camp to test for HIV. And they could get money for it. Sherrie is afraid she maybe positive but turns out she is ok. They reach a village and were chase by the local children gang for Eriya briefcase. In the end, Roger's soccer boots are exchange for the briefcase. The journey goes smoothly. Eriya use the money to exchange for another currency which is actually worthless and not in use anymore. Roger scolded his stupidity. At night Eriya got sick and next day send to hospital. Sanyu is lucky to have the chance to study for free at the local school. Eriya actually is HIV positive but lied to the others. He still want to continue the dream to world cup. The sister remain for the studies. They reach the border but without any proper documents, they ry to sneak past and was caught. The police didn't believe their stories. When Roger tries to get the ball back from the soldiers, the police saw his skills and make the phone call to verify their stories. He personally drive them to the venue but the guy who approach them was busy to meet them. Eriya got weak and send to the medic. That's when the guy saw Roger and give him a place for the opening. Their dreams are granted.
April 17, 2011
Var ret negativ over denne film på forhånd, men den viste sig faktisk at være ganske okay :) Ikke en klassiker eller noget i den stil (overhovedet) men et bevis på at film ikke altid behøver et budget på 974 milliarder for at være fed ... Faktisk langt fra altid ... Nå men ja, den kunne da godt ses :)
April 14, 2011
We all remember the World Cup last year in South Africa. A colourful , noisy event that promised so much but turned out to be a damp squib.
That description pretty much sums up Africa United.
This film looks great and promises to be a good road movie but it washed over me.
It's a film that has far to many stereotype's and is sugar coated to the extent that strangely i wanted to see some real hardship and suffering or even some humour - Vital ingrediants in a road movie. - Not a Chance in Africa United.
One plus point is the acting of Eriya Ndayambaje who plays Dudu. he certainly has a future in the business. as for the rest I'm not so sure.
Disappointing.
March 30, 2011
Excelente filme, e que espero que sirva para as pessoas não se esquecerem do que é viver em ?frica...
½ March 27, 2011
Extraordinary film which showcases the diverse natural beauty of Africa in juxtaposition with some of the challenges like HIV Aids and poverty. It is sad in some parts, funny in some, and serious enough to have sociopolitical undertones. While the setting is sometimes sad, the film is positive in its outlook and promote good social messages particularly evident in the high spirit of the 13 year old narator and central figure 'Duddu'. It is a must see,
March 21, 2011
film of the decade!!! according to someone on the lichfield road!
The13xxx
Super Reviewer
½ March 15, 2011
Taking place during the World Cup madness period 2010, we will see the journey of three kids who are willing to travel miles away from home just to enter South Africa and kick some ball. Along the way, they meet few other kids their age and begin to call themselves as a team. The extra ordinary thing about this movie is the main characters, their innocence and passion is just refreshing! And the African backdrop also helps to build a strong atmosphere. Another thing that amaze me are the actors, this kids are good! A must watch for someone who want to see something different for a change.

7.8/10.
March 13, 2011
The only way I can describe this film is by saying it is utterly and completely African - it has the true spirit of the African people behind it. It deals with some incredibly serious issues, AIDs, child soldiers, trafficking and the sex trade of teenage girls, and yet I did not leave the cinema feeling sad - because it had this remarkble African spirit surrounding it, with the ever powerful and optmistic voice of the continent .
The acting was incredible, particularly from Yves Dusenge, the scenery as they move from country to country is breathtaking, the use of colour and music is vibrent and very much reflective of the culture - and the use of animation for the story the children were telling each other was perfect.
I fail to understand why this film has got so many terrible reviews, maybe I am biased due to my love of Africa and its ability to deal with increbily sad and compex issues with such a kind hearted nature and a determined heart of a people unwilling to give up on hope and love and peace.
But I really don't think that is it, I just think most audience failed to grasp the message of the film - that these things are happening in the world, and to children, but even with this darkness there is still hope. And that is what I took away from this film, hope - and an even stronger love for Africa.
March 1, 2011
LOL, interesting movie!
January 13, 2011
Could take it or leave it.
December 10, 2010
Defintley go and see this film !!!
Page 2 of 5