Efter repetitionen (After the Rehearsal) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Efter repetitionen (After the Rehearsal) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ June 2, 2015
Efter Repetitionen is a haunting film ridden with guilt, Bergman's guilt; of many lives, including his own, sacrificed for the sake of his art. It's a worthy low key conclusion to the main film making period of one of cinema's greats, a mea culpa of sorts.
½ June 5, 2013
Ive always been a big fan of Lena Olin and to finally see her in this makes me an even bigger fan. The particularity is that she is the daughter of Stig Olin who bergman directed i nmany movies so her caracter discussing with the theater director (ostensibly bergman and played by longtime colaborator erland josephson) in a set of circumstance that mirrors real life brings it an extra dept. It unfolds like a stage play, all shot on the stage, after the rehearsal and the back and forth is pityless, mesmerizing and escalates with a strange and magnificient performance yet again by Ingrid Thulin, in a story that seems like a musing of bergman over how he himself chose art over life and may have done some damages on the way. The final sequence where the 2 leads create for themselve an alternate reality, ultimately with the intent to get the actresses creative juice to flow maximally while keeping the director still away from potential drama in real life, wraps the whole story in a very fullfilling way. Unforgetable, and to be seen more than once.
February 19, 2013
So personal it almost hurts (but hey, the man directed a movie called 'Persona'). But as I always say, a Bergman a day keeps death away. What a filmmaker, and an artist - this is one of his most naked works, and seeing it again I'm reminded how good Erland Josephson was. Lena Olin rises to the challenge too, long before she became a semi-known Hollywood talent.
Super Reviewer
½ May 27, 2012
With "After the Rehearsal," Ingmar Bergman limits his tools to one minimal set and just three speaking parts. Erland Josephson stars as Bergman alter-ego Henrik, a veteran "difficult" director who's not shy about bullying actors to get what he wants. He's sitting onstage in an empty theater, lost in contemplation, when actress Anna (Lena Olin) enters. The two have an ambivalent relationship mixing attraction and resentment, and soon are drawn into a long discussion about their own bond as well as the general dynamic between a director and his cast. This obviously serves as a platform for Bergman venting many of his personal ideas and frustrations. But Henrik is also the ex-lover of Anna's late mother Rakel (Ingrid Thulin), a volatile actress who drank too much and erratically veered between arrogance and insecurity. As her foibles are debated, the film's middle detours into an extended flashback conversation between she and Henrik. To add a surreal touch, the set never changes and Anna reverts to a silent, pubescent girl. For the third section, Henrik and Anna wrap up their dialogue, climaxing in an electric exchange where they spontaneously imagine future events as if brainstorming a fresh play. "After the Rehearsal"'s stiff construction is bound to alienate many viewers but, with a 70-minute running time, it's not a rigorous test of one's patience. And Josephson and Thulin are magnificent, of course, just as they were in so many earlier Bergman projects.
January 22, 2010
A highly theatrical movie about acting, both on stage and in one's persona. But it's TOO theatrical: characters come to insightful revelations at the drop of a hat, and talk in a weighty, existentialist, abstract manner. Thulin's performance is a frustration: even though the viewer knows she's obviously supposed to be overly dramatic, it still irritates. It's all kinda boring, and I felt like I would have gotten more out of it if I was more interested in theater. But Josephson is terrific.
½ August 15, 2009
Not available on dvd or Netflix. Ordered VHS copy from ebay. powerful moviemaking. 74 minutes long. Though this film was originally made for Swedish tv it is no second rate production from Bergman. It is small, tightly constructed-- played in one set - the stage on which ''The Dream Play'' is being rehearsed - and has a cast of three. They are Henrik Vogler (Erland Josephson), the aging director now working on his fifth production of ''The Dream Play''; Anna Egerman (Lena Olin), Henrik's very young, pretty, ambitious leading lady, and Rakel (Inrid Thulin) an over-the-hill, once-great actress, now made unreliable through drink, who has accepted a humiliating two-line role from Henrik, a former lover.
Though ''After the Rehearsal,'' produced for television, runs only 72 minutes, it's as much a survey of the human frailties of those in the Arts and drama Departments as Strindberg's play, even if that condition is seen from Mr. Bergman's particular point of view which is always the despair and psychological study. His words are so powerful as the actors utter them that its as if they are talking in a dream world as we humans almost never talk such psycho- bable to each other (or do we?? Maybe in the 70's they did while on LSD or today in the self introspection & character defect stuff of the AA NA or other 12 step rooms). The babel is such a physiologically profound utterance that I am always in a spell when I watch Bergman films. The artist/director is here (Volger) napping in the theater is woken by Anna daughter of his long time friend (and his friends wife was also his mistress). She is now an actress like her mother and somewhat famous. There with her he reviews and recounts some of the personal happenings of his time in the theater-and himself and her mother. The theater is his life and he otherwise is a solitary old man. They discuss at length Ann's mother and she appears in a long dream at the end of the play. She is dead from alcoholism. This young Anna is wanting to become sexually involved with him and he is saying no. After his long years toiling in the theater but not acting all else in life is an illusion. This is a very heavy psychologically laden 70 minute conversation they have. I am just aware of no one in the history of film whom makes films like Ingmar Bergman. Most viewers should shy away from this as it would probably seem a dull bore and also not recommend for families. AFTER THE REHEARSAL, directed by Ingmar Bergman; written by Mr. Bergman; director of photography, Sven Nykvist; edited by Sylvia Ingemarsson; produced by Jorn Donner; produced by Cinematograph for Personafilm/ Munich; released by Triumph Films, a Columbia/Gaumont Company. Running time: 72 minutes. In Swedish with English subtitles. This film is rated R.
July 2, 2009
I'm stunned. What a great film! Full of deepness, thinking cinema. A great background plot, in a basic scenery, with just three actors, and just one place. I recommend this movie to any Bergman's fan.
May 8, 2009
Minimalistisk, dialogdrevet tv-film av Bergman. Kanskje noe av det mest fascinerende jeg har sett av ham - den utforsker på bergmansk vis den følelsen av at det ligger en tragisk, absurd meningsløshet i livet.
½ March 15, 2009
Although Bergman made this for television, you get the feeling that it is basically a filmed stage play: three characters on a theater stage in realtime. Despite short running time and few characters, you have to concentrate to figure out the relationships. Terrific cast, especially the beautiful Lena Olin.
March 13, 2009
A peek on a gloomy theater director and his reflections on life, aging, theatrical art and truth. The whole movie takes place in one scenery, an old theater stage. The film has a feeling of a theater show with only three characters, main focus is on the dialog of deep melancholy of an aging director and his flirtatious actress, that pays him a visit after the rehearsal. I've found most thought-provoking the ending scenario, when the two builds together a set of future events that will be brought about by an affair of the two, a course of events starting from a flirt and leading to their demise.
August 30, 2008
Mia tainia gia tis sxeseis ithopiou skinotheti. Exei mmia theatriki mageia pu maresei!!!
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
½ August 30, 2008
Excelling tribute to memories and...fading desire.A great t.v. movie and the first one after Bergman's official retirement with Fanny och Alexander.The name Vogler is not a surprise to Bergman fans,moreover the story itself looks as if it's a race for the elderly theater director's life,closing accounts before his imminent (?) death.
Super Reviewer
July 22, 2008
Outstanding performances and direction.
July 20, 2008
Bergman is definitely my favorite director!this film is simply excellent!
½ February 25, 2008
Great movie about the world of theater and acting. Nothing like the crap we have to see every day.
½ December 20, 2007
no need to talk about the acting, the 3 adtors are just amazing. but ive got to say Bergman is the key of this movie, this movie is rather a film or iu can call it a play but only showing on tv screen. such a clever director work, Bergman, i salut you.
December 18, 2007
My favorite Bergman.
November 14, 2007
Dope movie with that little extra Bergman-paranormal that he's so revered for. Powerful actors play actors in this study of the lives and actions of actors.
September 5, 2007
An extremely theatrical film with incredible acting and typical stellar Bergman writing.
Page 1 of 1