Efter brylluppet (After the Wedding) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Efter brylluppet (After the Wedding) Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 29, 2007
Evidently, this bloated piece of Oscar-nominated nonsense was a big hit in Denmark, which makes me think there's a glittering future in that otherwise discriminating country for several seasons of Days of Our Lives.
April 27, 2007
Just when we start to find these people interesting and credible, the plot tosses us something we don't believe for a minute.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 12, 2007
[The] handheld, digital camerawork provides an ultra-realistic, immediate feel, but also highlights the film's cautious, dramatic sidestepping.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 29, 2007
Crisply written and acted soap opera from Susanne Bier, but vague in its intentions.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 30, 2007
Dark secrets eat away from within, but after 120 minutes of self-loathing this soapy tale fails to engage with either genuine mystery or genuine reconciliation.
| Original Score: 6/10
March 13, 2007
I hereby declare a moratorium on any such filmmakers entering India in hopes of preventing any further culturally condescending journeys into the white man's heart of darkness.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
September 23, 2006
This melodrama about a miserable Good Samaritan (Mads Mikkelsen) staring down a difficult (and heroically contrived) ethical dilemma gets soapier -- and dopier -- as it goes along.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 21, 2007
Who'd have thought a Danish soap opera would be as bad as an American one?
September 23, 2006
At two hours, After the Wedding stretches out family flux too thinly and waits too long to reveal the final, devastating secret that we already know.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 30, 2007
Script takes one melodramatic turn too many, ultimately pushing the film's characters around like so many pieces on a chessboard. What begins so promisingly ends on a decidedly soapy note.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 31, 2007
After The Wedding could be the cinematic equivalent of a Coldplay song. And while that isn't necessarily a slam, it isn't a recommendation either.
Read More | Original Score: B-
March 31, 2007
Bier's insistence on adding even more melodramatics into the mix feels like a mistake.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
April 13, 2007
In my book it's high camp -- a thrill ride for emotion junkies.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 19, 2013
There's nothing quite as devastating as tragedy treated with sharp and precise Northern European restraint.
May 31, 2007
Lovely, dense and surprising.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
May 18, 2007
...a highly entertaining film that manages to be brutally honest about human motivation and the compromises we're willing to make to hold onto the people we love for as long as we can.
Full Review | Original Score: 89/100
April 10, 2007
This is a fine tale of families and secrets, and its seemingly cold exterior gives way to something unexpectedly warm and soft inside.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 20, 2007
For once, the bigger the emotion, the truer the moviegoing experience.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 30, 2007
A thrilling -- and harrowing, and beautiful -- celebration of the unpredictability of life.
May 7, 2007
On its own terms and apart from the awards hoopla, AFTER THE WEDDING is a decent, if flawed feature that works mostly due to the efforts of its talented cast.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 6