Aimée & Jaguar - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Aimée & Jaguar Reviews

Page 1 of 10
July 17, 2016
I only saw 1/3 of it.
November 10, 2014
Beautiful film! Deeply touching, tragic, war, forbidden love, a wonderful eternal message---all very human!

A seemingly true story, or inspired by actual events, since the film is based on the memoirs of one of the characters Lily Wurst. This poignant story is brought to the screen with some incredibly potent direction and very moving performances. The sequencing of time periods is really well done as it helps to ground the film in the impact 50 years later of a taboo love story from WWII Nazi Germany making it even more compelling. This was a gem of a find on Netflix.

"I'd be satisfied with one single moment so perfect, it would last a lifetime. ...For example, this one here is great. I don't want forever. I want now! Now! Now! Now! I want loads of 'nows' and I want them tip I turn old and gray."
A great message about the grandness of life, if you are present to when it really happens---Now!
½ July 26, 2014
Super histoire d'amour ...
Super film !
½ February 20, 2014
AIMEE & JAGUAR tells the tragic story of a doomed love affair between a Jewish lesbian and the wife of an SS officer. While it does get a little too melodramatic in parts, overall this is a touching story with great performances across the board, a beautiful score. The only technical aspect I didn't really care for was that the film looked very made-for-TV, however the movie was directed by someone who has mainly worked in German television. The special effects were ok, with some good explosions when Berlin is being bombed (this takes place towards the end of WWII). Generally speaking, the production values are decent but don't really approach the level of a large studio film. Highly recommended to those who like WWII movies, particularly dealing with unorthodox/uncommon subjects, and anyone who likes a good love story.
January 2, 2013
Tear-jerking and really intriguing thanks to the fabulous performances and great cinematography.
½ November 7, 2012
Simply amazing. One of the best same-sex movies I have seen. Set in a time that this kind of thing was highly forbidden, but certainly worth the watch.
September 7, 2012
the book was so good, but they overused the lesbian theme so much, so the movie is really in the line of pornography.
July 11, 2012
Went into this film expecting nothing, but wow. The love story is secondary to the setting (Berlin during WW2), making it all the more meaningful.
April 16, 2012
My favorite romance. This film has more raw emotion than every other romance i've seen combined.
March 25, 2012
absolutely in love with this movie. it takes a look at an untouched topic during that era and exposed a new outlook on love and war
March 19, 2012
These actors are excellent! Unique and absorbing true story, and the tension between the personal foreground & political background threatening it is well-done. Also, HOORAY for a film about women that finally doesn't look like it was blatantly made by a straight dude with no conception of sensuality. My only complaint is that the last 1/4 drags a bit.
½ March 18, 2012
what a love story. the German actress that is maria schrader was very entrancing as 'felice'.
March 14, 2012
A film I have heard about on the peripheral and I think I should look it up.
½ February 9, 2012
Contains a brief moment of a character's utter heartache, and is one of the most profound portrayals of utter despair that I've ever seen on film.
½ October 22, 2011
not your typical world war II lesbian love story. i thought the acting was really great. interesting story although it would of been nice to know exactly what the one chick was doing for the resistance since this was based on a true story. but thats a minor point and doesnt really take away from this moive.
August 12, 2011
Another gem from Max Färberböck.
February 14, 2011
One of the few Good Newer German Movies!!! Excellent Love Tragedy between a Jewish Woman and the Wife of a Nazi in WW2 Berlin!!! I love Lesbians and Lesbian Scenes!!! Great Cinematography, Soundtrack & Acting!!! Maria Schrader is so Hot!!!
½ February 14, 2011
Magnifique histoire d'amour aux prises avec l'histoire. Cruel, triste mais merveilleux.
Super Reviewer
February 8, 2011
nominated for best foreign film at the golden globes
Page 1 of 10