The Alamo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Alamo Reviews

Page 2 of 33
March 16, 2014
I have it on dvd so i see it soon.
½ January 18, 2014
Aside from the embarrassingly clichéd, dramatized execution of Davy Crockett - in which Crockett spouted the most ridiculously cheesy one-liners and Hollywood conveniently placed as the last death of the 189 fallen Texians - this whet my whistle for a movie with historical accuracy. I was impressed with the film's ability to convey the meaningfulness of the Battle of the Alamo, which only looks like a lost cause if uninformed about its context. Without this Alamo battle, Texas would be a part of Mexico, and without this Alamo film, its story still would not have been done justice.
January 4, 2014
It was a great movie! IN MY OPINION!!! I love history movies!!! LIKE THIS ONE!!!
January 3, 2014
All three stars were earned by Thorton's Davy Crockett ... The film's only redeeming quality.
December 2, 2013
Quite a production, and Billy Bob and Quaid each deliver quite a performance.
½ October 23, 2013
Remember all the bold performances and realistic war sequences in The Alamo!
September 30, 2013
The Alamo oozes with so much uber-patriotic drek it makes The Patriot seem like a sober, objective take on the Revolutionary War. That's not to say this is all bad, though. There should be some admiration for the meticulous detail that went in to re-creating the Alamo and the history of this battle. I also thought most of the leads, notably Thornton, Wilson & Patric, performed well & delivered interesting roles. Dennis Quaid, as he has since the turn of the century, remained disappointing. The Alamo is mostly build-up, with the last 20-25 min. or so dedicated to the battle. There seemed to be a decision against glorifying war, but this movie IS about that battle, and what ultimately appeared was a hasty letdown. There was little drama in the fight to anchor our sentiments to the final fates of Crockett, Bowie and Travis. They fought, they died, the end (except Crockett, who went out screaming as a captive, but you don't see anything after the start of the execution). It's a thin line, wanting accuracy with entertainment, war without graphic, almost pornographic brutality, but in a war movie there has to be some brutality - heartwrenching to remind us of who fought for what and why, and to remind us of the horrific reality of war. This movie shows some guys egging on the Mexican army to fight, apparently unaware of the pants-shitting terror to come. But when that terror does come, it's toned way down. Guns fire, people fall, noise, but no blood, no grime, all cut with shots of women crying and a couple men cowering. Then came that final battle with Gen. Houston. It was even worse than the Alamo because it was more rushed with a minimal amount of thought put in to Houston's strategy to trap Santa Anna. When the moment comes, it happens in a confused rush with a bunch of Texans shooting fleeing Mexicans and a couple of worried faces. Then, as if the producers realized how long the film was running, they throw in a couple of captions to explain Santa Anna's face. All nicely wrapped up. I'm nerdy enough to say I enjoyed the history lesson leading up to the Alamo battle, and gaining some new understanding of the key players. It got boring, but held my interest early enough that I couldn't say this is a bad movie. I don't know if The Alamo needed 90+ minutes to explain nearly everything, including the film's hero Travis, before getting to what we all really paid to see.
September 2, 2013
Had to finally watch this as a history buff but it felt like a slow death, knowing what I already know. Familiar with most of the actors but wasn't sure how to connect with them. Tried to stick to historical accuracies rather than the acting itslef which was better that was it seems. Glad I got it's retention in the end.
July 29, 2013
Great Movie! Is beautiful in everything.
July 25, 2013
A bit too "talky," and lacking in background. Also, it's sometimes hard to remember "who's who." All in all, not a bad western, and a seminal moment in American history.
½ June 26, 2013
The Alamo (2004)

Having grown up with the John Wayne and Fess Parker versions, I found this movie of the famous massacre to be pretty good. Disney produced this movie so you know it's going to be good despite stories of how they cut it up.

Billy Bob Thornton's portrayal of David Crocket really made the movie and I highly recommend the movie just for him. Crocket is a simple man who is shadowed by his own legend.

Dennis Quaid's Sam Houston was also very good, trying desperately to fight off the enormous Mexican army of Santa Ana (Emilio Echevarría), who was known as the Napoleon of the West. In this movie, Santa Ana is portrayed as a cruel despot.

The film also covered the Tejanos who, although they were Mexican, were unhappy with the Mexican government that they would join these Texian low-lifes in their revolt. Sad-eyed Captain Juan Seguin (Jordi Mollá) said it best that, "The enemy of my enemy is my friend."

The movie continues on with the battle of San Jacinto. This is well worth watching if you get the chance.
½ May 28, 2013
Good battle scenes are featured here in this film.
May 8, 2013
Historically moving and quite educational
May 3, 2013
Despite impressive production values and an amazing & exciting reconstruction of the titular battle, Hancock's historical drama about the legendary Texan patriots is overlong and undercooked, with flat characters that never feel human, despite the quality actors involved, not helped by flimsy dialogue that lacks personality and a poor attempt at trying to explore the Mexican troops and their infamous general, ultimately coming off as cartoon bad guys.
April 28, 2013
This is an amazing movie. As an interpretation of historical events which are shrouded in myth and almost two hundred years of debate, it is remarkably credible. Its look and feel are profoundly historically accurate. The performances are uniformly fabulous.
All the characters are multi-dimensional and wholly believable. Billy Bob Thornton should have won the Oscar for his touching portrayal of Crocket. My wife and I avoided this movie due to all the bad reviews. When we finally saw it, we were flabbergasted. See this film and judge for yourself. The critics were wrong. -- Leonard Pipitone
April 14, 2013
A respectively grand scale for a film of its type but ultimately falls short in the interesting department do to dull execution and lackluster dialogue that doesn't fire the audience up or inspire them like a film about this topic should.
½ March 30, 2013
It's epic and has a great cast, but it's fairly boring overall. It's a shame, because I'm a huge fan of director, John Lee Hancock's 'The Rookie'.
½ March 14, 2013
Stuck true for the Alamo story and Billy Bob makes a cool Davey Crockett but it could have been done better in production.
½ December 19, 2012
Though it provides rousing battling sequences, The Alamo does not overcome it's boring characters and tedious pacing
December 15, 2012
80%
The Alamo is almost as good as the movies in its genre, strongly acted by Billy Bob Thornton and well directed as well. The fall of Alamo is well picturised in this film with a lot of good stunts, the climax battle after the fall of Alamo could have been shot in a more convincing manner, so is reducing the length of screen play. Its only given poor reviews cause it bombed in the box office.
Page 2 of 33