Alice Adams - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Alice Adams Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 23, 2016
A Brilliant comedic and poignant film.....Don't miss servant Hattie McDaniel at the hilarious and disatrous dinner party.....Made 4 years before her Oscar winning performance in GONE WITH THE WIND.
December 27, 2015
Katharine Hepburn plays a young girl whose family is at the low-end of the social scene in their town, thanks to her father's loyalty to a local business. Still, a young man gets interested and Alice's attempts to play-up her family's situation are both laugh-out-loud funny and tragic all at once. Any Jane Austen fans will recognize the same witty satire of the upper class, and those who try too hard penetrate it.
½ August 12, 2015
An early film by director George Stevens. it features Katharine Hepburn at her most innocent and charming. She is the best reason to watch it, and it does have something to say about people's perception of themselves in society. It looks a little awkward today,but it still is a worthy classic.
½ November 15, 2013
"young people should leave there troubles to the old ones, and concentrate on good times", how can i not like this movie ha! This film really shows how our culture has changed. Katharine hepburn is a fine actress but not very attractive to me, and certainly not when compared with her daughter. A feel good film where you root for poor (literally and figuratively) Alice.
February 6, 2013
If only they were able to keep the ending Hepburn and director George Stevens had wanted, Alice not winning the man and having to go out and fend for herself in the world. Sure it's not romantic and isn't the cookie cutter happy ending such films were used to but it would have made one hell of an ending. Hepburn plays the subdued and doughy eyed Alice Adams who must rise above her family's financial situation to bag herself a man, competing with the likes of other young women who come from families of wealth and privilege. Classic comedic scene at the dinner table makes this an entrancing oldie.
Super Reviewer
January 19, 2013
Booth Tarkington's book about class distinctions came out in 1922. The George Stevens' movie in 1935. As I write its 2013. That's a lot of water under the bridge, as they say. Kate Hepburn's character, a young woman desperate to bridge the class gulf society has set for her, willing to do all in her power to cross that divide ... I found shallow and despicable. She lies, she puts her family through hell, all to "get" oblivious MacMurray (as the objet d'desire), who never seems to question her endless machinations. The dinner scene, the height of tension in the film, where everything goes wrong, is still the best thing about the work. Maybe they should remake it ... ?
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
December 31, 2012
Katherine Hepburn is a shining sun from beginning to end, giving away one of the finest female performances of the 30s in American cinema. Personally, I have always loathed the "family is money" motto and similar thinking; the characters in Alice Adams are not necessarily agreeing with that mentality, but rather see it as a way of surviving in a stupid society that ranks you according to your wealth and useless etiquette mannerisms and modals. Things haven't changed much since then.

98/100
December 14, 2012
I expected more from the great Hepburn, but she did manage to broke my heart at some times...
½ August 4, 2012
With a very young Katharine Hepburn, this story seems as common as the ages, but surprisingly hasn't been done to death. After all, when trying to muddle through a charade of pretending to be rich and distinguished, there's always the chance that the person you're doing it for really doesn't care.
July 14, 2012
Romantic and charming, this slightly cheesy period piece suffers only from its time discrepancy. Artistic and superbly acted, this TCM Essential is perfect for the old movie lover, the viewer intrigued by the classics, and the Katherine Hepburn fan alike.
May 20, 2012
8,5/10 Good. Very good performance by Katherine Hepburn, touching story
½ April 7, 2012
Cute and fun romance. Katherine Hepburn was at her best, this film showed me her appeal as she stole the show. Her family also had great characters that made the embarassment of her introducing her beau truly painful. I of course will always love Fred MacMurray after all his great Disney roles, it was great to see him next to Hepburn.
½ March 29, 2012
aside from a charming performance from katharine hepburn, there isn't much to write home about. "alice adams" has some enjoyable scenes, but overall it's quite forgettable.
½ January 5, 2012
A happy ending far from the way the real world works... Hattie McDaniel's few moments were so great! Some "archaic" language and stereotyping from the times...
July 26, 2011
Seems interesting enough for a viewing or two.
½ June 12, 2011
Hepburn is outstanding. It is a nice little story about a poor girl who tries so hard to be part of better society. The gentle story ambles along to an obvious conclusion. That sounds like a terrible thing to say but it is still very watchable.
½ June 5, 2011
quintessentially a romcom in bw
½ May 17, 2011
Alice's desperation to rise above her class repulses in addition to eliciting sympathy.
March 9, 2011
Kate the Great..pretty good movie.
February 23, 2011
Such a silly story but so much fun. Hepburn shows the beginning of her amazing talent here. Rest of the cast is great too. Am I the only one who thinks that Kristen Stewart looks a lot like a young Katherine Hepburn? Maybe its just me.
Page 1 of 4