Alien - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Alien Reviews

Page 3 of 6
September 22, 2004
Still one scary mother.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 24, 2004
...a movie so good, so involving and so jolting that it not only takes is place among the great science fiction films of our time, but also the great thrillers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 16, 2004
Ripley, the protagonist of Alien, has more in common with our Puritan ancestors than with us.
February 5, 2004
Alien looks amazing, almost like a new film.
February 1, 2004
This is still a great film and it should be seen on the big screen.
January 27, 2004
Alien is a scare machine that really works.
January 27, 2004
Hoo ha! Twenty-four years later, Alien still kicks some serious butt.
January 27, 2004
One of those rare, timeless movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 15, 2004
Superbly paced, imaginatively designed, consistently suspenseful and never attracts an unintentional laugh.
January 15, 2004
Ridley Scott's new cut won't change the way people think about the movie, but it reinforces the film's strengths without alienating the series' biggest fans.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 15, 2004
This is still the stuff of nightmares.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 15, 2004
Ridley Scott's 1979 movie is a great original.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 31, 2003
Scott can still get me to jump by putting me almost on edge and then throwing me overboard with a small but loud hiss or from something that leaps out of the darkness.
November 29, 2003
It's a most satisfying return to one of the few sci-fi films that deserves to be called a masterpiece.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
November 21, 2003
Remains one of the best examples of sustained tension. There is a sense of ominousness, a sense that something bad is going to happen, from the moment the film begins.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 9, 2003
Besides Weaver and Skeritt, the top-notch ensemble includes two of Britain's best actors -- Ian Holm, as the untrustworthy science officer, and John Hurt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 8, 2003
The film remains as gripping today as it was when it was first released in 1979.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 6, 2003
At the risk of sounding like an old man, they really don't make 'em like this anymore.
November 5, 2003
It's one of the greatest sci-fi movies ever made.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 4, 2003
A lot of horror/thriller directors assume that people see a movie for the blood and guts. However, the splatter means nothing if we don't know the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 3 of 6