The Alphabet Killer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Alphabet Killer Reviews

Page 1 of 21
September 2, 2017
A great story ideas, but it needed another draft or two. Too many loose ends. Dushku overacted and there was not a great amount of screen presence in the actors.
January 16, 2017
It feels like it couldn't decide rather to be a supernatural ghost story or a true crime drama thriller and in the process ends up failing at both.
January 5, 2016
A smidge of overacting and story wasnt all that great.
March 30, 2015
The idea was great, a homicide detective who gets too involved with her case. The result was, frankly, boring. The use of ghosts to visualize Eliza's psychosis was unneeded. Trust the actor, or don't employ her! A movie that could have been good in the right hands.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
A true story based movie much like the "Zodiac" about a serial killer on the loose. This movie could have been more intense with more thriller moments but its decent and quite interesting to follow. I like these type of movies so i have watch many of them. Give it a shot if you are into these flicks aswell.
September 9, 2014
Are they really exploiting the true story of a child-killer in the Hollywood manner to the point where it makes it look cool that the killer got away? A freaking child-killer? I am tired of all these serial killer movies that make serial killers look cool. It glorifies
psychopathic murders. It sickens me. Luckily this movie went under the radar because it wasn't even a well-made movie in the first place.
June 17, 2014
a lot of fun for people of rochester + eliza dushku is Amazing as always
½ April 27, 2014
ok if your board I suppose
April 27, 2014
really good film good twist to it aswell enjoyed it
January 8, 2014
A ten year old girl is found brutally murdered outside the small blue-collar city of Rochester, New York, and obsessed police detective Megan Paige (Eliza Dushku) suffers a mental breakdown while trying to solve the crime. But when the child-killings resume two years later, Megan's return to the investigation also brings back her own horrific hallucinations. Even if she can prove a 'double initial' connection to the slayings, will she hang onto her sanity long enough to catch a psychopath?

also stars Cary Elwes, Timothy Hutton, Tom Malloy, Michael Ironside, Bill Moseley, Larry Hankin, Tom Noonan, Brian Scannell, Carl Lumbly, Melissa Leo and Jack McGee.

directed by Rob Schmidt.
November 16, 2013
True story but holy shit the acting was boring I want to kill the female cop myself for a bit of suspense. Had some potential but essentially it was an epic failure.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
½ August 15, 2013
The Alphabet Killer was a dull, boring and totally unimpressive psychological horror film based on real facts. The film fails to be interesting and the performances are poorly delivered. I felt bored most of the time watching this, and considering that this is based on real facts, I expected something much better than this. The movie was not worth seeing, and it could have been made much better. This is the type of film that had the potential of being much better, but the filmmakers rely on a poorly written script that just fizzles out towards the middle, and the film ends on a bad note. This is a film that definitely needed to be much better because of the fact that it's based on real events. The tension on-screen, and ultimately horror is not quite there, and it just ends up being a waste of time. The Alphabet Killer could have been a much better film, but the filmmakers have crafted a dud that will surely displease genre fans. I really wanted to enjoy this film, but it was just an awful mess that failed to be entertaining. If you're looking for an effective horror film, you won't find it here. This is a bland affair with a poor storyline and no redeeming qualities. If the film would have been rewritten a few times, then the film would have been much better and not the pointless mess that it turned out to be. The Alphabet Killer is not worth your time. Watch something else instead; you'll be glad you did.
½ July 18, 2013
A beautifully shot film that had every opportunity to be good. Sadly, the lack of violence and plot development in The Alphabet Killer will put you to sleep almost instantly. Also, holy full-screen.
June 6, 2013
Slow and dragged on! Acting is sort of ok, it really was like watching a crazy person running around, not very entertaining. And the killer wasn't scary and nothing was really revealed.
May 3, 2013
Less about the killer than about the crazy fictional character investigating the killer...
April 24, 2013
interesting idea..liked it!
April 7, 2013
This serial killer thriller just isn't very thrilling. The story plods along, with the police saying the right things but not acting as if they much cared whether they caught the killer or even the right suspect. Most of the actors seemed to mail in their performance which is disappointing with the talent on hand. Dushku tried her best to keep it real, but the stagnation around her was overwhelming. Mmm, Eliza Dushku <3
½ March 30, 2013
Based on a true story but, literally too close to home for comfort... Horrible acting & very boring.
½ February 24, 2013
incomplete movie.... i guess it should be more developed... i don't know... the idea is good but it is not enough, in my opinion
January 22, 2013
Great cast, but amateurish writing and not much better directed. This film is considerably silly and egregiously weird in Dushku's visions. Anyone else notice the similarities to "The Pledge"?
Page 1 of 21