Am I Black Enough for You? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Am I Black Enough for You? Reviews

Page 1 of 1
July 3, 2009
The old fella's still got it, but you'll wish you knew more about him.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 3, 2009
It's clear that there isn't enough imagery to cover the narrative. This is a 50-minute radio programme stuck in 90 minutes of pixels.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 3, 2009
Am I Black Enough for You is a brain-curdling essay in docu-sycophancy.
July 3, 2009
Olsson, a Swedish enthusiast, doesn't manage to resolve the questions or even convince me that they're interesting enough to sustain a whole film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 3, 2009
It all boils down to a complete lack of focus on the part of the film-makers. Not only do they fail to get their questions answered, they also run out of material so disastrously.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 3, 2009
There's not enough about the conflicts between Paul and those who controlled his records but this is a fan-like yet not too oleaginous tribute.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 3, 2009
An affectionate and thoughtful portrait of an artist.
July 3, 2009
The film succeeds in making us want to check out the singer's back catalogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 3, 2009
A touching story, relatively well told with the bonus of a fine backing track and eloquent interview subjects.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 3, 2009
Slightly woolly overall, though you might find yourself buying the CDs. I did.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 3, 2009
This illuminating doc looks back on the Philly singer's life and times. It reveals a vast talent who lost his way through a combination of drugs and bad business decisions.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 3, 2009
Despite a few structural problems, Am I Black Enough For You is an engaging and ultimately uplifting film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 3, 2009
Philadelphia's soul legend Billy Paul takes centre stage in this intriguing documentary, which teases out the nuances of his complex and often painful career.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 3, 2009
An intriguing documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 3, 2009
The feeling that the film's subject has been over-stretched isn't helped by some crass overdubs of Paul's live performances. Authenticity starts at home.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 1