Amarcord - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Amarcord Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 26, 2011
Sweet and endearing for many, irritating and tedious for others.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
December 13, 2009
[S]imply nonsensical to me. Fascists are idiots, Catholic priests are clowns -- I agree with this. So why don't I feel it?
December 22, 2009
Continues to resemble something a lewd, grouchy, fitfully indecent silent-movie director might have made for his first time using color and sound. That, at least, would explain the shouting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 27, 2009
Bloated, overblown and essentially empty, Fellini's last hit movie skims over the surface of the lives it depicts, substituting manufactured sentiment for genuine feeling or understanding.
September 8, 2013
Fellini's ability to compose a frame that oozes baroque drama and vitality is almost unparalleled and Amarcord more or less succeeded for me in evoking a time period through the eyes of a young boy...
January 15, 2004
A totally accessible film. It deals directly, hilariously, and sometimes poignantly with the good people of this small town.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 27, 2009
I'm not sure how Amarcord played in the '70s, but now it feels like an affectionate parody of Italian movie conventions.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 17, 2009
Amarcord is Fellini's scrapbook of memories culled from his own life and it is completely engaging and delightful.
July 27, 2007
Makes me feel like a boy everytime I see it.
| Original Score: 5/5
January 16, 2009
What's so surprising about this film is just how loose and effortlessly enjoyable it is, despite all its ideas and images. It's one of the director's very best.
April 27, 2009
Fellini is so bountiful with incident and observation that he makes most other film makers seem stingy.
December 3, 2008
This Fellini opus is his most accessible to mass audiences since La Dolce Vita.
February 13, 2009
He [Director Fellini] leaves us with the hope that the human comedy just may be able to survive everything.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 19, 2001
It's the more fanciful and lighthearted first half of the film (obviously a big inspiration for some of Woody Allen's work) that works the best.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
September 24, 2001
Fellini's whimsical and tender semi-autobiographical film is one of his best works.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 27, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
March 1, 2009
It's one of the noted Italian directors more vibrant films that captures him at his most playful and incisive.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 10, 2016
Fellini shoots much of the film in muted colors that seem slightly out-of-focus, as if he were attempting to transport us into a dreamlike state.
Full Review | Original Score: 82/100
June 4, 2004
| Original Score: 4/5
February 3, 2006
One of Fellini's wisest, warmest and most wonderful.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 3