The Amazing Dr. Clitterhouse - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Amazing Dr. Clitterhouse Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ February 28, 2016
An interesting twist of a late 1930's Gangster Movie. Great cast with Humphrey Bogart and Edward G Robinson.
½ May 22, 2015
really quite entertaining, preposterous, and funny. RObinson is a delight as a "mad scientist"
October 27, 2014
I really enjoyed this off-the-wall gangster comedy by Warner Brothers, pitting Edward G. Robinson against Humphrey Bogart, with the former trying to scientifically study the fundamental nature of crime. A real howler I know you'll get a blast out of! Crime might not pay, but it sure can be educational! =)
½ May 20, 2013
Apart from a lot of sniggering about the awesome title (in particular, wondering what the alternate porn title is), I knew very little about this film until it crossed my path on the weekend. Perhaps I've read about it before in one or two of countless movie lists, but until the film started, I actually got it confused with another B&W title called Dr. Caligari - a creepy horror film, supposedly. So this weird noirish crime drama came as a surprise, in more ways than one. Edward G. Robinson does a great job as a priggish professor obsessed with psychoanalysing criminals, to the extent that he becomes one and Bogie is fun in a hard-boiled early role as a mob heavy. There a more than a few dashes of both broad and black comedy, some more successful (and less dated) than others. The film is pretty absurd and the most absurd thing about it is the abrupt ending. But it's also pretty original, and often interesting, and I reckon ripe for a modern remake. And not just as a porn title...
½ April 6, 2013
Edward G. Robinson Rocks; Bogart in hoodlum mode; A fascinating film in many ways--Zippy Crime Story!!
March 12, 2013
Edward G. Robinson plays a respected doctor who decides that the only way to truly understand criminal behavior for an academic study he is writing is to become a criminal himself.

This film is a real treat. It's funny, creepy and suspenseful, all at the same time. Robinson begins to enjoy being a criminal, and his detached approach to crime makes him capable of committing murder without a second thought. Is he sane or insane? That's the question a jury must answer at the film's climax, and one the viewer still won't be able to answer after the movie's over.
½ November 23, 2012
Bogie and Edward G. Robinson. absolute classic.
½ August 22, 2012
Edward G. Robinson is great in this film. The film revolves around a doctor who is intrigued by the world of crime. The script is original and has some great moments, the court room scene at the end is a bit much. Humphrey Bogart is also good here in a supporting role.
April 6, 2012
DONT KNOW IF I'D CALL THIS A 'COMEDY' BUT DEFINATELY SOMETHING DIFFERENT FROM EDDIE G
February 13, 2012
Is he "sane" or "insane"? Robinson eventually questions his answer to this. Sure it's far-fetched, but if you like Robinson and or Bogart you'll like this film. It's mindless brain candy. The fact that you're a fan of this era of movie, would be reason enough to seek it and like this movie. As is the case with many of these obscure gems, it may be a hard movie to find. Certainly not in the rental stores. I know it's run on TCM occasionally.
May 18, 2011
Friday, October 8, 2010

(1938) The Amazing Dr. Clitterhouse
DRAMA/ CRIME

Somwhat of an odd film during it's time about a doctor's (Edward G. Robinson) strange fascination with the actions of criminals who eventually tags along with Bogart and company! Involving, but could've been longer!

3 out of 4
April 22, 2011
An enjoyable comic performance from Robinson. Bogart is great as the heavy.
Super Reviewer
April 13, 2011
It's interesting to see this described as a comedy. I wonder if the Humphrey Bogart character would see it that way. Although this might qualify as gangster-movie lite, if I were to put it into a comedy category, it would be comedy of the absurd. The ending alone would qualify this as absurd, when Robinson sits there in his seat, a free man, his only comment on the judicial process is that it is, "Amazing . . . amazing." And it is amazing that he, a murderer who pleads his own sanity, is found innocent by reason of insanity. That is absurd in the truest sense.
March 9, 2011
Fascinating spin on the gangster movie, with Edward G. as an upper crust doc who tries his hand at crime for research, and Bogie as, well, Bogie.
Super Reviewer
December 17, 2010
A fun pseudo-gangster movie about a doctor who submerges himself fully into the gangster world in order to write a book about criminal psychology. Edward G. Robinson is his usual enjoyable self as the doctor and Humphrey Bogart as his sort of nemesis in his standard Murderers Row fare. The cast foots the bill well enough but the story seems to make a weird turn every half hour. It goes from a heist picture to a fun gangster comedy, then to a half-assed courtroom drama. Its decent enough but beyond a little fun, all you're probably going to get out of The Amazing Dr. Clitterhouse are a few giggles out of the title.

...Clitterhouse...
Super Reviewer
September 19, 2010
I highly recommend this movie, it is a crime drama with a bit of humor and suspense. A doctor becomes a criminal when studying criminals. Great cast too.
July 9, 2010
A great movie about a doctor who is writing a book about criminals, and he becomes one himself to write about them, but he gets in too deep. Robinson and Bogart are fabulous in this movie together. I really enjoyed this movie, and I recommend seeing it.
May 28, 2010
3: I found it terribly amusing that the trick I thought originated in the British picture "The Ladykiller's", was put on screen 13 years earlier in Hollywood. I'm referring to the band of criminals disguising their activities by pretending to play musical instruments, but in actuality using a phonograph record. The film has a superb title, an excellent script (co-penned by John Huston), and a very fitting cast. Claire Trevor is a great kingpin. Bogart plays his early mug persona quite well. Edward G. Robinson really carries the film though. His character seems to be a combination of Sherlock Holmes and Professor Moriarty. I was expecting a film with a title like this to be interesting, but I was still pleasantly surprised at how engaging and entertaining it was. They sure didn't pay any attention to legal procedure back in the day though. This, along with the convoluted and ridiculous psychiatrist they put on the stand, makes the ending far less effective than it should have been.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
February 12, 2010
Fun crime drama with a light touch. Edward G. and Claire Trevor are terrific and Bogie is fine although stuck in the villian role again. The Warners stock company offers their usual solid support. The film falls apart a bit at the end but until then a good time.
September 17, 2009
Film Noir / Comedy that seems to be to smart for it's own good. Edward G. Robinson is the Doctor here, brazenly doing jewel lifts and getting involved in the criminal underworld all for the name of science. Claire Trevor plays the leader of the gang he infiltrates while Bogie plays the tough guy of the group. Somehow... somehow! Trevor falls for Robinson. If you can believe that, well, then maybe you'll believe the rest of the movie then.
Page 1 of 2