An American Crime - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

An American Crime Reviews

Page 1 of 1
September 2, 2010
By instead focusing more on the character of Gertrude Baniszewski, the film relegates Sylvia Likens to a cypher with no real identity - she's simply a vessel for abuse.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 22, 2008
Um projeto que encara a desgraša alheia como mero trampolim para o entretenimento.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 18, 2008
If Eli Roth were to direct a Lifetime movie, it might look something like An American Crime.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
May 16, 2008
i katalytika akadimaiki eksistorisi toy, poy problimatizei me tin idiazoysa sadistiki tis hroia stin parathesi sokaristikon skinon bias dihos peraitero diereynisi toys, afinei to myalo soy na kykloforei kai na kanei syndeseis mono toy, me ton idio tropo p
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
April 24, 2008
Gut wrenching performances, a well structured narrative, and a great cast makes "An American Crime" one of the finer movies to depict one of the most gruesome travesties of the twentieth century...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 22, 2007
A misfire and the most problematic film at Sundance, this fact-based tale of child abuse is disturbing, appalling, and voyeuristic due to poor conception and execution by writer-director O'Haver who ironically has been wanting to make it for 20 years.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 18, 2007
What purpose does this film serve? I have watched it, and I have contemplated it, and I can come up with no good reason for it to exist.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 9, 2007
(Catherine) Keener, always a versatile actress, takes on the challenge of portraying perhaps one of the most unlikable villains in the history of true crime, and tries to find the humanity buried somewhere within her.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 27, 2007
The real high point of this film is Catherine Keener's captivating performance in the role of the troubled and possessive Gertie, vacillating between disturbingly abusive and imploringly sympathetic the way only a truly manipulative psychopath really can.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 19, 2007
Tragic tale of child abuse fails to make any sense of the crime.
January 18, 2007
Not even the considerable talents of lead thesps Catherine Keener and Ellen Page can alleviate the artistic nullity that is An American Crime.
November 7, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
February 19, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 1