American Grindhouse - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Grindhouse Reviews

Page 2 of 5
November 9, 2012
Successfully got me hooked on the subject. I saw Tarantino's Grindhouse several times and loved it. I knew it was supposed to be done in a old, cheesy, B-movie style, but I had no idea what exactly that was. As a designer, I am deeply, deeply fascinated with grindhouse art/style. While I have yet to develop a taste for the sort of movies they advertise (I'm not in any big hurry to see "Slave Girls of the SS") I love their posters, title sequences, logos...I love the tone they convey. For the documentary itself, it isn't anything new; it's pretty vanilla and to the point and it's set up in neat sections that go from Thomas Edison in the 1920's to present day. I will admit that the ending of the American Grindhouse was rushed. I wish they would have more greatly explored the direction 'Grindhouse' and exploitation is taking today. Is there modern exploitation films? What do they think will be the next big thing that makes the masses squirm? They made a great point in saying that the graphic, independent essence of the style as been fully absorbed into popular culture; in 2012, we have seen everything and for the most part, are pretty numb to the bells and whistles that once made these exploitation movies a hit. Maybe the style is dead, maybe it will take a new form soon enough.
Super Reviewer
October 29, 2012
A very entertaining documentary! The talking heads have fascinating things to say. The stills, audio, and video clips illustrate so well the history this movie is trying to share. A couple American International pictures are mentioned, but the biggest surprise for me is that Roger Corman's name is never uttered. Besides this exception, this doc covers a wide range of exploitation genres and the filmmakers who were happy to oblige the public. The "chapter" headings are: In the Beginning: From Edison to Freaks, Let He Who Is Without Sin... See Our Movie, It's Not Vulgar... It's Educational, Perversion... For Profit, Teenage... Rampage, Sexploitation: From Nudie Cuties to Roughies, Gore- Galore, The Times... They Are a Changin', Blaxploitation: You Dig?, They Caged Their Bodies... But Not Their Desires, The Schlocky... Seventies, Send In... The Nazis, Porn-O-Copia, and The Final Grind... Or Is It?. It is out on DVD, but I watched it free on Hulu.
October 24, 2012
Different in the way that this is really a patriotic piece. A love letter to the grindhouse cinema and all the filth that we have created we are proud of because it is American. Great doc. Good footage. Jon landis is wonderful.
August 26, 2012
An interesting documentary on grindhouse and exploitation films and how they developed and progressed over the decades into the modern era.
Super Reviewer
July 28, 2012
Informative, entertaining and unforgettable, American Grindhouse it's a great study about exploration movies, U.S. modern pictures inspirations, the fight to adapt "cinema fashion" and win money. A trip into remarkable and 'bad taste' films. Criative and inspired, dispite doesn't mention some important people in underground low budget industry cinema. Fresh.
½ July 15, 2012
Good documentary even though I think they focused only on the idea that grind houses were just a place to promote sex in the USA.
June 29, 2012
Informative and wildly entertaining history of American B-movies with a number of engaging clips and much great commentary from its various talking heads. Right up my alley.
June 1, 2012
This is a great documentary!
½ May 26, 2012
With the exception of making the inexplicable choice to ask the audience to read text on the screen while also listening to separate narration, this is a well-produced documentary that serves as a primer on the history of the "grindhouse" film genres.
May 25, 2012
Just a wonderful, entertaining, clip filled overview of Exploitation cinema. Lots of juicy tidbits and some fine interviews from industry Exploit historians. A very fun movie that made me want to go out and get my grubby paws on every film they mention.
May 6, 2012
Informative, starts all the way back with Thomas Edison! Dated, misses the remakes of Piranha and Last House on the Left. As well as Machete and Hobo with a Shotgun. Passion of the Christ as grindhouse? Interesting bit of history.
May 4, 2012
It seemed to skip over periods of important icon grindhouse discussion and lack of focus of movies.. also would of been great to see what makes up todays American grindhouse as it has allot of influence from Asian grindhouse. so a tiny dable into that side would of been great. was enjoyable but I felt some parts were squeezed too short and others drawn out too long..
April 18, 2012
This documentary explores the hidden history of the American Exploration Film and the Grindhouse theatres that we're very much relevant at one point. The movie digs deep into this often over looked category of US cinema. A fascinating story that is specific to please the film-nerd & entertaining enough for the curious viewer. Showcases great interviews & a great film clips.
April 10, 2012
As with a lot of these kinda docs, there's nothing really new to be found for the uninitiated, but if you're just sinking your teeth into the world of exploitation you'll find plenty of recommendations and warnings. It's always fun to listen to talking heads like John Landis, Joe Dante, Jack Hill, Fred Williamson, Fred Olen Ray, etc...but I also appreciated how the doc went all the way back to Edison and highlighted some of the really kinky stuff from the silents and pre-code talkies. Still, there were a couple of faces missing here. Where was Roger Corman? Where was Wes Craven? Too busy? Doubt it. VF.
March 28, 2012
The film doesn't quite "dig deep" as the synopsis implies, but it does provide a nice overview of the history of the exploitation film. The interview subjects are very knowledgable and entertaining, and there are enough classic clips to keep one's interest.
½ March 14, 2012
A well-documented history of shock value based motion picture. From the early exploitation films of the 30s, to the porn films of the 70s, and the surge of violence in the 80s. There is a flaw about this though, and it is that it leaves out very important exploitation films like Pink Flamingos, Caligula, and Pulp Fiction.
½ March 3, 2012
Fun little look into the American exploitation film genre, even if at times it feels like little more than a video essay, the interviews really elevate it above that. It's no NOT QUITE HOLLYWOOD (which is not only informative but incredibly fun to watch), but it's informative and... pretty fun.
½ January 15, 2012
Every film lover needs to view this.
January 7, 2012
Great overview of the influence of this genre on mainstream movies.
December 26, 2011
Pretty interesting movie with plenty of hilarious insanity from the past.
Page 2 of 5