American Made - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Made Reviews

Page 1 of 13
February 11, 2019
American Made isn't a great movie, but it is an entertaining one. And much of the credit for that can be laid at the feet of Cruise; this film reaffirms the fact that he remains one of the last few true movie stars.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 30, 2019
A fun film filled with performances that are perfect for the story that it's trying to tell. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 21, 2018
There's an intoxicating energy to this unbelievable story, as director Doug Liman plays fast and loose with the actual facts and events.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 11, 2018
The use of Tommy C's winning smile, reminiscent from his Risky Business days, is about the only thing this movie got right for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 11, 2018
Tom Cruise and director Doug Liman tell an interesting true story that plays like Goodfellas mixed with Top Gun ...
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
November 1, 2018
American Made. What a suiting title for a Tom Cruise vehicle.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 31, 2018
[Tom] Cruise is able to make us like an irredeemable character without ever putting us on his side or making us complicit in his wrongdoing. That's a tough trick to pull off, and I doubt it would be as effective for anyone other than Cruise.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 31, 2018
It doesn't really feel interested in Seal as a character - we don't find out much about him other than the things that supposedly happened to him without any real insight into his decisions or why he made them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2
October 30, 2018
Cruise, sporting a Southern accent, is magnetic, a presence with gravity, one that drives the energy of each scene.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 20, 2018
With a thundering pace and fun energy, American Made is a winner and highlights Tom Cruise at his energetically charming best.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
October 5, 2018
The film wholeheartedly embraces its trashiness and spins a mightily entertaining yarn in the process.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 29, 2018
American Made's creative style of storytelling along with the bond between Cruise and director Liman makes this biopic one of the best movies of Cruise's career
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 28, 2018
American Made doesn't want to do breast-beating. In the end, it feels like a dramatized story from John Oliver or Jimmy Kimmel, jocular as we're watching, horrifying as we let the full impact sink in.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 27, 2018
American Made may not be first-tier action, but it more than makes up for The Mummy.
August 20, 2018
I spent a lot of the film just feeling like it's ridiculous that these awful men just keep living on in our memories as we glorify their lives of crime.
June 11, 2018
Rather than serving as another vehicle for Cruise's charisma, American Made acts as a showcase for supporting player Domhnall Gleeson, who nearly walks away with the movie despite his limited screen time.
February 9, 2018
Barry Seal isn't even really a hero, but he's not that great of a criminal either. He just seems to be a string of one liners and even when he's knees deep in coke, he's still just that little bit lame.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 1, 2018
You have to wonder if the real Barry Seal was as likable as the new true-crime thriller, American Made, makes him out to be, or if it's simply Tom Cruise's toothy charisma that makes him seem so.
January 23, 2018
American made is worth watching...it's a fascinating look at the "War on Drugs."
January 12, 2018
American Made is as middle-of-the-road as they come; if the weather is particular depressing and you genuinely have nothing better to do - we've all been there - think about giving American Made a go.
Page 1 of 13