American Made - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Made Reviews

Page 1 of 12
August 29, 2018
American Made's creative style of storytelling along with the bond between Cruise and director Liman makes this biopic one of the best movies of Cruise's career
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 28, 2018
American Made doesn't want to do breast-beating. In the end, it feels like a dramatized story from John Oliver or Jimmy Kimmel, jocular as we're watching, horrifying as we let the full impact sink in.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 27, 2018
American Made may not be first-tier action, but it more than makes up for The Mummy.
August 20, 2018
I spent a lot of the film just feeling like it's ridiculous that these awful men just keep living on in our memories as we glorify their lives of crime.
June 11, 2018
Rather than serving as another vehicle for Cruise's charisma, American Made acts as a showcase for supporting player Domhnall Gleeson, who nearly walks away with the movie despite his limited screen time.
February 9, 2018
Barry Seal isn't even really a hero, but he's not that great of a criminal either. He just seems to be a string of one liners and even when he's knees deep in coke, he's still just that little bit lame.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 1, 2018
You have to wonder if the real Barry Seal was as likable as the new true-crime thriller, American Made, makes him out to be, or if it's simply Tom Cruise's toothy charisma that makes him seem so.
January 23, 2018
American made is worth watching...it's a fascinating look at the "War on Drugs."
January 12, 2018
American Made is as middle-of-the-road as they come; if the weather is particular depressing and you genuinely have nothing better to do - we've all been there - think about giving American Made a go.
January 4, 2018
The Barry Seal you see onscreen is the man Cruise wants you to see: a guy with limited skills and a lot of dumb luck. It's an energetic and convincing performance.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 28, 2017
"Made" is a hugely entertaining and unpredictable blend of a less offensive Wolf of Wall Street and a Southern-fried Goodfellas.
Full Review | Original Score: A
December 27, 2017
... it's fun, bold, smart and a return to form for Cruise... [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
December 27, 2017
American Made is ultimately an anodyne cautionary tale, even if it has a swell time hanging out with psychopaths and is almost light-hearted in the portrayal of drug trafficking and murder.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 21, 2017
American Made is a great laugh if like me you're happy enough watching rise-and-fall tales of American hubris you've seen a few times before
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 18, 2017
It's easy to root for Seal, because it seems like he's just along for the ride because it's more fun than flying short hops for TWA. And we're along for the ride, because this is a way better Tom Cruise movie than The Mummy.
December 5, 2017
Antiheroes require an actor that radiates charisma, so it's no shock that Tom Cruise (reunited with Edge of Tomorrow director Doug Liman) makes for a likable drug runner, gun smuggler, and greedy scumbag whose financial thirst cannot be quenched
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 11, 2017
...a sporadically intriguing yet hopelessly slapdash endeavor that could (and should) have been so much better...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 3, 2017
Tom Cruise [is] in a restored state of grace. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 2, 2017
It's not a bad way to spend some time, but neither is it enough to jump on a plane to see it. [Full review in Spanish]
October 31, 2017
[American Made] is most pleasant. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 12