American Sniper Reviews

Page 1 of 11
July 5, 2019
It is fitting, then, that such a quintessentially American director, who through his film personas has become something of a symbol of American masculinity, should be the one to so thoroughly deconstruct it on screen.
April 30, 2019
It's brutal but I'm glad I saw it.
April 17, 2019
Cooper nails the Texas drawl and makes a compelling patriot, elevating the film beyond ordinary.
March 20, 2019
Eastwood and Cooper's depiction of post-traumatic stress disorder is superb.
March 7, 2019
For many, I suspect, American Sniper may be weirdly liberating-gratifying a perhaps hitherto unsuspected desire to see their pessimism, hopeless and unchanging, projected on the screen.
February 26, 2019
Cooper embodies the battle-weary soldier well enough - the actor has buffed himself up considerably and he definitely has charisma to spare and he carries the film with ease.
January 25, 2019
American Sniper honors the memory of Chris Kyle, an exemplary life of service and sacrifice.
January 24, 2019
When "American Sniper" is on the battlefield, it is at its best. Eastwood has a keen sense of pacing for those moments, bringing an intensity that is as great as any film in the genre.
December 29, 2018
American Sniper es un estremecedor retrato sobre la responsabilidad y el patriotismo de un hombre con su país impulsado por la fantástica personificación de Bradley Cooper
December 20, 2018
American Sniper holds up as a movie that has something to say about the military experience, and says it effectively.
November 2, 2018
It's not often that a movie can spur a reaction from both the heart and the mind, and this film does just that.
October 24, 2018
American Sniper is a tribute to every man and woman to have served in our United States military. Give them the respect they deserve.
August 3, 2018
Despite the massive set pieces and deafening sound effects that go hand in hand with a war movie, it retains a feel of focused, graceful leanness that is a trademark of Eastwood and undeniably masterful.
March 17, 2018
Along with everything else it does, the movie portrays the enemy we are up against in the most unflinching terms, and it allows us to feel gratitude and respect for those who have undertaken the fight.
January 12, 2018
Because of the way Eastwood crafts his hero and because of that hero's place in the overall work, the result, while nationalistic, does not romanticize patriotism. I can't remember another American movie that managed to avoid doing that so successfully.
December 2, 2017
American Sniper is one of the best films of 2014; a truly powerful look at a man that whether you believe he is a legendary hero or not, was tasked with incredible hardships and rough decisions on the battlefield
November 27, 2017
Anger, pain and fear can still cloud the clearest eyes. The look of Bradley Cooper, who plays the real life sniper of the title, conveys it. [Full review in Spanish]
August 17, 2017
I can't think of any other director than Clint Eastwood to make a film that revises the portrayal of the American soldier, as he has done before with the cowboy and the cop.
August 14, 2017
To call American Sniper a pro-war movie or an anti-war movie is to miss the point: all war movies are both.
August 10, 2017
American Sniper is devastating on the emotional level, especially with a very buffed-up Bradley Cooper in the lead role.
Page 1 of 11