American Sniper Reviews

Page 1 of 11
February 2, 2021
Overall the movie feels like a well intentioned but shallow salute to the men and women who go to war.
November 20, 2020
I enjoyed it well enough and it had me interested and at the edge of my seat from the start...
September 2, 2020
American Sniper is a flawed yet fantastic film.
April 15, 2020
The greatest victims of any war are children and the director captures it with one of the most brutal sequences ever seen on a screen, in which a drill leaves an indelible memory. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 9, 2020
There's nothing the least bit expressive or off-putting in Eastwood's lighting or framing. He understands classical film grammar and knows how to deploy it to maximum emotional effect.
July 5, 2019
It is fitting, then, that such a quintessentially American director, who through his film personas has become something of a symbol of American masculinity, should be the one to so thoroughly deconstruct it on screen.
April 30, 2019
It's brutal but I'm glad I saw it.
April 17, 2019
Cooper nails the Texas drawl and makes a compelling patriot, elevating the film beyond ordinary.
March 20, 2019
Eastwood and Cooper's depiction of post-traumatic stress disorder is superb.
March 7, 2019
For many, I suspect, American Sniper may be weirdly liberating-gratifying a perhaps hitherto unsuspected desire to see their pessimism, hopeless and unchanging, projected on the screen.
February 26, 2019
Cooper embodies the battle-weary soldier well enough - the actor has buffed himself up considerably and he definitely has charisma to spare and he carries the film with ease.
January 25, 2019
American Sniper honors the memory of Chris Kyle, an exemplary life of service and sacrifice.
January 24, 2019
When "American Sniper" is on the battlefield, it is at its best. Eastwood has a keen sense of pacing for those moments, bringing an intensity that is as great as any film in the genre.
December 29, 2018
American Sniper es un estremecedor retrato sobre la responsabilidad y el patriotismo de un hombre con su país impulsado por la fantástica personificación de Bradley Cooper
December 20, 2018
American Sniper holds up as a movie that has something to say about the military experience, and says it effectively.
November 2, 2018
It's not often that a movie can spur a reaction from both the heart and the mind, and this film does just that.
October 24, 2018
American Sniper is a tribute to every man and woman to have served in our United States military. Give them the respect they deserve.
August 3, 2018
Despite the massive set pieces and deafening sound effects that go hand in hand with a war movie, it retains a feel of focused, graceful leanness that is a trademark of Eastwood and undeniably masterful.
March 17, 2018
Along with everything else it does, the movie portrays the enemy we are up against in the most unflinching terms, and it allows us to feel gratitude and respect for those who have undertaken the fight.
January 12, 2018
Because of the way Eastwood crafts his hero and because of that hero's place in the overall work, the result, while nationalistic, does not romanticize patriotism. I can't remember another American movie that managed to avoid doing that so successfully.
Page 1 of 11